We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm welcome, views terrific, bedroom needs a makeover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rathnew
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We just arrived back from a night in this lovely country house, we had a lovely warm welcome from the staff and the proprietor who gave us a tour around some of the very well appointed rooms with the most beautiful fireplaces, Our room was downstairs with a beautiful view of the sea and with such lovely weather it really showed the gardens off to there very best, the bed was very comfy and a really large size although i think the room could do with a bit of a spruce up, the carpet is very dull and doesnt show off the wonderful furniture and soft furnishings to there best, our shower dripped all night especially if you used the sink taps????? Our breakfast was superb and the staff very attentive, the doors were opened so everybody could enjoy the scenery of the irish sea and gardens from the breakfast room, We had the table D,hote dinner which i must say was an absolute disappointment,having been told by the owner about the amount of compliments they had recieved about the food i was really looking forward to it but alas i fear i dont feel the same as the people he spoke to, My starter was duck pate which was tasteless and was accompanied by burnt toast and my main was wing of ray which was tasty but as there was no beef or chicken on the menu ( probably on the a la carte menu ) i thought i,d give it a go,it was good but not what i would have ordered in normal circumstances, i felt the menu was very limited, my husband had a very tasty chowder to start and he had the pork belly which he enjoyed but he would have like a lot more veg on the plate, if you wanted more veg it cost 4eur per portion. the dessert was a lovely creme brulee but overall i would only give the meal 5 out of 10. i dont think i would return for an evening meal again but i would recommend bed and breakfast, i didnt know there was an opportunity to have a massage as we were not told there were spa treatments if i had of known i would of availed of them, the reception area should be moved to a more central point with lots of information readily available to take and read, the receptionists are so nice and helpful they shouldnt be hidden away. i really wish this review was more positive as tinakilly country house could be more than what is at the moment, lets hope the new owners take some of my points onboard.

Room Tip: we had a junior suite with wonderful views of the sea, wander around the house as all of the rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cailin50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay, particularly the very warm welcome from our staff and room with a beautiful view of the sea.

Tinakilly has recently completed a refurbishment of the ground floor including our new Brunel restaurant and Tea Rooms and they look stunning whilst retaining all the period features and country house charm . We are in the process of doing some modernization of our bedrooms , some have been completed already.

I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with our D'hote menu, it changes each evening to give our guests a wide choice of dishes, chicken and beef are on our menu on a regular basis menu and is great valued at 33 euros. Our food always receives great reviews and sorry to hear you did not feel this way.

I am surprised to hear you were not aware of our treatment room ( not a spa) as information is on our website and details are displayed in our lobby and reception areas.

I would like to explain that the new owners took over in July and since then have made huge changes. We take on board there is still more work to be done, this is a massive project and they are totally committed to this.

It is our passion to ensure our guests experience a tranquil haven experience during their stay and the feedback so far has been very positive.

We hope you will return in the future

Kindest regards
Catherine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (758)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 758 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

Visited Tinakilly (which was the home of Captain Robert Halpin who is brother to my great grandfather) for two nights as part of a family history exploration of Wicklow.

The house, which has been extended a number of times, is in a beautiful spot in lovely grounds with great views.

The original part of the house makes up the public areas (and a few rooms) with a wing of newer rooms behind (where we stayed).

Frankly, our room needed some tlc, there were stains on the carpet and chairs, and the mastic around the bath was pretty disgusting. however, it was a good sized room, and quiet - we slept well.

We ate in the hotel restaurant each night & the food was excellent - clearly lots of locals think so too.

The staff were very helpful and we enjoyed our stay.

Bottom line, a charming hotel with great food & friendly staff - but some of the rooms are really in need of a refresh.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robh9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your review and so pleased to hear of your family connection to Captain Robert Halpin who was an amazing man with all his achievements recorded in history.

The house was recently bought and is undergoing refurbishment which will be fully completed in the coming months and whilst we will retain the period features we will be modernizing some areas.

Delighted you enjoyed eating in our new Brunel restaurant and our staff were helpful.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest regards
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We have just had the most pleasant stay of two nights to beautiful Tinakilly house.
We woke up on Saturdays mornings from magnificent gardens and sea view since the windows of our room. After the breakfast that I had a massage of 90 min with their masseuse in the house Pam, she(it) was excellent and totally unwound me.
We visited the region of Wicklow during the day and we ate two nights in their restaurant, the food, the staff and the atmosphere were first class.
We have already reserved our next romantic stay at the beginning of October and will be recommend Tinakilly to all our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Penzo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your lovely review of Tinakilly, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and got to experience a wonderful relaxing massage from Pam in our NEW Treatment room and enjoyed eating in our new Brunel restaurant over 2 nights.

I will pass on your comments to all the team here.

Thank you for recommending us to all your friends and we look forward to seeing you in October!

Kindest regards
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Tinakilly Country house Hotel offers the traveller a touch of old time luxury with modern service standard. The attention of staff is superior , the rooms styled in keeping with the House including Room 3 with a four poster bed. The gardens are beautiful and the restaurant top quality well worth taking them up on the inclusive dining offers. The Hotel is erect for exploring Dublin, Wicklow mountains This hotel was one of the highlights of our driving tour of the Irish Midlands

Room Tip: Rooms 1 -4 are exception with great views of the gardens room 3 has a four-poster bed and is pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CardiffBonviveur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for writing this 5 star review regarding your stay in Tinakilly Country house Hotel and got to experience a touch of old time luxury with the wonderful attention from our staff.

The hotel was recently bought and we have begun refurbishment throughout the hotel, R3 is just of our newly refurbishment rooms with a four poster bed with garden views.

Our Brunel restaurant serves delicious food and offers very good value at only 33euros for a dinner menu.

We are so delighted that Tinakilly was one of the highlights of your tour of Ireland.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to see us in the future.

Kindest regards
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed just one night, booked on the same day. Really lovely, friendly, helpful staff. I felt they wanted me there. The house is really historical and there are lots of original features preserved. Its a warren of interesting stairways and corridors and lovely public rooms. Tiled & wooden floors wooden doorways, creaky floorboards, and a real country house feel. Food was excellent, beautifully presented and tased great. Breakfast was properly fresh and I felt if there wasnt someting there I wanted I only had to ask. Good coffee and fruit salad. Room was huge (room 65) beautiful proportions, large his n hers bathroom, fab view and a dressing room. Only 'but'.... in order to command a true 'country house but in the modern world' the shower needed updating, it was v old and not working properly and if a flat screen wall mounted tv was added... heaven. Staing on carpet unsightly and needs a desk area. There is plenty of room! Furniture nice. These items would have meant I wouldnt be looking at everything else in detail - an old TV and an old shower - I was thinking 'what else has been neglected' a new TV and a new shower I would be thinking 'wow'.... Will be staying again on my travels as I thought the staff were lovely, food great and surroundings beautiful. Pease update shower & TV for next visit... over to you guys...

Room Tip: Room 65 fab view large rooms. Old shower and old TV though, some stains on carpet. Nice furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay in R65 and received a warm, friendly and helpful welcome from our staff and tasted our sumptuous food.

The house was built in 1883 and is steeped in history with lots of original features and character preserved.

The hotel has recently been bought and whilst we want to retain the period features and country charm we do take on board your comments about modernization of the bathroom and TV and we are in the process of upgrading these areas in the very near future. The ground floor and restaurant have been already completed in recent weeks and look stunning.

We hope you will return in the future to see the completed refurbishment in the coming months

Kindest regards
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Tinakilly was our home base during a six day walking tour of County Wicklow. It is a lovely hotel with so much character and charm. As other reviews mention, it is being refurbished, but I didn't mind the slight blemishes a bit. The food was excellent, the staff was friendly. My room (31) was huge and looked out on a rose garden. The ocean views from the chairs located around the hotel are priceless. I skipped one day of walking and just sat in a chair, reading a book, napping and enjoying the view. They also sell Tinakilly labeled chocolate bars made in Ireland, which made the perfect souvenir for my friends and family back home.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonD282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for writing this wonderful review regarding your stay in Tinakilly.

We are really pleased you enjoyed staying in R31 with breath taking views of the Irish sea and our beautiful rose garden and ocean views from the chairs located around the hotel.

Tinakilly has recently introduced our very own range of chocolate which has been a great success and is indeed a 'perfect souvenir' for friends and family.

I will be delighted to pass on all your wonderful comments to our staff and chef, we have a great team who are always very conscious to ensure our guests enjoy their stay with us

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Ireland.

Kindest regards
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I had a lovely stay at the hotel, warmly welcomed by such friendly staff. The dinner was fantastic, a perfectly cooked steak and a desert menu to die for. The hotel grounds are wonderful with views of the sea. I will definitely be returning and I look forward to it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your 5 star review regarding your recent stay in Tinakilly.

We are very pleased to hear your comments and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest regards
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rathnew
6.6 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,089 reviews
10.4 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,056 reviews
13.7 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
522 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Wicklow
Grand Hotel Wicklow
#2 of 4 in Wicklow
286 reviews
14.0 mi away
Summerhill House Hotel
Summerhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Enniskerry
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Main Street | Co Wicklow, Rathnew, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Rathnew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rathnew
Price Range: $139 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1883 for Captain Robert Halpin, Tinakilly is a beautiful Country House Hotel with 51 bedrooms set on 7 acres of mature landscaped gardens overlooking the Irish sea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tinakilly Country House Hotel And Restaurant
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant Ireland/Rathnew, County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing