We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View of Shannon & Breakfast Awsome!!!!!”
Review of Knights Haven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Knights Haven
Ranked #3 of 4 Glin B&B and Inns
Tyrone
1 review
“View of Shannon & Breakfast Awsome!!!!!”
Reviewed May 7, 2010

We stayed at Knights Haven over St Patrick's Day and highly recommend it. John was extremely friendly when we arrived, and was a great help planning our activities for the next day. We went for a walk to Glin along the footpath adjacent to the river Shannon and it was spectacular.
The breakfast in the morning was a real treat. A large selection of meals to choose from and cooked perfectly. I could'nt resist the Pancakes with bacon, and Charles had the full Irish and he was stuffed for the day.
The room we had was a standard double, and had an en suite off it with plastic panelling which was clean. The room was very nicely decorated, different, painted floor boards which picked up colour in curtains and was very tastefully done. lovely bedspread and the en suite was adequate. Shower was excellent lots hot water and powerful but was small. Other facilities, such as the sitting room and communal area were really nicely decorated and had lovely comfy seating. There is also a wide variety of books to read and boardgames. Internet facilities are excellent and Josephine gave us the loan of a laptop computer for 2 hours free of charge..
All in all, this is a really excellent place to stay. The B&B is peaceul and relaxing and a few drinks are only minutes walk away.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickJos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    10
    7
    9
    5
See reviews for
13
48
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2010

From the moment we arrived to be greeted by the host John, the warm welcoming fire in the Sitting room and the very helpful family we felt at home. The O' Donovan family could not have been more helpful. Having stayed in many B&B's around Ireland and England both on holidays and business we now know we have found a place where we both can go to relax. We will definitely return for another stay. The breakfast was of the highest standard and the ambience in the dining room was excellent. The location of the B&B is ideal for exploring Killarney, Clare and Limerick. Its great. Ask for the River View room, it is stunning, very large in size, beautiful furniture and bathroom and power shower.Josephine is such a lovely lady running it. Come & go as you please, rooms clean & cosy. Beautiful seats in front of the house for sitting out on & watching the cows grazing and the boats travelling up and down the river shannon. Great breakfast in morning. Will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bterie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

When we arrived for our night stay at this B&B we were greeted by the Owner’s Daughter, a very pleasant girl who showed us to our room and asked what we would like for breakfast and what time we would like it at.
Location of the B&B is very nice, off the main road with only the birds and cows outside making noise!
The room was very small with a small Ensuite, no tiles on walls just plastic panelling.
The Bed was one of those cheap beds very uncomfortable, like as if paper was stuffed into the mattress. Didn’t get a great night sleep.
We had breakfast ordered for 8.15am and the door of the dining room was locked so we had to wait for it to be opened by the owner’s son (18 or 19) who was there to cook us our breakfast. Again we never met the owners of the B&B.
Now as for the breakfast – we only ordered scrambled egg and toast, and it was the worst I have ever been handed on a plate. It looked liked it was cooked from the night before and then re-heated in the microwave (we heard the microwave going), it was absolutely rotten. And the toast wasn’t even done, more like warmed bread even the extra portion that we ordered was the same.
The only thing I regret is paying the €70 for the room and breakfast and not complaining. Never again. We are too soft in this country.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yamaha09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnightHaven, Owner at Knights Haven, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for your review and sorry to hear you were not happy with your stay. I checked with my daughter and if you were unhappy with your room we could have offered you a free upgrade. All our beds are orthorpedic and to standards laid down by the tourist board. We were sorry we were not there to meet with you and you had to wait for the door to be opened for you and that you did not enjoy your breakfast. Hopefully if you are in the area again and if you choose to stay with us I will make it up to you.


Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2008

My husband, teenager daughter (in her late teens) and myself spent 10 nights at Knight Haven in August. If only the Irish weather had been as welcoming as the family who run Knights Haven.

We arrived late in the evening having been delayed by both the flight from England and blocked roads caused by torrential rain. John O'Donovan was there to greet us and the instant offer of a cup of tea was turned down as we were desperate to eat. John phoned up a nearby restaurant to see if they were still serving dinner and he drove us there in his car so my husband could have a drink.

He told us to phone him when we had finished eating so he could pick us up - in fact he had also dropped another family off at the restaurant and also collected them at an arranged time. He certainly didn't have to do this and I suspect not everybody would have done so.

And so began our 10 days stay with the O'Donovans and their 3 children. Our family room was on the ground floor and we had a private door if we didn't want to leave via the front door as you have to pass the O'Donovan's kitchen/living area to get to the front door otherwise so you certainly do not have to pass through their living quarters if you chose not to.

I couldn't help thinking how lovely it would be if I kept my house as tidy as they do, bearing in mind they have 3 children and an every changing list of guests as I suspect most people unlike ourselves just stay for a few days and then move on.

Our room was a family room and although not luxurious the room was clean and with comfortable beds and the room was serviced every day even though we always locked the room. Yes the bathroom had been added on - the house itself was clearly not built to be a bed and breakfast - it is a lovely sprawling house which the family have tastefully turned into a bed and breakfast whilst keeping the family at the heart of the place. So the bathroom wasn't particularly big, but it was certainly adequate. A hook on the back of the bathroom door would have made things a bit easier, but it wasn't the end of the world.

Breakfast every morning was a treat. We chose the night before what we wanted from french toasts, pancakes (the previous comments about the size of the pancakes is bizarre to say the least) , full Irish breakfast and all this after organic porridge, fruit juice, pots of lovely tea, yogurts, home made bread & scones. The breakfasts always kept us full until mid afternoon.

There is one large dining room with seating for about 8 people around the large table and a small table for 2 in that room and if necessary on the odd occasion when everybody wants breakfast at the same time there is seating just outside the dining room, but if we'd gone to sit out there it would have been fine by us. There is a lovely view of the Shannon from the dining room.

As both myself and my husband work in the service industry we could not help but observe how the family were with their guests - nothing was too much trouble.

John usually served breakfast whilst his wife Josephine did the cooking. On one occasion their eldest daughter cooked the breakfast and a fine job she did of it.

Would we return to stay with the O'Donovans again? Yes we would. The genuine kindness shown to us almost made up for the poor weather we had whilst in Ireland. They could not have been kinder.

  • Liked — the location and the family
  • Disliked — transparent dividing curtain in the family room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank toninhoManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2008

Our bedroom was nicely furnished, cosy and very clean. Sheets and towels were changed every day. We had a wonderful view on lush meadows and the river Shannon. The house is situated just a few kilometres from the nearest village, it is a perfect retreat for a quiet holiday and not too far away from interesting sites or the seaside. Breakfast was generous and good. A place to feel at home for a few days!

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pugliatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastlewest
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We stayed at Knights Haven for 3 nights from the 6th July. The room was very clean and warm and the bed was so comfortable.
John & Josephine were so helpful with everything and the breakfast was awsome. There is a choice of cereals, yogurts, breads, juice and fruit and any breakfast cooked to order the following morning. We had Pancakes, french toast, Irish breakfast, and omlette. The dining room is spacious and there is a large table that seats 6 people. and another to seat 2. They also have another dining room off the kitchen. We were late coming down one morning and had to join other guest at the large table, something I would prefer not to do.
We had fresh scones from the oven 2 mornings and they were delicous.
We paid €189 for 3 nights B&B and I must admit it was excellent value.

  • Liked — Peaceful location and views
  • Disliked — Large table in dining room
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank poseynewcastlewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2008

what a find , a beautiful house set in an idilic backdrop
we were greeted at the door by the friendly owner who showed us our room he answered all our questions about the area and was exceptionally helpful making phone calls to orgnaise day trips for us
our room was large and comfortable and spotlessly clean
our breakfast was gorgeous and right on time , they take your breakfast order the night before to avoid keeping guests waiting in the morning , and the view from the dining room was breathtaking
it really was the perfect spot to relax , and provided the perfect base for traveling .
couldnt find a single fault

  • Liked — the amazing views and friendly attitudes
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank katiemayjane7891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glin
12.2 mi away
Listowel Arms Hotel
Listowel Arms Hotel
#1 of 7 in Listowel
369 reviews
0.0 mi away
O'Driscoll's Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Kirby's Lanterns Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tarbert
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Old Castle House
Old Castle House
#2 of 4 in Glin
83 reviews
8.8 mi away
Castle View House Bed and Breakfast
3.5 mi away
Palmgrove Bed & Breakfast
Palmgrove Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 11 in Listowel
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Haven

Property: Knights Haven
Address: Tarbert, Glin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Glin
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Glin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Knights Haven 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Knights Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing