We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticked all the boxes”
Review of Somerville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Somerville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in St. Aubin
Certificate of Excellence
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ticked all the boxes”
Reviewed October 13, 2007

Myself and partner (mid 40s) have just returned from a 4 night break at the Somerville. I booked through Condor Ferries who offer discounted Channel Island breaks at various hotels on the Island. I spent a lot of time deliberating over this hotel and the Pomme d'Or in St Helier. Curiosity got the better of us and on a visit to St Helier we found the Pomme d'Or and had refreshment in their cafe/bar. The Pomme overlooks Liberation Square which is basically a very busy roundabout with distant views of the port. We felt immense relief and satisfaction on returning to The Somerville. From the moment of our arrival we felt very welcome and relaxed. The porter, reception and waiting staff were all extremely accommodating without being intrusive and seemed genuinely to enjoy their work. We were pleasantly surprised to have a sea view room as I had only paid for an inland facing room. The room was extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean. The bathrobes were a nice extra touch and the king size bed was just heavenly. We were lucky to have a window table at breakfast with spectacular views across the harbour and bay of St Aubins. Breakfast is substantial and cooked to order and of a very high standard. The bar do not charge inflated prices for drinks which was an added bonus as I have not found this to be the case in hotels of a similar standard in the UK. We had an evening meal at The Salty Dog, the Boathouse, Bon Viveur and the quaint inn at the bottom of the hill, all of which were of a very high standard. I couldn't fault the Somerville in any way and would highly recommend it. The island of Jersey itself is a real retreat and escapism from the daily grind of English life! Reality has come with a bump!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — We had to leave!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Twinkle005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    169
    37
    15
    4
See reviews for
97
436
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge, Wiltshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2007

We have just come back from our second visit to the Somerville - we first stayed in March and had a thoroughly excellent time. The second visit was marred because somewhere along the line (between the hotel and tour operator - both blamed each other), our choice of room had been downgraded to a deluxe instead of superior. We were landed with Room 206 and although it overlooked the pool and harbour and was clean, it was very small and the bathroom was cramped. There were no other rooms available unfortunately and although there were two single beds in this room, we considered it was only suitable for single occupancy. Standards seemed to have slightly slipped since last March - we noticed the "clean" towels were, on occasion, very stained and grey; and one evening, when we turned down our beds, they had not been made properly - the covers had just been pulled up and "titivated". Upon arrival, we had to ask for the second bathrobe to which we were entitled and on two occasions, an inadequate amount of linen had been left in the room.

However, the Somerville is a lovely hotel, in a wonderful location. The food is sumptious (maybe a bit too sumptious at times). The staff are friendly and attentive. It seems clean and well-maintained and the views from the lounge are spectacular.

This second visit was to celebrate our Ruby Wedding Anniversary so it was really disappointing in some respects. But we do like the location of this Hotel and if we stay there again, then we shall double, triple and quadruple check that we have a "Superior" room and not the dreaded Room 206.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Our horrible room
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Granny&Grumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berks
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2007

We had an excellent stay in this hotel The service generally was good the reception staff were very helpful and the waiting staff were also profficent and helpful as was the porterage We elected for an upgraded room which was verycomfortable but had an an inland view which was not much to write home so if you can 'splash out ' on a sea view this , bearing in mind the view over the bay would be a better option. The food was excellent and not a lot more expensive than similar meals in the village . On busy nights there was sometimes a little wait between courses.
The hotel car park is as little on the small side but seemed to be well managesd and they appeared to squeeze everybody in
We would certainly return to this hotel should we visit Jersey again

T and J
Berks UK

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — car park
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perktrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
102 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2007

The Somerville is a nice hotel in a good location, if a little stuffy in atmosphere. Having stayed here previously some years ago, I was disappointed to find that they no longer run the courtesy bus service to St Helier - and despite having requested a room with a sea view, none was available

However, the staff were polite and efficient and the room was clean if a little small.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel but there are certainly cheaper establishments in St Aubin and I would recommend checking those out first if price is important to you

  • Liked — Great Location
  • Disliked — Too Pricey
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2007

On obtaining a taxi outside Jersey airport we asked to be taken to the Somerville Hotel. " Ah Colditz " retorted the driver. Nothing could be further from the truth.

We had advised the hotel of our arrival time, however we were half an hour early, as the room was not ready for us we were supplied with a complementary pot of tea & biscuits while we waited a short while in the lounge. This set the tone for our entire stay.

Rooms were comfortable and clean with a panoramic view of St Aubin's bay, A varied choice of food of excellent quality was well presented, while service was impeccable from courteous and well trained staff.

Overall a thouroughly enjoyable time for everyone.

  • Liked — Cleanliness & view
  • Disliked — 3rd floor with smallish lift
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Latestarter44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2007

We went for our Silver wedding anniversary in June 2007 and were bitterly disappointed. Having paid nearly 700 pounds for a 4 night stay, we were expecting something special. Alas, what we got was a small room with old furnishings and a less than special experience.

The adverts all give the impression that the hotel has been fully refurbished, this is not the case, apparently, the room we were given is slated for work in the 2007/2008 period.

The food at breakfast was either barely cooked, or overcooked. On our last day, the eggs were almost raw and the food swimming in grease.
The rooms were cold and the heating only came on at night, though the weather was abysmal outside. When they did come on, it was like a jack-hammer in the room.
The television was not properly tuned in and we were told this was due to the weather, even though it was just as bad on a dry sunny day with no winds.
We were told that there was both a wall mounted hairdryer and a 'standard' hairdryer in the room. A search of every single draw and section turned up only a phone book. The wall mounted hairdryer would heat the air tube to dangerous levels, then cut out in a minute or two. A call to reception requesting a hairdryer was met with assurances someone would look into it. When we left later, no-one had turned up.
We have contacted the hotel about the problems and quality issues, but the outcome was, like the stay, less than satisfactory.
Under no circumstances would we consider returning to the hotel should we visit Jersey again and have never been so relieved to return home.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the quality of the room and food
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DisgruntledSilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2007

Sunny Jersey it was not! But we got a warm and sunny welcome at the Somerville Hotel and loved the view from our superior rooms with sea view (309 and 310). Surprisingly, these rooms were at different ends of the corridor rather than close together, but since my husband didn't particularly want the mother-in-law to be next door it wasn't a problem.

Our rooms were newly decorated, but each in a different style. Room 310 was yellow, with two twin beds made into one large double, and the only fault we could find was that the shower was a bit feeble and the temperature of the water kept changing. But I loved the soft towelling robes and fluffy towels, the White Company toiletries, the really comfortable bed and the view out of the window looking over St Aubin's Bay towards St Helier. There was a well stocked hospitality tray with teabags, coffee, hot chocolate and a small packet of biscuits in case we felt hungry, and a trouser press machine which my husband had great fun in testing on his crumpled clothes.

My mum's room (309) was in neutral colours with an ultra-modern basin in the bathroom and it overlooked the swimming pool as well as the beach. The pool looked gorgeous, especially at night when it was floodlit, but the rain and cold wind stopped us from trying it. The whole hotel was really clean.

We didn't have dinner at the hotel as the menu was too fancy for us (it has two rosettes for the restaurant). Instead we took the car down the hill as it was too wet to walk and ate at a lovely little Italian restaurant called "La Barca". My crispy duck was excellent, the green beans were perfectly cooked, and the chips absolutely yummy. Followed by chocolate covered tartufo truffle icecream and a coffee with brandy, I was quite happy to brave the rain for a short walk past the shop fronts, taking refuge in a very good little supermarket when the rain came down too hard.

Back to the hotel, and we sat in the lounge admiring the view across the bay to St Helier, different coloured fairy lights lining the road. The waiters were really good, accepted that we didn't want anything to drink, and didn't bother us at all, though they were there immediately when we finally did decide to have some coffee. The hotel thoughfully provides newspapers, books and boardgames in a little side room, though unfortunately no entertainment of any kind - but the view was quite sufficient to give us a talking point and it must be even better on a lovely summer's evening.

Breakfast was very good, and again there was the fantastic view from the dining room to talk about, (plus the fog and drizzle unfortunately). There was a choice of cereals, fresh melon, fresh pineapple, apricots, lovely home-cooked ham, croissants and danish pastries as well as the full english breakfast with really lean, thick slices of bacon, grilled mushroom and tomato, fried bread and eggs cooked however you wanted them.

So a very good hotel to stay in, just hope you get better weather than we did. But it was March, so not entirely unusual for that time of year. If we come back to Jersey, we will be re-booking for this hotel.

  • Liked — The views, the friendlliness of the staff, clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — Colour scheme of room 309 was a bit boring
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Spookycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Aubin
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St. Brelade
971 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#3 of 4 in St. Aubin
527 reviews
1.2 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#9 of 16 in St. Brelade
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
#7 of 16 in St. Brelade
1,112 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
1,863 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St. Brelade
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerville Hotel

Property: Somerville Hotel
Address: Le Mont Du Boulevard, St. Aubin, St. Brelade JE3 8AD
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade > St. Aubin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in St. Aubin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling on the hillside, overlooking the yachting harbour the village of St. Aubin and the bay beyond, the views from the Somerville hotel are breathtaking. The hotel is one of the Island's finest country house hotels and is well know for its warm welcome and excellent reputation with guests appreciating its discreet location and emphasis is on indulgence and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Somerville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerville Hotel St Aubin
Somerville Hotel Jersey/St. Aubin
Hotel Jersey Somerville
Somerville St Aubin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing