We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new owners since our last visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Bank House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Grouville B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 28, 2011

we wers last at the old bank house a few years ago. our impression was then of an adequate base to use, but i recall it being quite dark and dank . however, since the new owners have taken over there has been a massive and impressive change.
Gone is the dark basement dining room. it now bright and modern and a pleasure to start the day in. the english breakfast my husband had was hearty to say the least and so i just had parts of it. ( bacon and egg or scrambled egg on toast) both well cooked and presented. Hot plates always.
There is also a modern seating area at the side of the bar .
Our room on the second floor overlooked the new patio garden surronded with fragent
shrubs and tubs of flowers. This is where the additional tea shop comes into its own. How pleasant to sit in the sun with afternoon tea or a glass of wine.
Modern furniture and spotless white bed linen made any time we spent in our room a pleasure. The bathroom was large and clean and the shower worked! which is sometimes a problem in places we have stayed.
In contrast to earlier negative reviews, we were more than happy with our weeks stay there and will be back.
Gorey itself is a pretty harbourside village. with small shops several places to dine with views you will always remember. Away from the harbour there is Jersey Pottery to explore .

Room Tip: A room overlooking the patio garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BeeenorthernEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 88 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights in a large family room overlooking the beautiful courtyard surrounded by hydraenga's in bloom, stunning!

The room was large containing a double bed in addition to 3 singles; spotlessly clean with crisp white bed linen and plenty of towels. Tea and coffee making facilities and a hairdryer made sure our stay was as welcoming as possible.

The breakfast served each morning served by very friendly staff who couldn't do enough to ensure our needs where met in regards to breakfast - juices, cereals, toast & a full english - many and varied combinations available! The bar staff where really friendly and offered 'local' reccomendations as to the best local places to eat in the evenings.

We have family who live on the island and will definatly be looking to stay at the Old Bank House for future trips.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sn0w_angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We have just returned from our stay at the Old Bank House, Gorey.
'
The staff and management were warm and welcoming and just go that "extra mile" to make sure you have an enjoyable holiday. (Even phoning local restaurants and making reservations for your evening meal if you so wish).

Rooms are spacious and clean.

There is a small bar downstairs where you can stop in for a night cap (or 2!)

The only down side is breakfast. Full English every morning becomes boring by the middle of the week. It would be nice to be offered an alternative continental style breakfast as well.
However breakfast was always well cooked

This is a good 2 star establishment that I would certainly return to. (And Gorey is a very beautiful little village)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bellaone50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

We arrived to find no one on reception so had a bit of a wait, the room was adequate bathroom was just a shower and toilet (no bath) the sink was outside the bathroom in the bedroom. But as i say was great value for money very clean, maid services the room every day and towels changed everyday. Breakfast very nice, choice of cereals,juice and full english no complaints. The hotel staff are lovely very friendly and very helpful. We even tried the evening meal 3 course for 15pounds which was lovely would recommend the food and the hotel. Good location 5 min walk to beach. also there is a Lloyds chemist and also a Fish and Chip shop right outside the hotel and a Fruit shop and Newsagents bit further down, Bus stop not that far either 1.60 into St Helier single per adult. If you bring your own car you will need to purchase parking cards we purchased ours on the ferry its not pay and display its a scratch card and you scratch the date and time of your arrival and place on dashboard they are not expensive we didnt use all ours but we used the bus most of the time. oh and one evening whilst in the restaurant customers came in with their dog which i have never seen before, the dog was well behaved but not sure that i wanted to have a sorta romantic meal with my husband whilst there was a dog sitting a few feet away? as i say it wasnt a problem but maybe could have been for other people?

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane_ains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

As titled, booked 12th Feb for 3rd Sept. Arrived morning of 3rd Sept. no booking despite having confirmation e-mail and booking reference!
The Manager/Owner? arranged a room at the Old Court House Hotel for the same price, £70 against £118/per night double. A good deal you might think, not so. The room we were given, 213, was noisy and hot, we hardly slept. Not good value at £70 let alone £118.
Reception comment at The Old Court House Hotel was that they (Old Bank House Hotel) seemed to be doing a lot of this lately.
Hope this helps someone.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank PymoorBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at The Old Bank House. Our double room was OK as far as standards go.

We wanted to hang our clothes up in the cupboard but it smelt damp and musty so this wasn't possible. The bed was comfortable and there was a TV in the room but reception was poor. It was a clean room, except there was further damp on the walls and I was a little concerned as above my head where I slept it was damp around the light switch and the wall paper was very damp and a visible patch could be seen.

2 out of the 4 lights in the room didn't work.

The shower was adequate except within 4 minutes it ran cold which meant I had a freezing shower which wasn't pleasant. I spoke to the owner who said a plumber would be called.

Vacating the room by midday was great and allowed us to lie in. The staff where all Polish and very friendly and pleasant. The breakfast was good and more than enough to fill us up. Would we go back again to that hotel? No, but only because we have decided we want something a little more up market and more central to Jersey.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardCale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

We had a wonderful time at this great hotel. The room was very clean and very comfortable. The hotel is in a very convenient location the village with plenty of parking. The overall service is great, the staff in the restaurant were so good, and the food was of great, overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidBDAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Bank House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bank House Hotel

Address: Old Bank House Hotel Gorey Village Main Road, Grouville JE3 9FX
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > Grouville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grouville
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Bank House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Old Bank House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bank House Hotel Jersey/Grouville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing