We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old fashioned service”

Bon Viveur Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 25 Restaurants in St. Aubin
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Jersey Channel Islands U.K.
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned service”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I am somewhat surprised at the negative reviews the restaurant receives. Yes, it's old fashioned, but the food and service are impeccable. It's always busy, mostly with locals who return time after time. It's in the perfect position in the heart of beautiful St. Aubin, the only downside is the impossible parking in the area. Our favourite dishes include the calves liver, the duck in pepper or orange sauce and the crab claws, fantastic. If contemporary setting and food are what you want, then this restaurant is not for you. If the quality and quantity are more important then you will enjoy Bon Viveur.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jerseylily22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    73
    40
    20
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Good place for breakfast”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Really good spot for breakfast. Especially if the sun is shining and you manage to get one of the tables outside. Been a few times for breakfast here, and every time everything has been perfectly cooked. Shouldn't be hard to deliver a well cooked breakfast, but you'll be surprised at how many places can't seem to manage it.

Definitely recommend a visit if you are in the St Aubin area in the morning. Staff are also very friendly and have a good sense of humour. Reasonably priced as well. Will definitely be back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nigs_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Aubin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disgraceful !!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I would not recommend this so called restaurant to anyone, the owner is downright rude with no manners whatsoever, there are many friendly restaurants in the area with much better food and service, this is definitely not one of them !!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank 321LisaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bon Viveur = Safe Bet!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Bon Viveur is a nice old fashioned no nonsense Italian restaurant set in the heart of lovely St Aubin which offers a wide range of starters and main courses and does not concentrate on cheap pizza and pasta dishes like some many other Italian themed restaurants in jersey! but instead offers a nice selection of meat and fish dishes cooked simply but correctly.
I personally find this restaurant enjoyable to eat in as am a sucker for traditional recipes and decent service but you fancy a puzzling mishmash of jersey/asian themed food? walk a bit further alone the road and you will find two restaurants.
I recommended this restaurant to anyone who wants bang for there buck but also if you fancy experiencing a bit of old world cuisine that will not break the bank.
The staff are friendly and attentive and it is clear they have been well trained.
All in all a safe bet!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful Old Fashioned Italian - My Favourite!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I feel some of the comments on here are really unjustified and it saddens me.

I have lived in St Aubin for about a year now, so as you can imagine visited all of the restaurants on offer here on many occasions! I am not a fan of them all, really unsure about a couple, but one thing I am certain of, Bon Viveur is my firm favourite!

I love the old world ambiance and tradition, something which some people seem to really dislike, I'm not sure why! They are not trying to be modern or anything other then what they are and have been for what I believe is 25+ years in the business.

What makes BV stand out from any other restaurant, not only in St Aubin, but I believe Jersey, is the staff and the impeccable service! Wonderful staff that make you feel very special. A rare find these days.

BV has a huge number of regulars, including me now, and there's good reasons why we all choose to go back time and time again!

If you enjoy classic hearty Italian food, a warm old fashioned welcome, and impeccable waiter service then look no further!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HayleyESullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bon Viveur Restaurant also viewed

St. Aubin, St. Brelade
 
St. Aubin, St. Brelade
St. Aubin, St. Brelade
 

Been to Bon Viveur Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing