We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some staff with bad attitude”
Review of Knock House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Knock House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Knock
Reviewed November 1, 2006

Tried to book rooms at this hotel for a group of about 15 in October 2005. Despite having been promised a slight reduction by one member of staff when i phoned back to book the rooms the girl who dealt with me was curt and quite adamant that she would not grant it. as a result we stayed at the Belmont instead wher we spent almost 1000 euro on rooms, food and drinks.perhaps they can afford to lose business like this at Knock House hotel !
My next experience was dining in the restaurant...just went in for lunch, ordered soup and when it was served it was likewarm. Waitress apologised, went back to the kitchen and returned with the same bowl of soup to which it appeared had been added some hot soup. I ate it nervously,decided to skip the main course, and left.
Stayed there some days later and had an even more negative experience. Was among a party of 15 or so and arrived late in the evening. wanted to sit with an elderly couple who had been seated on their own away from the group.Almost immediately one of the staff became irritated and said that she had a table set up for us elsewhere. i said that we wished to sit beside the elderly couple. the table adjacent to them was not set up but within seconds this lady came and was proceeding to place cutlery on the table even though it was not clean. I was shocked and objected. Another staff member changed the tablecloth.

The following morning I spoke to the restaurant manager and he said he had heard about the incident, apologised for it but then appeared to imply it was my own fault saying that "we don't set up tables while people are at them". Well if we had been asked to wait outside or sit elsewhere while the table was being re-set we would have been happy to do so but we were'nt given this option.
The girl who served us the following morning was very nice but unfortunately the previous nights incident in particular spoiled my visit to this hotel and I would never stay there again.

I also found the staff at reception just about civil. On the plus side the room was very clean and pleasant...just dont expect a very high standard of customer service from some of the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Farmleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for Knock House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 167 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2006

I booked this hotel purely because it was close to the airport and I could use my airmiles. It is a fairly new hotel close to the Knock Shrine. The rooms are adequate if a little characterless and unfortunately we were allocated a room on the west side of the hotel overlooking the back of the kitchens, the bins and some tanks. We could also hear the religous services at the shrine. The east facing rooms have a much better view. However, the restaurant was of a high quality, we had a lovely meal there. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Dolly321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Francoise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Daniela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Durizz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brianc999, Manager at Knock House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: la chambre 127 était tres bien
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andré c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zemario57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brianc999, Manager at Knock House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knock
5.5 mi away
McWilliam Park Hotel
McWilliam Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Claremorris
728 reviews
5.6 mi away
Park Hotel Kiltimagh
Park Hotel Kiltimagh
#2 of 2 in Kiltimagh
270 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cill Aodain Court Hotel
Cill Aodain Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kiltimagh
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#3 of 3 in Claremorris
68 reviews
6.0 mi away
Dalton Inn Hotel
Dalton Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Claremorris
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Drum Haven Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knock House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knock House Hotel

Address: Knock House Hotel Knock House Hotel Saint Martha's Ballyhaunis Road, Knock, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Knock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Knock
Price Range: $152 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Knock House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knock House Hotel is a newly refurbished 3 Star 68 bedroomed Hotel located in the tranquil International Marian Shrine village of Knock, Co Mayo. This hotel nestles in 100 acres of picturesque grounds and is less than a 5 minute walk from Knock Shrine & Basilica. It's the perfect location for a relaxing break. Here you will experience uniquely friendly, comfortable and stylish Hotel with superb welcoming staff and excellent cuisine. The hotel has 6 wheelchair accessible rooms and is noted for its excellent facilities for those with mobility needs. Knock House Hotel is just 20 minutes from Ireland West Airport Knock and 10 minutes from Claremorris Train Station. The Hotel provides a pick-up & drop off service from Knock bus stops, and to and from Claremorris train station on a pre-booked basis. This Mayo Hotel is the perfect base to get out there and explore the magnificent scenery of the West of Ireland, follow the Wild Atlantic Way, or discover your own route. Westport, Galway and Sligo are all within an hour's drive of the hotel. Visit attractions such as The Museum of Country Life,Ballintubber Abbey, Yeats Experience, Foxford Woollen Mills, Croagh Patrick, Kylemore Abbey, Fr Peyton Centre, Céide Fields and many more Knock House Hotel- where a warm welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Knock House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing