We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old School”
Review of Hunter's Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rathnew
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hunter's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rathnew
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2014

I had a voucher for Blue Book hotels and chose this hotel based on its location (not too far to drive for us). Have to say was a little worried when I saw the outside of the place but once inside the quirkiness of this great hotel comes alive. So different to staying in a modern hotel and much nicer and more personal. We had fabulous weather and spent a few hours in the garden having a few drinks and then into dinner. The food was absolutely fabulous! Melt in your mouth stuff! Staff were extremely friendly. Would definitely go back and definitely would recommend this hotel if you want something different to the run of the mill establishment.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank NeeniGer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
There are newer reviews for Hunter's Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 263 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

I visited this place based on the excellent reviews on TripAdvisor, and I have to say that they don't do the place or the food any justice, u have to come and taste for ur self, I have been to many places and stayed in many hotels but for a place this old and classic I have to say that the food is out of this world, five days new mange every night and each time it was delightful mouth watering amazing, the sauces the meat and fish is so fresh and prepared with excellent taste, the presentation didn't disappoint the colors and texture of the garnishes is outstanding, to top it off the accompanying vegetables where to die for a new garnish every night, simply the best experience of my life, this place will be my number one destination for true culinary voyage for me and my business partners, well done Hunters kitchen staff, well done chef.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Joomla77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Set in some of the nicest gardens in North Wicklow, Hunters is everything one would expect from an inn of this age and character. The dinner menu was quite extensive and appeared to offer value for the €48 euro a head tariff. Disappointingly, on the night we were there, it failed to deliver by quite some distance. The main course portions were rather meagre and, in a first for this reviewer,who was told quite firmly "sorry we have no potatoes left"! This is simply not good enough for an establishment of this calibre. All in all a very forgettable experience and one I have no wish
to repeat.Will not be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Pj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is a lovely little hotel. I often go here just to sit in the gardens and have a coffee on a nice day. If your going for food you need to book in advance but we'll worth it and good value set menu. Walking Ito the hotel is like walking back in time to the 1950s. This place is well worth a visit, very relaxing and chilled out atmosphere

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank rhdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Having lunch in Hunter's is like travelling back in time - back to a more genteel world and it's totally charming. The staff are welcoming and helpful, the food delicious and the surrounding gardens are a pleasure to stroll around. A perfect place to step off the treadmill of life...

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irishpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

I had the great pleasure of hosting my dear mother's 90th birthday at this absolute gem of a venue. From the moment the party of 23 guests arrived for Sunday lunch to the moment of our departure, we were looked after as though we were old friends (many of us had never been to the hotel before). Margaret and her team of consummate professionals attended to us with efficiency, professionalism and a smile!

The food, drink and standard of service score 10/10. Feedback from all 23 guests including the birthday girl was overwhelmingly positive across all aspects of the afternoon.

Beautiful hotel with an original 'old world' charm all of it's own. Delightful gardens in a peaceful countryside setting made this venue the perfect choice.

Will definitely be back and delighted to recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank caseypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Staying at Hunter's was the perfect end to a holiday in Ireland. The room was spacious, the gardens magnificent, and the staff welcoming and accommodating. For example, they went out of their way to give us breakfast in the morning, ahead of the set time, so that we could leave for the airport in plenty of time.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MSpence09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rathnew
1.0 mi away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
5.9 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,072 reviews
9.6 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,029 reviews
8.0 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
517 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Wicklow
Grand Hotel Wicklow
#2 of 4 in Wicklow
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter's Hotel

Address: Newrath Bridge, Rathnew, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Rathnew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rathnew
Price Range: $75 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunter's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ireland's oldest coaching inn. Owned and operated by the same family for nearly 200 years. The hotel, where the King and Queen of Sweden have stayed, boasts open fires, antique furniture and award-winning gardens by the banks of the river Vartry in County Wicklow. Situated in the countryside 40 minutes from Dublin city and 5 minutes from Mount Usher gardens. Lunch, dinner and morning coffee are served daily. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hunters Hotel Wicklow
Hunter's Hotel Ireland/Rathnew, County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing