We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit if you like history and geology”
Review of La Hougue Bie

La Hougue Bie
Book In Advance
More Info
$42.95*
and up
Jersey Heritage Pass: 4 for 3 Attractions
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Grouville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: 29 March to 29 October - Daily 10am to 5pm. We've been nominated for a Jersey Style Award, vote for La Hougue Bie by searching for Jersey Style Awards 2017. La Hougue Bie delivers a truly memorable experience that is at once thought provoking and peaceful. The site features one of Europe's finest passage graves where you can learn about life in Jersey's Neolithic community 6,000 years ago. A medieval chapel sits on top of the prehistoric mound and dolmen dominating this tranquil and spiritual site. Unlike many other dolmens you can stand inside the chamber of the passage grave and feel the heart of this place of worship. Visit the archaeology exhibition of the Ice Age Island project which draws on current research to tell exciting stories about how our ancestors lived and adapted to the Ice Age world. Ancient treasures are waiting to be found in the geology and archaeology museum, including coin hoards, axes, swords and spears. You'll also discover a command bunker built during the German Occupation, housing a unique memorial to the slave-workers who were brought to the Channel Islands by invading Nazi forces during the Second World War. From autumn the world's largest Celtic coin hoard will be on display at La Hougue Bie. View some of the gold and silver treasures found in the hoard and watch conservators as they painstakingly excavate more coins and treasure from the hoard. La Hougue Bie has a large picnic area where you can enjoy a day out amongst the beautiful and peaceful surroundings. Find out about our Heritage Pass - four visitor attractions for the price of three on our website or at any of our visitor attractions.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Oxfordshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
736 reviews
468 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 452 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if you like history and geology”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Lots to see here: an indoor museum on geology; dolmens; the chapel on the mound; the tomb and a German underground bunker. The toilets are OK, as is the shop. Staff very helpful and interested. Car parking plentiful. Saw lots of signs up warning of wasps nests and did see a few of the angry beasts. It's all very well sign posting about them, but why were they not just removed?

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JerseyGirl1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    98
    26
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An interesting collection of things to see!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This place has a great prehistoric grave, as well as an excellent old church and an interesting bunker. The bunker is dedicated to the prisoners of war during WW2 and telling their story. The passage grave itself is small, but well excavated. The museum is nothing special but worth a look. When I last went here they hadn't opened for the season, but we were kindly allowed to look around the site, but couldn't go into the grave, the bunker or the museum. It's a nice place to go, and there's also a house on the site which was made in the way neolithic man would have made theirs by local families (including mine :D) which is really fun (it's been there for a while, as I was a smallish child when we made that)! If you are interested in history, it's well worth the visit, in my mind.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mahalath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
167 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Magical Place”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Skimmed my head a couple of times getting into the dolmen tunnel but once you're in there it is quite spooky. The museum is dated but full of information and as we arrived they were telling us the new museum is due to open any day now - so it will get better!
The church is also fascinating and we walked away from the site feeling that there is a host of untold stories about this strange little spot. Good to visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank IanandGilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clapham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not really worth the enterance fee”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Supprised about the good reviews, although worth a visit, it isn't worth the high cost getting in. Lovely old lady on the gate and if you arrive by bus tell the driver where you are wanting to get off before boarding or they shoot way passed the place. Great views and nice journey there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 78Cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“A walk back in time”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

A wonderful burial mound dating back centuries. An ancient medieval church sits atop the mound which dates back hundreds of years. The German WW II bunker is also a stark reminder of the past.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Hougue Bie also viewed

 

Been to La Hougue Bie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing