We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly excellent hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Achill Island Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Achill Sound B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A truly excellent hotel.”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Staff very friendly and helpful. Food exceptionally good, plentiful and varied. Views everywhere magnificent. We were 3 cyclists - hiring bikes there- and enjoyed a local route and part of the Greenway.
Went to a local sheep show and met with local people who were all kindly, welcoming and informative about Achill Island and the people living there. 5 blue flag beaches in the area - great to walk along and a very interesting Deserted Village to visit. We did not want to leave, although our expanding waist-lines told us we should!
A small, family run hotel. No gym or swimming pool - which we didn`t want anyway.

Room Tip: We used 120 and121. The views were magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    54
    23
    19
    14
See reviews for
32
85
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

The Achill Island Hotel, a warm welcome in windy wet October.
Simple, clean accommodation. Plenty tasty food . Walking distance to shops and great base for touring the island by car, foot or bike. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLyons73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Tyrone
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We enjoyed our few days in this hotel .. staff couldn't do enough to help accommodate us. Lively little atmosphere in the bar with some locals engaging in conversation .. all very welcome and just added to our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CountyTyroneLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were looking for a hostel and popped in to use the loo! The welcome we got from Cathal was brilliant and we ended up staying 2 nights there instead. Friendly, clean, more than helpful. Very clean with large rooms and great views. Massive water pressure - so great showers. Tea and coffee facilitles, and a lovely breakfast with as much as you want. We ate there one night and it was spot on and fresh. Woukd certainly use again. Guinness was great (as to be expected in Ireland) and Irish coffee... highly recommeded!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ynys-Chickpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed at achill hotel. Got our room key when we arrived, went into room and beds were not made,wet towels on floor,rooms very very cold. Cobwebs on lampshades,around windows,dust on frames and skirting boards. Reception lady not pleasent. I
Hated my stay here. Toasters were a nightmare,took near 10mins 4 toast til do. Only good things about hotel were bar staff. They were excellent. Rooms very cold. Had to ask 4 heating to b turned on. Cleaners were not nice either. When we said about our other companions room needed cleaned as there was big black hairs on bedding

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shanzyd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county down
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Myself and husband stayed here on the 8th/9th sept and it was very convenient for us to do some cycling! Both the Atlantic drive on achill island and the greenway cycle from achill to Westport ! Rooms clean and spacious, breakfast good and we ate in bar both nights and thoroughly enjoyed the food which was reasonably priced.Staff were very friendly though I gathered they were understaffed since the third level students have returned to college. !! We were on a group on deal but don't think we would have been willing to pay the full price for this hotel !!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank activepal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night and we are so glad it was not for longer. Our bedroom had hairs in the bed, a dirty toilet & a bin that was not emptied. I advised the owner of the hotel about the state of the room and asked her if she could look after it whilst we had our dinner. On returning to our room 1.5hours later the room had NOT be cleaned. When I went down to investigate I was told that they were busy and to go in and buy myself another drink whilst they looked after it. My husband and I were tired as we had just completed a 5hour cycle. We ended up moving to a different room. We had our dinner in the hotel, the fish was lovely but the salad was drenched in salad cream. Our breakfast in the morning was very poor. The toasters take forever to work and by the time I toasted my bread my breakfast was gone cold. It’s such a shame this hotel could do so well if it had some tlc and a good clean. Dervilla

Room Tip: Check out the B&B's instead in this area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dervilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Achill Sound
0.0 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mulranny
965 reviews
0.0 mi away
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Belmullet
515 reviews
0.0 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Maol Reidh Hotel
Maol Reidh Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tullycross
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Belmullet
369 reviews
0.0 mi away
Achill Lodge
Achill Lodge
#5 of 12 in Keel
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Achill Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achill Island Hotel

Property: Achill Island Hotel
Address: Curraun Peninsula, Achill Sound, Achill Island, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island > Achill Sound
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Achill Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Achill Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Achill Island Hotel Achill Sound

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing