We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely experience, customer service at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rathnew
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed her last sat night, as a surprise for his 40th Birthday. Our room was fabulous with beautiful views of the garden. Although there was a wedding on in the hotel, the staff had plenty of time to chat with us. Both the lady that checked us in and the lady on reception the following morning were exceptionally friendly and efficient. Probably the best customer service I have ever seen. Breakfast was tasty with really good quality produce. Overall a wonderful experience.Thank you so much

Room Tip: We stayed in no 65, with wonderful views of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janey078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Valued Customer

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay in Tinakilly.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and received the highest customer service experience from our wonderful staff, your comments will be passed on to everyone here.

We hope you will return in the future for another stay.

Kindest regards
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (776)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

507 - 513 of 777 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

Taking a long weekend trip to Ireland we wanted to stay somewhere special - and we found it. To start with the very kind and friendly lady on reception couldn't of been more helpful and allowed us to check in early, which is always good after an early start and flight. The hotel its self was charming and although needing a touch of paint in places it had a lovely feel about it and with all the staff being so attentive it made a great weekend for us. We ate in the bar for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the food and breakfast was very good. The only thing we would have to say as a negative is that the hotel needs more staff - especially at breakfast. A delight to have found this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thebanoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for writing this review and all the wonderful positive comments.

We are delighted that you really enjoyed your stay in Tinakilly

We hope to welcome you back in the future

Enjoy the rest of your Summer

Kindest regards
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We returned here 20 years after our first visit and were delighted to find that the changes that have taken place in the interim have added to the place. Reception staff were warm and welcoming and though busy in mid July on a glorious summer day it still felt unhurried. It was easy to find somewhere quiet to relax in the hotel or grounds. Our room had a beautiful 4 poster bed and a lovely view of the rose garden. Some have said it is a bit "tired in parts" but we found the decor in keeping with the understated charm of the place. Bed comfy and little noise from corridor. We chose to dine in the main restaurant and found the early bird menu excellent value for money with great food. Only slight disappointment was the abrupt manner of our waitress though she did warm up as the evening progressed. Breakfast was good...limited buffet cold options but what was there was very enjoyable. Hot food was very good. Unfortunately there were not enough waiting staff for the numbers dining and there was definite frustration shown by some other guests. The staff on duty were working very hard and apologised profusely for any delays so my only suggestion would be that the hotel need extra staff on weekends when they are fully booked. We definetly will go back and wont be leaving it anything like as long

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Whilst we welcome your very positive comments for your overall stay in Tinakilly, I wish to apologize most sincerely for the service levels you experienced during your breakfast.
This matter will be addressed and action taken by the management to ensure this does not happen again.

I am pleased to advise the hotel is under new management and all areas of customer service and product enhancement is top on the agenda. In fact some refurbishment is already underway and the new product will be of a very high standard.

We hope you will return to Tinakilly in the near future.

Enjoy the Summer..

Kindest regards
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

A lovely relaxing afternoon at Tinakilly today: afternoon tea was an extremely reasonable €10.50 per person, and only €2 more for a glass of Prosecco (unfortunately I was driving, so had to pass).
The tea was lovely: there were ham & cheese sandwiches, smoked salmon on brown bread, 2 scones each with jam and cream, and several different kinds of cake & little pastries. If I had to be really picky, I would have liked a nice flowery china teacup rather than hotel standard white coffee cups to give that extra sense of occasion, but the tea was good, lots of it and we really couldn't fault the entire experience. The surroundings are charming, lovely gardens, fabulous trees and stunning views over the Murrough to the sea; the house is full of character and the staff are friendly: we will be back to try lunch soon.

I understand the hotel has recently acquired a new owner only a few days ago.
We told neigbours we met on the way home where we had been: they said they had visited 2 years ago, had a very negative experience and vowed they would never, ever go back.
I hope the new owner will look at a marketing & maybe some new signage (the entrance from the main road in Rathnew is unprepossessing, but as soon as you turn in through the gateway, the beautiful avenue stretches ahead and is really beautiful and like entering a different world.)
I will try to do my bit to dispel any negativity: those neighbours really should give it another go: they are missing out!!
Tinakilly House really is a hidden gem: relaxed, informal; the kind of place you could go by yourself and feel comfortable: all in all very well worth a visit. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your review and we welcome your positive comments, Tinakilly is the perfect place to relax in our stunning gardens having afternoon tea.

I am pleased to advise the new management have plans to refurbish the hotel over the coming weeks and our new product enhancement will transform Tinakilly into a stunning Country House Hotel. We do hope the local community will support us and revisit Tinakilly in the near future.

Enjoy the Summer..

Kindest regards
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed there on a Friday on a wonderful summers day. Called ahead to see if I could check in early as I wanted a quick change of clothes before hitting the beach." No problem Sir your room will be ready in 15 minutes''. Great start. Checking in the manager and reception staff were genuinely friendly and courteous. I had booked a junior suite for 2 adults and 1 child. The hotel is a beautiful authentic old country house and the rooms reflect this. No fancy flat screen or spa like shower but the size and opulence of the room more than made up for this. Not to mention the view overlooking the ocean Rm 28. Enjoyed drinks in the early evening in the wonderful grounds of the hotel.
Breakfast in the morning was cooked to order and halfway through my wife had to leave to attend to our child. When she returned the manager took away her now cold salmon and eggs and returned shortly after with a completely fresh dish. Cannot state strongly enough how much I enjoyed my stay there and I would certainly return.

Room Tip: Junior suites are huge and suite 28 had a ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herdkhunchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are so pleased you experienced the warm friendly welcome on arrival from our staff.
It was our pleasure to look after your and your family during your stay in Tinakilly.

We proud ourselves on providing the highest level of customer service and food offering at all times, I will be delighted to pass on your comments to our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Tinakilly in the future.

Have a wonderful Summer..

Kindest regards
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

As soon as we arrived we were struck by the beauty of the place, the calm and pleasant atmosphere in the hotel and the friendly nature of the staff. I had read a few reviews before I booked and did not expect the place to be so wonderful. We had a room on the ground floor with a sea view, it was quiet and perfect, a bit funky and maybe a little old fashioned but that added to its charm. it was nice to stay in a place that is not the same as all the others. We had dinner in the restaurant and it was lovely. The staff were great and cheerful and the food was great. There were not a lot of choices of wine by the glass but that was my only gripe!

Room Tip: I asked for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poloexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for writing this review, we are so pleased to receive such positive comments regarding your stay in Tinakilly.

It was our pleasure to look after you during your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Have a wonderful Summer...


Kindest regards
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here for a mid week break from 10th July unitl 12th in a Junior suite, which was spacious, comfortable with wonderful views of both the sea and gardens. We had dinner in the restaurant on the second night and had the set menu, which had a good variety to choose from, we were also offered a complimentary amuse boutche which was a nice touch. Breakfast on both mornings was great and filled us up for the day ahead, all in all we had a great stay and all staff were friendly and helpful. we will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfie202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks for writing this review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Tinakilly.

We proud ourselves on providing the highest quality of service and great staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Have a wonderful Summer...

Kindest regards
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rathnew
10.4 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,076 reviews
6.6 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,148 reviews
13.7 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14 mi away
Summerhill House Hotel
Summerhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Enniskerry
636 reviews
6.9 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
534 reviews
13.4 mi away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Main Street | Co Wicklow, Rathnew, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Rathnew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rathnew
Price Range: $142 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1883 for Captain Robert Halpin, Tinakilly is a beautiful Country House Hotel with 51 bedrooms set on 7 acres of mature landscaped gardens overlooking the Irish sea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tinakilly Country House Hotel And Restaurant
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant Ireland/Rathnew, County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing