We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rathnew
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings, E Sussex
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed in the Tinakilly Country House Hotel on the 17th Dec 2013
The room was very comfortable and large with a sea view.
We had an evening meal which was excellent and the breakfast was table service and the food was first class.
We have stayed in Tinakilly many times and it is still my favourite.

Room Tip: The sea view room is very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaullineCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Tinakilly and of course the 5 star rating.

It is wonderful to hear your comments regarding your accommodation and dining experience as being 'first class' Our newly refurbished Suites have the most amazing views of our gardens or the Irish sea,

We hope you will return to visit us again in the near future.

Wishing you a very Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

Kindest regards
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    175
    77
    32
    39
See reviews for
135
372
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basye, Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I played golf at The European Club for a couple of days and stayed at this wonderful little hotel.
The room was large and well appointed. The breakfast was excellent and the staff couldn't have been more helpful or more courteous. The wi fi didn't work well in my room so I sat in front of the fire on the main floor, which was even better. I had stayed here about a dozen years ago so I had some familiarity with the hotel. I plan on returning to play golf next summer with my wife. I can't think of a better place to bring her.

Room Tip: I had a room that overlooked the Irish Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and giving Tinakilly a 5 star rating !

Welcome back to Tinakilly, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us while playing golf at The European Club.

It was our pleasure to look after you so well and I will pass on all your wonderful comments to our dedicated team who are always willing to offer the best in Irish hospitality to our guests.

We look forward to welcome you back with your wife next year.

Wishing you a very Merry Christmas and New Year !

Kindest regards
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed in Tinakilly House for the weekend of my birthday, it is only a 30min drive from Dublin but feels like a different world!

The house has a very classic country home feel to it, the rooms are very spacious and the staff are so friendly. The food is great and the atmosphere really relaxed. The main area of the house has a couple of different rooms (all of which have great character and are warm and cosy) so it adds to the homely relaxed feel.

Also it is placed on beautiful gardens with a nice walk that allows you to enjoy the country air. The staff and manager of the Hotel were very friendly and made us feel right at home. We enjoyed every min of our stay in Tinakilly House and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience during your stay in Tinakilly.
We value your comments and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Hope you will return to visit us again soon.

Kindest regards
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dub
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Went for a night away for my birthday on Tinakilly- lovely greeting at reception and lovely walk in the grounds. The hotel is badly in need of some refurbishment- our room was huge and had beautiful views but the door looked like someone had tried to kick it in, it had old dingy lampshades with burns on them, marks on the wall and the big part of the room was very empty feeling with a couch floating in it- would be fab with a window seat for reading or an armchair. The tv was ridiculously old and too low down- the bathroom was clean but not spotless either.... We had dinner which again was lovely but one or two staff not very friendly and veg was cooked from frozen id say.... We did have a great nights sleep as room lovely and dark and temperature just right. Breakfast ok but again serving French yogurts when we have an abundance of fab Irish ones .... Overall it's nice but could be amazing with some attention and basic decorating

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sasaDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate the positive comments on your overall stay in Tinakilly. In relation to refurbishment, the hotel has been undergoing a major refurbishment programme since July 2013, the areas of completion include, new Restaurant, Tea Rooms, Front Hall, Bar / Lounge and Banqueting Suites and the vast majority of our 52 bedrooms with new plasma TV's.
I wish to apologize the room assigned to you was not one of our newly refurbished rooms. We are committed to using the best of local produce and our new restaurant has been getting rave reviews and recently awarded the AA Rosetta Award for Culinary Excellence 2013-2014.

It is always helpful to get feedback from our customers experience and we hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back to Tinakilly in the future.

Kindest regards
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed on a 3 night break in room 69 fantastic views, and friendly staff, couple of days later we stayed for 1 night on our way home, in a captain suite, and dined in the restaurant.
This hotel is definitly worth a visit, if only to sample the afternoon tea.
We hope to visit again next year.

Adam

Room Tip: Upgrade and give yourself a treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your stay in Tinakilly.

It is wonderful to hear your very positive comments and we are so pleased you had a memorable stay with us and especially enjoyed the afternoon tea!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest regards
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Very pretty country house. Front desk staff where so lovely and very friendly. Room was really nice, four poster bed, very clean and comfortable. We eat in the bar twice and had breakfast to our room, all very nice would highly recommend it. Bar staff where very friendly. Only bad thing I could say would be the bad service/waiting time. We sat for over half an hour waiting to be served and get menus so we ended up taking our own menus and ordering at the bar on both occasions, which you don't really expect to have to do when you are staying in a four star hotel. When ordering dinner my partner stood at the bar waiting to order for about 15 minutes. Other than that I could not fault the hotel. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saraizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your stay in Tinakilly.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff are always eager to assist our guests in every way possible to ensure they receive the highest level of service so I am very sorry to hear you experienced a delay when making an order, we sincerely apologize for this and we will address this matter.

We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Kindest regards
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

History seems to ooze from this great old mansion, built by the sea captain who was involved in laying the telegraph cable between Ireland and North America in the mid-1800s. We stayed in the captain's own second-story bedroom, which was very large and had a huge bay window overlooking the grounds, which are very beautiful and front on the Channel sound. The wide stairway leading up to the second floor is one of the grandest in Ireland.

I talked with the affable brand new owner and his son, who live in Dublin and happened to be there at the time. The hotel had been deteriorating for many years, but the owner and his crew were already carrying out much-needed restoration while we were there, and I suspect the house will be much-improved the next time we stay there.

Ask someone to show you the American Sequoia trees, which were planted 150 years ago.

Room Tip: Our room was labeled a suite, so it was one of the largest in the house. The bathroom was small and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tradefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and all your positive comments which are very much appreciated.

We are so pleased you had a memorable experience in this beautiful Country House Hotel which is steeped in history and retains beautiful period features and charm.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards
Catherine

There is ongoing refurbishment taking place and
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rathnew
6.6 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
1,986 reviews
13.6 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
994 reviews
10.4 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
495 reviews
14.3 mi away
The Martello Hotel
13.3 mi away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Main Street | Co Wicklow, Rathnew, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Rathnew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rathnew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1883 for Captain Robert Halpin, Tinakilly is a beautiful Country House Hotel with 51 bedrooms set on 7 acres of mature landscaped gardens overlooking the Irish sea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tinakilly Country House Hotel And Restaurant
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant Ireland/Rathnew, County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing