We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely relaxing break”
other travelers have booked this property
Outside Gardens of Achill Cottages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside Gardens of Achill Cottages
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
93 reviews
Outside Gardens of Achill Cottages
Upstairs Twin Bedroom
Sitting Room with roaring open turf fire
Chill Out
Kitchen
Kitchen
Upstairs Bathroom with Shower
Downstairs Showeroom
Keel Beach From Minaun Heights
Surfing Keel Beach
Achill Head
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Achill Sound, Achill Island, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 93 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
colettemc...
Galway, Ireland
1 review
“A lovely relaxing break”
Reviewed September 13, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

if its rest and relaxing your after, Achill is the place to go and stay at the Achill cottage holiday homes. The cottages are situated in a great location, clean, spacious and the beds are very comfortable. We received from the owners a complementary bag of turf which we really appreciated. The people of Achill are very friendly and overall we had a great weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manninej
Tampere, Finland
1 review
“Cool cottage for summer music school”
Reviewed August 2, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Very nice cottage and friendly service! Our cabin was in different place than other cottages and hence was missing WIFI, which was minor inconvenience. Otherwise no complaints and can we can readily recommend Katie's cottages.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiobhanDu...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great base for the Green Way”
Reviewed July 27, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Four of us stayed in Katie's Cottage which is a cute little place in Achill, ideal as a jumping off point for the Green Way. Stephen, the owner, was very helpful and we found the cottage to have everything we needed. It was cosy, exceptionally clean and tidy, and well stocked with kitchen/cooking utensils. The beds are comfy and the wood burning stove came in surprisingly handy during this wet July weekend! A real plus was the fact that I could bring my dog, Molly: finding pet friendly cottages of this standard is not easy.I would certainly recommend this cottage to visitors to Achill.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and how well the kitchen was stocked
Liked least: The pokeyness of the bathroom, and the kitchen layout: very impractical for cooking.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eoin M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great getaway”
Reviewed July 4, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Really enjoyed our weekend here. Stephen was nothing but friendly to deal with and I can't fault a single thing about the cottages.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney D
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
Reviewed February 22, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We just came back from a long weekend at the Achill Cottages and although the weather put paid to our plans of cycling the Greenway, we had a great time in no small part to how comfortable we were in this holiday home. Our party of four consisted of 2 adults, a teenager and an 8 year old. The houses are perfectly placed for touring the island, they are very warm, clean, bright, spacious and contain everything you would need. We were actually a day late on arrival as one of the kids had food poisoning and was too ill to travel. We had no choice but to book a hotel when we were half way to Achill and thankfully they were much better the following morning and we could continue on our journey. Stephen was very understanding and thoughtfully had a nice turf fire set for us when we eventually arrived. He is very knowledgeable about the island and gave us really good advice on where to go and what to see. A great weekend even the incessant February rain, wind and high tides couldn't put a damper on. Beautiful place.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 23, 2016
Rodney. Thanks for the review, hope you all arrived home safe and well. Hopefully we will see you soon and the weather will be better. Stephen and Rosaleen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahParl...
Lucan, Ireland
2 reviews
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed November 11, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We fell in love with Achill and part of the reason was the most enjoyable stay we have in the cottage! These are beyond perfect!!! They are spacious, well equipped, warm, extremely cosy and perfectly located... Do not hesitate! GO!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very spacious, clean and cosy
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mum_and_3...
Bray, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable holiday !”
Reviewed November 10, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The house was super ! Very clean, spacious and quiet - it had everything that you could possibly need. Stephen (owner) was very helpful and I would not hesitate in recommending it as a base to explore Achill Island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing