We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Somerville Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Cristina(St. Aubin)
$229
$167
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lyndhurst Jersey(St. Brelade)(Great Value!)
$148
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Place(St. Brelade)(Great Value!)
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Miramar Hotel(St. Brelade)(Great Value!)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa(St. Brelade)
$315
$259
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Sands Hotel(St. Brelade)(Great Value!)
$159
$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Haule Manor(St. Aubin)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windmills Hotel(St. Brelade)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beau Rivage Hotel(St. Brelade)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,048)
Filter reviews
1,049 results
Traveler rating
725
247
55
17
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
725
247
55
17
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstides restaurantsea viewlovely hotelcar parkdining roomafternoon teasteep hillsunday lunchan overnight stayfirst classtop classsuperb viewsst aubin's baysecond to noneevening mealsuperior roombar and restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
862 - 867 of 1,049 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2012

this hotel is up on a hill so not good foe those who have walking difficulties. We had a superior sea view room which had a very nice view but was a little dated in its decor.
One could not fault the staff they were always extremely helpful, even to the porter coming out to the car with an umbrella when it was raining!

Room Tip: Make sure you are on 2nd floor for view and more modern decor.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at the Somerville for 4 nights in September 2012. St Aubin itself is a good place for touring Jersey and Somerville has a good position overlooking the Harbour although beware you have a steep hill to challenge you if you walk up from the harbour. We had a room overlooking the car park (and sea) but surprisingly there was little noise to disturb this light sleeper. The room and bathroom were of a good size and met all our needs. The car park is quite small but somehow ,with double and triple parking at times, everyone manages (useful to take 2 sets of car keys and leave one with reception if they need to move it).
The restaurant has great views but St Aubin has so many eating places, we only used the restaurant for breakfast. It seemed quite busy in the evenings which must be a good sign.
Staff were very pleasant.
I would have a concern if was booking in high summer as our room got quite warm in mild weather and there is no air conditioning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKSENIOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

PROS:
The traditional nature of this hotel might appeal primarily to wrinklies (like us). It seems unlikely that you would be irritated by noisy undisciplined children.
Staff were welcoming, friendly, efficient and attentive - in fact could not have been better.
Huge comfy bed.
Bathroom was small but perfectly satisfactory.
CONS:
Inadequate parking space, meaning there is no alternative to double banking. Your rental company may have strong feelings anbout staff moving vehicles around (which they are more than happy to do), even tho' they say they are insured to do so.
We wanted a 'superior' room with a sea view. Not available so we took a 'superior island view' room. Island view? a matter of opinion. Third floor with partially sloping ceiling and gable windows.
We mentioned occasional cooking smells, but the hotel was full so no alternative room was available.
No place for the low level TV. The luxury of watching in bed was impossible due to shape of room.
In short, not really a 'superior' room.
An interesting old building, with rambling corridors, but some furnishings looked drab. Our door lock was wellworn and temperamental - once we had to request assistance.
SUMMARISING:
MIxed feelings about this obviously popular hotel, our various gripes being offset by excellent staff service.
Jersey is an axpensive island. Somerville Hotel is no exception to this.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sprangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I've eaten her e a few times and the food and service is always wonderful, An ever-changing menu and creatively-presented dishes make this compete easily with any Michelin-starred establishment. The desserts are simply exceptional in quality too and there's a great wine list.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vagues23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I have taken advantage of the offer for 4 people to eat lunch for the price of 3 over the past few weeks - it has been superb every time - and a completely different menu each time ! Congratulations to this hotel - they hit the right spot - the staff are friendly and attentive - the food and presentation are excellent ! The set lunch for Battle of Britain day was brilliant - the restaurant was booked out (deservedly so ) yet the waiters were calm and efficient - nothing was too much trouble. I love this place - and am proud and delighted to be able to recommend it to all my ladies who lunch !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Elspeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Ladies that Lunch, many thanks for your kind comments which will be shared with the team. We are of course delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the promotion and hope to see you back at the Somerville Hotel again soon. Kind regards D. Plowright.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews