We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The "Pink House" the perfect Irish B&B”
Review of Ballingowan House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ballingowan House
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The "Pink House" the perfect Irish B&B”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Coming from Newcastle Australia we just had to stay in Newcastle Ireland! Carmel & Charles were the perfect hosts. As Ballingowan House is a few miles out of the town Carmel not only suggested a good restrauant but drove us to it & the friendly waitress just happened to live down the road gave us a lift home. All together with a lovley room in the B&B, waking to a delightful view of the countrside & grazing cattle outside our window, a scrumptious breakfast we left with wonderful memories of such good Irish hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
24
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Middletown
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We absolutely adored our stay at Ballingowan House. The lady of the house Carmel was lovely, helpful and kind. Great location, spacious rooms and bathrooms (largest in all of our stays in B&Bs while in Ireland), charming decor, and a delicious and generous breakfast. Would love to visit again, and would definitely recommend to first time visitors to Ireland.
-Hannah and Kaleb

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Carmel will instantly make you feel welcomed and at home. She is a wealth of information on the surrounding area and will gladly help you plan any trips. On arrival she helped us to our room and we happily chatted for another 20 minutes. The beds were the comfiest we slept in whilst in Ireland. Such a great price and the breakfast was perfect! We are both gluten free and Carmel made sure we could eat a hearty breakfast before leaving in the morning. Good wifi connection in all of the rooms.

*GF note. The Fitzgerald Woodlands Hotel in Adare is a 15 minute drive and serves great gluten free food and desserts.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mr_Hyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Staying the night at Ballingowan was an absolute treat. Carmel was a delight. She offered to drive my daughter and I to a local restaurant/hotel for dinner. Since it was Good Friday and there was no serving of alcohol in public establishments we couldn't order wine with our meal. Well wouldn't you know, when we returned to Ballingowan, Carmel had a bottle of red wine waiting for us. Splendid hospitality and conversation. Thank you Carmel, God Bless and happy Easter. Rhonda and Meryl from Michigan, USA

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed with Carmel and Charlie at Ballygowan House for two nights in February 2012. They were both frendly and helpful. Room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, a good start for a very active day. We enjoyed our stay and would certainly be happy to stay with them again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

I've had the pleasure of staying at the Ballingowan House three times now, and every time has been a wonderful experience. Carmel and Charlie are great hosts and go out of their way to make you feel right at home. On multiple occassions Carmel even volunteered to drop me into town even though it was likely an inconvenience for her. The rooms are comfortable, the breakfast is great, and the hosts are very pleasant. What more could you ask for? This is the only place you should consider staying in Newcastle West!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brendan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2011

I stayed here with a group of friends recently. The owners were so kind and welcoming and were very helpful with regard to directions and places to eat in the area, they made us feel really at home. Breakfast was delicious and generous and the rooms were warm and clean with private bathrooms and wash hand basin. I would recommend this B&B to anybody looking for first class hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle West
0.3 mi away
Devon Inn Hotel
Devon Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle West
126 reviews
6.5 mi away
Rathkeale House Hotel
Rathkeale House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rathkeale
111 reviews
14.0 mi away
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Woodfield House Hotel
Woodfield House Hotel
#11 of 20 in Limerick
117 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Orchard
The Orchard
#2 of 3 in Newcastle West
88 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shanagarry B&B
Shanagarry B&B
#3 of 3 in Newcastle West
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballingowan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballingowan House

Property: Ballingowan House
Address: Limerick Road, Newcastle West, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Newcastle West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballingowan House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ballingowan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballingowan House Newcastle West, Ireland - County Limerick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing