We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really gorgeous”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hunter's Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rathnew
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hunter's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rathnew
Certificate of Excellence
Lakedistrict
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Really gorgeous”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Just had three nights in Hunters Hotel and it is totally charming. My friends who live up the road remember having tea in the garden as children and say it hasn't changed at all. Booked a single room but had a lovely big double overlooking the wonderful garden. The room was full of antiques and you sink into the bed with thick feather toppers on the mattress. Breakfast and dinner are a real treat with everything done "just so" and the quality of the ingredients very high. The wine list was also very good. Sitting in the bar with the grandfather clock ticking, drinking a lovely glass of wine was total heaven!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakes_woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    58
    22
    9
    9
See reviews for
77
105
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed here for one night over a weekend as part of a longer stay in Wicklow. Hunters is located in a small village called Rathnew. The village is very small with not much more than a petrol station and a pub. Hunters is old world charm itself. Very quaint and the furniture seems to be mostly antiques. This is the type of hotel where the floors creak, the carpet is a little frayed and it is all part of the atmophere. In other words , shabbychic. If minimalism and clean fresh lines is your thing then stay elsewhere. The hotel has a small bar area and separate sitting room. Coffee is served in the afternoon in front of a turf fire. I found the staff friendly and polite. The food is a real treat, both the evening meal and breakfast. T he room was in the same style and more old world charm and very comfy bed. However for me it was all a little too staid in atmosphere in general anda little boring. Therefore I personally would not stay again, but if quiant charm is your thing then you may well love this place. This is also quite an expensive hotel. It is only rated three stars, and while the food is ofa very high standrd, to justify the cost this hotel you really need to appreciate the atmosphere and tranquility which is not always to eveyones taste.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank supaberri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

After arriving in Dublin we rented our car and headed out to Hunter's Hotel in County Wicklow. The countryside was serene and the hotel was charming. They brought us tea and scones in the beautiful gardens and got our room ready early for us (which was nice after the transatlantic red-eye). The hotel is elegant and the room was very comfortable. The breakfasts were fantastic. Pleasant and helpful staff. We only wish we had more than 2 nights there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mia a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

returned to hunters recently after a long day walking in the Wicklow mountains and it was pure pleasure to have a well deserved pint in the little bar by the turf fire, sounds a bit odd for the height of the Irish summer but, that,s all part of the charm!
dinner was excellent including confit duck, potted crab, and amazing creme brulee, the whole meal was top notch.
our room was lovely and hunters breakfast is also first class!
planning our next Wicklow walk already!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thewhitecottages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

What a delightful place to stay and relax. This 1720 coaching inn is very comfortable. The old inn is surrounded by picturesque and well - tended gardens. Guest are free to wander in the gardens or just sit and relax and soak up the atmosphere. All the bedrooms are different. I can recommend room 9. We loved it. Very spacious, well furnished, a lovely view of the gardens and a huge bathroom with a walk-in shower and a bath tub.We have stayed in a few very lovely hotels on this trip to Ireland - one of my favourites. Very memorable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaraHarriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
288 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Is this the right place to put a review of just the restaurant?
I could not find it under Restaurants in TA.
Anyway, if you want old world charm, napery, a Victorian cottage garden to walk or sit in (if there's Irish sun!) this is a characteristic hostelry, described as Ireland's oldest coaching inn.
We used to visit here more but recently less as the food had become dull. This time it was back to standard, as it should be, the prices here are 50% higher than comparable hotels for Sunday lunch - we paid 88 euro for lunch for two including one drink each and tip.
It's very much a place for a reserved atmosphere. I can't imagine noisy parties here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GYWX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Very disappointed, cold, felt like a shed, everything squeeked, no plushness or comfort, food apawling, not in keeping at all with blue book, a peek into the kitchen- a bit grotty to say the least, would have happily not stayed and found somewhere else but it was paid for, a miserable night which was supposed to be a treat

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anon296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rathnew
1.0 mi away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
5.9 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
1,930 reviews
9.6 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
977 reviews
13.6 mi away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
6.0 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter's Hotel

Property: Hunter's Hotel
Address: Newrath Bridge, Rathnew, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Rathnew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rathnew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunter's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ireland's oldest coaching inn. Owned and operated by the same family for nearly 200 years. The hotel, where the King and Queen of Sweden have stayed, boasts open fires, antique furniture and award-winning gardens by the banks of the river Vartry in County Wicklow. Situated in the countryside 40 minutes from Dublin city and 5 minutes from Mount Usher gardens. Lunch, dinner and morning coffee are served daily. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hunters Hotel Wicklow
Hunter's Hotel Ireland/Rathnew, County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing