We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class”
Review of Somerville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Somerville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in St. Aubin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2008

Visited this superb hotel with the family at the end of November.

The service received from Alex Stiller and his team was first class, and they are all to be congratulated.

We ate at many places during our visit to Jersey, and the dinner taken in the restaurant at The Somerville was by far the best quality, both in terms of food and service.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for something a little bit special - you'll not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank harveyMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (836)
There are newer reviews for Somerville Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

777 - 783 of 836 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2008

We have just returned from The Somerville.
Everthing was amazing.
The staff are outstanding nothing is too much trouble for them.
Lovely sea view room, very clean and comfortable.
The food in Tides was excellent and served in a very calm manner, not rushed at all.
We will go back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjy148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2008

What an absolute find this Hotel is. The weather was not good and I am not the type to sit around but at The Somerville everything was so relaxed and the staff so helpful that being chilled out was easy, much to the wife's relief. We are foodies and had only booked B & B with the intention of trying local restaurants but the menu at The TIdes restaurant in the Somerville was exceptional. Perhaps next time we will try somewhere else but we did not get bored even after a week.
Cannot praise the staff more highly and the room, though smallish, was well appointed, extremely comfortable and quiet.
Would probably, although not necessarily, upgrade to a sea view next time as the lounge has fabulous views and is never crowded.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HertfordshireTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2008

Stay: August 8 2008.
Have just returned from a very short ( 3 nights!) break at the Somerville Hotel in St Aubins. Jersey is a real favourite of ours and we have stayed at several hotels on the island of all different grades and standards. This one is excellent. Booked at the very last moment, the front of house staff were very friendly,efficient and courteous and our room was ready and waiting on our arrival at lunchtime. This same friendliness, without being intrusive, carried on throughout our stay especially with the restaurant staff who could not do enough for us.Lovely people!Incidentally, great breakfast ,with loads of choice, included in the room rate.
It's not a cheap hotel but , as they say, you get what you pay for. The room was excellent with a side view of St.Aubins harbour ,which is always a beautiful sight whatever the weather, but we were so fortunate to enjoy three fantastically sunny days. This is where the Somerville comes into it's own as the grounds and the heated outdoor pool are just lovely. So much so that my husband and myself decided to spend the whole of sunday at the hotel in the gardens. Admittedly we have been to most of Jerseys attractions at one time or another and didn't really need to spend time travelling around the island again but with such beautiful surroundings it would have been a shame not to take advantage of the sun. St. Aubins is, without doubt, my most favourite location on Jersey and the Somerville has what is,probably, one of the finest positions.
Sorry to go on a bit, but must mention Tides Restaurant which is at the Somerville. Wherever you stay, do treat yourself to a night at Tides. The food is supreme and given there are so many excellent eating establishments in St Aubins and Jersey as a whole, that is some accolade!!
One tiny grouch!! Our King size bed was very comfortable but....the pillows must have been stuffed with broken bricks. Some new ones please!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JoybellKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2008

My boyfriend and i have just returned from a 4 night stay at the somerville. What can we say......the hotel is perfect!! The hotel is charming, clean, cosy with wonderful views. The pool was a little cold to say it is advertised as heated!!! The staff are lovely, nothing is too much trouble for them. Our room was room 106. We were upgraded to a side sea view free of charge because i asked a few weeks before we left. Our room was nice, everything we needed. It looked a little small but i think that was due to a lot of furniture and the huge bed!! The bathroom was lovely and clean and very modern with bath and shower over. The white fluffy towels and bathrobes and complimentary toiletries were a lovely touch!! The bathroom was a little small but was adequate for us. The maids came in every morning to clean and did a thorough job. The food at the hotel is lovely. I have never seen so much choice at breakfast!!! We always got a window table overlooking the pool and harbour at breakfast which was nice. We just love the somerville and can't wait to return there!! It's perfect!!

Stayed: August 2008
Thank Lynsey-loody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2008

First class location, very helpful staff and good food. Our only criticism is that the bed could have been firmer. Make sure you get a superior room.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank Yorkshirespud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2008

I was booked into this hotel for a 'business' trip, my first to the Channel Islands.
The aspect of the hotel is amazing, perched high on a hill overlooking St Aubin's Bay and the harbour - however I didn't get to see any of that from my room. I was instead in the back of the hotel, with the view of a house up the road and a concrete wall!
However, this was partly made up for over breakfast, where the view could be taken in.

The hotel also has a heated outdoor swimming pool which I did not avail myself of, but was popular with other guests. The main guest population would appear to be the older tourist, though the hotel would be ideal for a romantic break for the younger traveller.

The room itself I found somewhat cramped, as there was a large bed and quite a lot of furniture in it, but it fitted the purpose of the stay. The excellent bathroom, including complimentary bathrobes and huge soft towels was a bonus and once again I enjoyed the facility of a bath!

The staff are second-to-none, extremely courteous and happy to help with anything.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank britkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Aubin
1.7 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#3 of 4 in St. Aubin
709 reviews
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St. Brelade
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#11 of 16 in St. Brelade
594 reviews
1.1 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
#8 of 16 in St. Brelade
1,231 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St. Helier
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerville Hotel

Address: Le Mont Du Boulevard, St. Aubin, St. Brelade JE3 8AD
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade > St. Aubin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in St. Aubin
Price Range: $86 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling on the hillside, overlooking the yachting harbour the village of St. Aubin and the bay beyond, the views from the Somerville hotel are breathtaking. The hotel is one of the Island's finest country house hotels and is well know for its warm welcome and excellent reputation with guests appreciating its discreet location and emphasis is on indulgence and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Somerville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerville Hotel St Aubin
Somerville Hotel Jersey/St. Aubin
Hotel Jersey Somerville
Somerville St Aubin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing