We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food lovely staff”

Dan Cronins Bar & Bistro
Cuisines: European, Gastropub, Wine Bar
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food lovely staff”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Great spot for lunch and dinner lovely home cooked food and good atmosphere. Cheap good and drink and staff make very welcome and very helpful would recommend this place as great place to relax and get good food

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GiuseppeTIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    14
    4
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Traditional Irish Cuisine”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

If you happen to find yourself in Newcastle West and would like something delicious to eat, I would definitely recommend this place. It is clean and the service is fast and friendly. I started with the split-pea soup which comes with fresh Irish brown bread- a hearty and complex tasting bread made from whole wheat and oats. For a main, I had the fish and substituted the chips for mash. On the outside, the fish was thinly crusted with a tasty batter that was lightly fried and crispy. Inside, the fish was cooked perfectly juicy. There were plenty of dessert options, but I chose the Death By Chocolate cake and was not disappointed. It was very rich and creamy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Francis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Sentinelle, France
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dan Cronin”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Wonderful atmosphere and friendly service, The food was nice and it was a great first Irish experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, Great service”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Have eaten here on several occasions and it has always been exceptional. The menu is varied with changing daily specials served from noon until 9pm. There is also a nice wine list available. The service is very efficient and friendly!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KatrinaM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The service was quick and the waitress was helpful by offering suggestions on her favorites. Everyone ordered something different and we all enjoyed our meal. It was our first night of our trip and the first Irish dinner we had and we couldn't have been happier with our meals. The death by chocolate dessert was delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Aly86_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dan Cronins Bar & Bistro also viewed

Newcastle West, County Limerick
Newcastle West, County Limerick
 
Newcastle West, County Limerick
Newcastle West, County Limerick
 

Been to Dan Cronins Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing