We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't do it!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Commodore Hotel Linden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Commodore Hotel Linden
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Linden
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't do it!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Wow! As a seasoned road warrior I have stayed in thousands of hotels and I must say this one is in the top 5 worst. Check in was terrible and rushed and I was given a key and told what room. No info on wifi, front door code for when they lock the front door at night. Fan in room fell apart when I turned it on, tv does not work, no alarm clock. I asked to change rooms- the one that is 2 feet from my current room is empty but was told no because it was booked for tomorrow night. They showed me another room but it had dirty linens piled up on the unmade bed. The bad part- I'm still here because there isn't another hotel for 35 miles. Can't wait until check out!!! Keep going down the road and stay anywhere else- you will get better value for sure!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trvlnbizman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
commodorelinden, Owner at Commodore Hotel Linden, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We regret that you were not satisfied with your initial experience. We attempt to accommodate guests to the best of our abilities in our small, historic hotel. Our goal is to address any customer needs that are brought to our attention. During check-in, we find people are usually tired and want to get to their room quickly to relax, so we encourage staff to check guests in quickly. We will always answer questions, so we are sorry if you had a question that wasn’t handled. Our policy is to give all guests door and internet codes at check in. We apologize for any “technical difficulties”: regrettably, sometimes these things happen. We replaced your fan immediately and instructed you on the TV (It had to be on a certain channel for satellite, and today we replaced the TV after offering to do so yesterday).

Often we must fold clean laundry in clean rooms, since, due to our size, we do not have extra rooms to dedicate solely to folding laundry. Our staff explained to us there was some clean laundry on a bed in a room, and it was removed by the time that clean room was shown to you as an alternative. The other comparable rooms were booked, and we did not think you would wish to change rooms every day since you were staying multiple nights.
We offer a quality room, at a fair price for your particular room.

Your comments will be noted and addressed with our entire staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    22
    7
    9
    6
See reviews for
29
44
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
167 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

What a nice place to stay in Central TN. The rooms are great,beds comfy,& everything is super clean! The staff is super. From the owner Michael, managers Haley & Steve, the comedy team of Amy & Stacy cafe waitress Stephanie everyone goes out of their way to help you enjoy your stay!!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILLINGTON
Level Contributor
121 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I didn't realize I had failed to review this restaurant and hotel. We, along with another couple, decided to drive up to Linden for lunch. The food was very good as was the service. A local gentleman kept us entertained with colorful stories about bygone events. We enjoyed him so much. After lunch Kathy took us on a tour of the hotel. For us older folks it sort of brought back memories of visiting in homes of our relatives back in the younger days. Everything was clean and smelled fresh. No musty smell here! I'd love to go back while its warm enough to stroll around the downtown. We were there in March and it was cold that day so we didn't do anything but rush back to the car.

Room Tip: The suite would be my choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R&MRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful time at this hotel. The owners, employees, and other guests were welcoming. The Cafe serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The chef is AMAZING!!!! During dinner (6-9) on Friday and Saturday nights they provide live music... I can not tell you what a FANTASTIC venue this is. The hotel is historic and well maintained. The 10 rooms they have are remodeled and comforable. The downtown, where the hotel is located, is charming and inviting. If you have an extra weekend... or you are just passing thru.... I would NOT miss this one! We will most certainly be going back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife & I stayed 3 nights at this so-called historic hotel. We had little choice. It was built in the 1890’s & has improved little. There is no A/C except for portables in the hallway. The shower was so small you couldn’t be over 5’9” or your waist larger than 38. The hot water was found to be reversed, but a 1” x 3” sign in an obscure location warned you of the problem. The toilet was small & loose. The bed would travel at night since it was not anchored. Lighting was minimal.

When my wife tried to close the curtain the rod fell down. We asked them to put it up in the early AM, but I had to hang it in the late PM. No phone. The closet was micro with one hanger. The TV had no remote, but a “Direct TV” controller worked the channels only. A TV directory could have helped since we never used Direct TV. We asked for the only ironing board & iron, but one unknown guest had the iron. We never got to use it.

The employees were friendly but when taking action they were either inexperienced or incompetent. The Managers were distant, we knew why after the first night. The room’s cost was equal to a Hampton Inn without the comforts.

When looking at the previous reviews, they weren't at this hotel.

Room Tip: It's not possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scottythree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Bernard, Louisiana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Had a great time with live music and great food in a very friendly and comfortable country atmosphere. There is shopping down the main street and not far from there is the beautiful Tennessee River. You can fish, swim and rent a boat. The scenery is picture taking.

Room Tip: Deluxe Room with Jetted Tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for an extended period due to his work in town on a project. This hotel is great! I'ts historic, so it's not brand new (so don't expect brand new & perfect!), But the owners have remodeled it to make the rooms very nice and comfortable. They kept the historic details, which is charming. The staff is hard-working and very accommodating. They take pride in their cleanliness. I have stayed in a LOT of hotels, and even worked in a hotel, and what I have experienced here is one of the BEST!!! We would like to Thank Michael & Kathy for accommodating us and a small crew for an extended period of time, and their staff for treating us like family. We are sad to be leaving our home away from home, but will return to visit our friends and will be staying at the Commodore.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linden
12.6 mi away
Pine Tree Inn
Pine Tree Inn
#1 of 3 in Parsons
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
21.0 mi away
Hurricane Inn
Hurricane Inn
#2 of 3 in Waynesboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
18.8 mi away
Bear Inn
Bear Inn
#2 of 2 in Clifton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Days Inn Holladay
Days Inn Holladay
#1 of 1 in Holladay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
18.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hurricane Mills (Waverly)
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Hotel Linden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel Linden

Property: Commodore Hotel Linden
Address: 114 E Main St, Linden, TN 37096-3006
Location: United States > Tennessee > Linden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Linden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Commodore Hotel Linden 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked Away in the picturesque town of Linden Tennessee and conveniently located between Nashville and Memphis and Bowling Green, Kentucky and Muscle Shoals, Alabama. The Commodore Hotel is the perfect blend of Historic charm coupled with modern comfort. As our guest, you will enjoy warm Southern hospitality, personal attention, and unparalleled service. Business travelers, outdoor adventurists, motorcyclists, families, lovebirds seeking a romantic getaway or really anyone at all enjoy our convenient location, free Wifi, gourmet coffee, and home-like atmosphere. If you seek a comfortable friendly vibe, well-priced comfort food, a fully stocked bar, and live entertainment then come on down to The Commodore. Travel journalists and guests alike have applauded our first rate rooms, great food, cozy atmosphere and warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Commodore Hotel Linden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing