We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We arrived as guests and left as friends”
Review of Knights Haven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Knights Haven
Ranked #4 of 4 Glin B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 28, 2008

My husband, teenager daughter (in her late teens) and myself spent 10 nights at Knight Haven in August. If only the Irish weather had been as welcoming as the family who run Knights Haven.

We arrived late in the evening having been delayed by both the flight from England and blocked roads caused by torrential rain. John O'Donovan was there to greet us and the instant offer of a cup of tea was turned down as we were desperate to eat. John phoned up a nearby restaurant to see if they were still serving dinner and he drove us there in his car so my husband could have a drink.

He told us to phone him when we had finished eating so he could pick us up - in fact he had also dropped another family off at the restaurant and also collected them at an arranged time. He certainly didn't have to do this and I suspect not everybody would have done so.

And so began our 10 days stay with the O'Donovans and their 3 children. Our family room was on the ground floor and we had a private door if we didn't want to leave via the front door as you have to pass the O'Donovan's kitchen/living area to get to the front door otherwise so you certainly do not have to pass through their living quarters if you chose not to.

I couldn't help thinking how lovely it would be if I kept my house as tidy as they do, bearing in mind they have 3 children and an every changing list of guests as I suspect most people unlike ourselves just stay for a few days and then move on.

Our room was a family room and although not luxurious the room was clean and with comfortable beds and the room was serviced every day even though we always locked the room. Yes the bathroom had been added on - the house itself was clearly not built to be a bed and breakfast - it is a lovely sprawling house which the family have tastefully turned into a bed and breakfast whilst keeping the family at the heart of the place. So the bathroom wasn't particularly big, but it was certainly adequate. A hook on the back of the bathroom door would have made things a bit easier, but it wasn't the end of the world.

Breakfast every morning was a treat. We chose the night before what we wanted from french toasts, pancakes (the previous comments about the size of the pancakes is bizarre to say the least) , full Irish breakfast and all this after organic porridge, fruit juice, pots of lovely tea, yogurts, home made bread & scones. The breakfasts always kept us full until mid afternoon.

There is one large dining room with seating for about 8 people around the large table and a small table for 2 in that room and if necessary on the odd occasion when everybody wants breakfast at the same time there is seating just outside the dining room, but if we'd gone to sit out there it would have been fine by us. There is a lovely view of the Shannon from the dining room.

As both myself and my husband work in the service industry we could not help but observe how the family were with their guests - nothing was too much trouble.

John usually served breakfast whilst his wife Josephine did the cooking. On one occasion their eldest daughter cooked the breakfast and a fine job she did of it.

Would we return to stay with the O'Donovans again? Yes we would. The genuine kindness shown to us almost made up for the poor weather we had whilst in Ireland. They could not have been kinder.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank toninhoManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 90 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2008

Our bedroom was nicely furnished, cosy and very clean. Sheets and towels were changed every day. We had a wonderful view on lush meadows and the river Shannon. The house is situated just a few kilometres from the nearest village, it is a perfect retreat for a quiet holiday and not too far away from interesting sites or the seaside. Breakfast was generous and good. A place to feel at home for a few days!

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pugliatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We stayed at Knights Haven for 3 nights from the 6th July. The room was very clean and warm and the bed was so comfortable.
John & Josephine were so helpful with everything and the breakfast was awsome. There is a choice of cereals, yogurts, breads, juice and fruit and any breakfast cooked to order the following morning. We had Pancakes, french toast, Irish breakfast, and omlette. The dining room is spacious and there is a large table that seats 6 people. and another to seat 2. They also have another dining room off the kitchen. We were late coming down one morning and had to join other guest at the large table, something I would prefer not to do.
We had fresh scones from the oven 2 mornings and they were delicous.
We paid €189 for 3 nights B&B and I must admit it was excellent value.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank poseynewcastlewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2008

what a find , a beautiful house set in an idilic backdrop
we were greeted at the door by the friendly owner who showed us our room he answered all our questions about the area and was exceptionally helpful making phone calls to orgnaise day trips for us
our room was large and comfortable and spotlessly clean
our breakfast was gorgeous and right on time , they take your breakfast order the night before to avoid keeping guests waiting in the morning , and the view from the dining room was breathtaking
it really was the perfect spot to relax , and provided the perfect base for traveling .
couldnt find a single fault

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank katiemayjane7891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2008

My son and I were on tour of Ireland and found Knight's Haven as wonderful as we did Ireland in general. The breakfast was always on time and delicious. Our room was clean and roomy. The location was off the main road and private, yet close to everything.

The morning view towards the Shannon started my day off as one would wish. We most enjoyed our conversations with John and Josie. Additionally, they have a lovely family. We'd visit again.

The Hayes'

Thank knightshaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2007

Upon arrival we vere meet by the owners son, who showed us the room. The room was small with a bathroom built into the room at a later date. This mean that walls were placed in the existing room to make room for a bathroom, with a sliding door. very DIY.
On the website it was promised that we could pay with creditcard, but for some reason this was not an option.
The dobbelbed was small and the view over the shannon river could be seen when standing on ones toes.
We had to leave the B&B at 7 o´clock and wasnt able to get breakfast. We vere promised cereal + milk was ready in the breakfast lounge, but they forgot. Almost all our communication were with the son of the house. This was somewhat strange!!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Lonech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2006

Rural location, very peaceful. We had a lovely large room, view and cup of tea on arrival. Very welcoming. Excellent breakfast and friendly owners. Away from the road and very easily found, good signposts. Ample parking. Comfy bed plus TV.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fuzziecrezzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glin
12.2 mi away
Listowel Arms Hotel
Listowel Arms Hotel
#1 of 7 in Listowel
383 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Kirby's Lanterns Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Geoghegans Magpie Bar and Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Old Castle House
Old Castle House
#2 of 4 in Glin
85 reviews
0.0 mi away
O'Driscoll's Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Haven

Address: Tarbert, Glin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Glin
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Glin
Price Range: $69 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Knights Haven 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Knights Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing