We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place for a quiet and relaxing time!”
other travelers have booked this property
Enjoy our back yard 'sun-trap' with garden furniture, Bar-B-Que and chimena.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy our back yard 'sun-trap' with garden furniture, Bar-B-Que and chimena.
Relax in our open plan living area. Basic 'Sky' package included and DVD player.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Enjoy our back yard 'sun-trap' with garden furniture, Bar-B-Que and chimena.
Relax in our open plan living area. Basic 'Sky' package included and DVD player.
Dún Briste on a sunny day.
Our welcoming hall has a wide selection of books for your perusal.
Small but fully equipped kitchen. (Fridge has been updated).
Our dining table comfortably seats six.
Kitchen. (Fridge has been updated).
Translates as Broken Headland.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Ballycastle, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Claulrodr...
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a quiet and relaxing time!”
Reviewed May 7, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The place is much more than what you see in the pictures. Perfect for a quiet and relaxing get away to explore the region.
The cottage has everything you need, equipped with all appliances needed.
I highly recommend to spend some quality time with family and friends.

Date of stay: May 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 8, 2018
Thanks Cláudia, I'm delighted that you enjoyed your time in North Mayo! Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rayg779
Ballintubber, Ireland
1 review
“Great relaxing place”
Reviewed August 24, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Very clean house,beautifully furnished has all amenities. Ballycastle has some lovely spots to visit nice beach too. All round it was a great stay really relaxing away from everything,couldn't fault a thing.

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2017
Thanks for your review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Dún Briste Self-catering.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramey m
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed July 20, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The house was a great base from which to explore mayo.
Cosy clean and the gardens are beautifull. Maggi the owner of the house was a great help showing us how evrything worked and where to go.
Great spot for a quiet break.
If like my boys you want watersports and fishing then enniscrone is only 25mins drive and if you want sea fishing find donal kennedy hes a great skipper and very good value.

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2017
Thanks Raymond and family, I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay, and thanks for a great review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation very much the perfect pet friendly home from home”
Reviewed July 20, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

With trepidation we decided, for the first time, to try holiday rental. We went online and found "Dun Briste". It was in the perfect location for us to explore the north coast's of Mayo and west Sligo. And as we are both in our 70's. we were looking for an easy going time, such as beach and short forestry walks. These we found, one of each close to Ballycastle. The 600m long golden sand is just 1.5km N of the village and the forestry we walked is about the same distance W of Ballycastle, total walk distance was around 800m. Further W and for the more adventurist, there are many 100's of km of forestry and mountains walks there for you. Plus the "Western Way" passes E and W through the area. Further afield we found several more beaches to enjoy. One of these was at Inishcrone, where we also seen the famous Boeing 767 passenger jet parked up!!. 8km to the W are the historic Ceide Fields. Where you can witness the remnants of some of the oldest field boundary stone walls in Western Europe and an interpretive centre which describes the whole site in detail. Continue on W for about 45km and you arrive at the lovely town of Belmullet. A good stop over for lunch and a walk around the town. If you wish you can travel 20km S down the Belmullet Peninsula to Blacksod point lighthouse. To the W and E of the peninsula are at least 10 beaches to walk. Twice we headed S, first to Knock, a religious centre and on another day to Castlebar. A very good shopping town and also the largest town in Mayo. 7km before Castlebar on the N5 road is a district named Turlough, here is situated the Museum of Country Life. It depicts life in NW Ireland over the last 500 years and worth a visit, if that's your interest. Car parking and entry is free. Back in Ballycastle and I've kept the best to last. Downpatrick Head-Dun Briste (Irish for broken fort) after which the holiday let is named and well worth a visit. Be aware though, because 2 to 300ft unfenced cliffs, dogs are not allowed and children MUST be STRICTLY supervised. That apart, well worth a visit and again free. There is a blow hole here (during northerly storms the sea is pushed into a cave and and spouts out of the hole) about 200m inland. Nearby are the remains of a small church apparently built by St Patrick. Also here is one of the many World War 2 markers depicting EIRE carved into the surface to show pilots that they are over Irish Free State territory. This one is number 64. Well that's about the end of our VERY enjoyable visit to Dun Briste, Ballycastle.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2017
Thanks Hugo for the very informative review. We loved having you both stay and look forward to seeing you back in North Mayo in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernadett...
Ballintubber, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Rental”
Reviewed January 5, 2017 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I have stayed in Dun Briste a number of times. The attention to detail in the property is outstanding. The views are breathtaking and so many places of interest within a short distance. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: November 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2017
Thank you Bernadette B for taking the time to leave such a positive review. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay in North Mayo.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix11...
Western Ireland, Ireland
1 review
“Tranquillity”
Reviewed January 5, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Beautiful house and area to visit, every need catered for, warm and inviting. Ideal for both couples and families. Walking distance to the local village, beautiful beach nearby. Will definitely be back.

Date of stay: December 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your visit to North Mayo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing