We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely spot, fantastic hostess!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Orchard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Orchard
1 review
“Lovely spot, fantastic hostess!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

My three traveling companions and I stayed at the Orchard en route from Westport to Killarney. We had previously stayed in hostels in the city so the B & B experience was a refreshing change. Eileen is a lovely hostess - greeting us with fresh tea and delicious Guinness bread and a warm smile. We arrived late without having eaten dinner and she immediately called the pub down the road to keep the kitchen open for us. Throughout our stay Eileen was extremely accommadating and we enjoyed chatting with her. The rooms are clean and tidy and were perfect for us. Overall, Eileen is a fantastic hostess and runs a lovely B and B that I would highly recommend to any folks passing through!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
263Eileen, Owner at The Orchard, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Patrick,

I love young people staying especially when they have stayed at hostels before coming to me.
I think I converted you to Bed and Breakfasts!!!!!
Yes. Foley's Pub is fantastic. They have always taken such good care of my customers. Their food is great and reasonable too.

Thank you for your kind comments and I hope if you are back this way again in the future, you will be most welcome.

Best regards,

Eileen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    16
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
30
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nevada City, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Eileen is a wonderful hostess offering freshly baked Guiness cake upon my arrival and homemade bread as a part of her excellent breakfast offerings. The rooms are large, tastefully decorated and spotless. On top of that Eileen insisted on driving me to the place in town where I needed to catch the bus for the next leg of my journey. My stay at The Orchard was a wonderful experience in every way!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
263Eileen, Owner at The Orchard, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Mark,

Thank you so very much for the lovely comments.
When I saw you at the door, having walked from the bus stop with your luggage, I felt so bad.
I always pick up my customers as carrying luggage is a pest.
It was no problem dropping you down next morning too.
I heard from the "grape-vine" that your play was wonderful. I have my sources!
Take care.
Eileen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Eileen was able to accommodate us at very short notice, and we were very pleased to share her delightful Guiness cake with her late at night. Breakfast was also very tasty, and we enjoyed her home cooking.

The rooms were a little poky, and furnishings and bedding a bit outdated. Our bathroom was tiny, with just a toilet and tiny shower cubicle, and the wash basin was located in the bedroom. There wasn't much room for our suitcases, but it was a comfortable bed and it served the purpose.

All in all, we stayed in 5 Bed and Breakfasts in Ireland, and although The Orchard wasn't our favourite, we were still very grateful for the bed late at night, and the efforts that Eileen went to ensure we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbytp99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
263Eileen, Owner at The Orchard, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Debbie,
Thank you so very much for your lovely comments.
You got exactly what I do and what I am all about.
I use up most of my energy in taking care of my customers.

But my home is a typical 100 year old country house.
Nearly all of these are of the same design.

The walls between the bedrooms are solid and I made the decision when I put in the showers and toilets, not to change the interior structure of the house. This meant that because of the position of the window in the room, the ensuite had to go in the corner and I decided to put the hand basin outside it. Many poeple like it but then some don't. That is ok too.
As regards the bedding, I bought very good quality coloured sheets just a few years ago and low and behold, fashions changed and now everything is white. I am left with these American sheets and there they will stay. I suppose they look odd! But the quality is excellent.

You were very welcome late at night, even without a booking. Even if I were full, I have never left a person down and always found accommodation for them. That is all part of the service.
Thank you for your comments and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Ireland.
Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Eileen's cakes were the most welcoming introduction to our stay.
An all round relaxing atmosphere with typical farm house ambience and some excellent food - that breakfast lasted us all day - thank you

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireDangerousd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
263Eileen, Owner at The Orchard, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Yorkshire Dangerous,
Thank you for your lovely comments.
Glad you enjoyed the Guinness Cake.
One thing I really like is for someone to eat a big breakfast.
I hate waste!
Thank you.
Eileen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malone, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Orchard. Eileen was a great hostess and even shared her home made breads and jellies. She is a great cook. The B&B was clean and comfortable. I would definately recommend this B&B to anyone traveling in the area. It was like staying with family...but better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
263Eileen, Owner at The Orchard, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Debbie,

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is great to get such a warm recommendation from you.
Thank you so very much.
Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manheim, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

What a gracious and genuine hostess Eileen Murphy is. Called last minute to enquire about room, was given an immediate no problem, come on in and there will be tea ready and Homemade Guineas Cake! Rooms were spotless, great shower, terrific breakfast! Would stay just to chat with Eileen! She had great advice about areas to see and things to do. Thank you for everything! Great fun:)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gibbs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
263Eileen, Owner at The Orchard, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Gibbs B,

It was great having you stay and because you understood the hospitality industry so well, I feel so proud of your comments.
Your photos are lovely.
You must have been in the photography business at some stage in your life.
You are now back at work and I am sure your customers will be just as happy with you as you were with me.
Thank you for your comments.
Regards,
Eileen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kingston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Eileen Murphy is an excellent and gracious host, making my party of 4 feel welcome and at home. The accomodations were excellent! On our arrival, although late in the evening, she offered us tea and a delicious Guinness Bread. Our morning meal was excellent in every respect and she was very helpful in giving us directions and local dining suggestions - I wil stay at Eileen's again. HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Constance K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
263Eileen, Owner at The Orchard, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Connie,
I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I must say I had great fun talking to you over the cup of tea.
I hope you enjoy making the Guinness Cake. I will have to make one now as I have two people coming from the North of Ireland tomorrow and they are looking forward to it. I hope you ladies had a great time for the rest of your holiday.
Thanks again for the kind works.
Eileen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle West
0.5 mi away
Devon Inn Hotel
Devon Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
13.7 mi away
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
21.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ballingowan House
Ballingowan House
#1 of 3 in Newcastle West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.6 mi away
Shanagarry B&B
Shanagarry B&B
#3 of 3 in Newcastle West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
6.5 mi away
Aaron Lodge
Aaron Lodge
#1 of 31 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard

Property: The Orchard
Address: The Orchard Limerick Road | Co. Limerick, Newcastle West, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Newcastle West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Orchard 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our home is 100 years old and when you stay at The Orchard Bed and Breakfast, you will be stayaing with The Murphy Family. We have only 5 guest bedrooms. All of them are ensuite and towels are supplied. There is a cot available on request. I am a short distance from the centre of Newcastle West. (distance: 1.5 Km.) Parking is free. On arrival, there is complimentary tea/coffee and some of my homemade Guinness Cake. Try it and I am sure you will like it. My speciality is home baking. There is always some cake in the cake tin for the guest's use. For breakfast, I serve cereals, juice, fruit and yogurt. Then, would you like bacon, sausage and eggs? Or bacon and scrambled eggs? Maybe scrambled egg and smoked salmon? Or my French customers like my pancakes! I always have homemade Soda Bread and sometimes griddle Bread. If you stay a few nights and use Newcastle West as a centre to visit Kerry, Cork, Tipperary, Limerick City and Clare, I will have time to show you how to make my Guinness Cake or scones. Did I say that my husband is a farmer so would you like hen eggs or DUCK eggs? Just asking! You don't have to make your mind up now!As Newcastle West is not a tourist "hot spot" you will find the people very welcoming.In the local area there are many historical sites to see. Check out the Desmond Castle in the town centre, or the monastic ruins at Askeaton. Why not visit the Donkey Sanctuary in Liscaroll or Adare Heritage centre. Our local Pet Farm at Stonehall now has Zoo Status. The third in Ireland and the only one in Limerick.The Orchard Bed and Breakfast in only 1 hour from Killarney/Tralee and 2 hours from Dingle. Going north, I am just an hour and a half from the famous Cliffs of Moher and the Burren and an hour from Bunratty Castle. A trip to Blarney Castle and then onto the Rock of Cashel and home by the Glen of Aherlow is a must.To get to me is is very easy. I am on the N21. Coming from Limerick, I am on the right hand side of the road, just 200m after the 60 km/hr sign post. If you reach the roundabout you will have passed me by so just turn around and come back to me and I will have that tea or coffee and Guinness Cake ready for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your The Orchard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orchard Newcastle West, Ireland - County Limerick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing