We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Parkview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parkview Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We are currently staying here for three nights. With two infants with us cleanleness is really important and the rooms do not disappoint. The staff are only to willing to help with any request and the food in both the restaurant and bar is superb. This is a cracking hotel and great value :-)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gwmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    174
    50
    17
    10
See reviews for
96
256
14
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

My wife and I recently took a Spring break over two nights at The Parkview Hotel, Newtownmountkennedy, and were pleasantly surprised at how much we enjoyed our stay, even though the Hotel has no leisure activities. It did have the more important basics, a very comfortable room, bed and shower...also an excellent diningroom. The rib-eye Steak was superb and the overall choice on the Menu was up there with the best Restaurants. Top marks for decor throughout, but particularly to the architects and interior designers for the lovely atmosphere in the Lounge, with its lowered Bar counter, and the retention of the facade of an adjoining period housefront to incorporate the diningroom, also its wooden ceilings and use of mirrors. Good and helpful Reception and Dining staff, but poor headless chicken female barstaff, who never made eye contact or felt that tables should be cleared of used glasses at every opportunity...just a matter of direction! Overall a very pleasant experience and I will visit again and recommend to my friends...just watch out for weekends that are booked for functions with late night music.

Room Tip: Not over the ballroom(when late night functions are planned)....street view is best then!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TipperaryIrishJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed in the Parkview Hotel 17th Feb for two nights.The hotel was excellent, the atmosphere was so laid back it was hard not to relax. Good professional staff always set that tone for you when you arrive.Although Newtownmountkennedy its self is small,when you come out of the hotel, turn left or right the beautiful countryside welcomes you with a new vista on the turning of every corner.Lots of beautiful places to visit. A brilliant base to tour from. And at the end of a day's touring a wonderful hotel to dine in (food fabulous) and rest up(in a comfortable clean bed),before starting off on another day exploring the county that is The Garden of Ireland.

Room Tip: As there are no leasure facilities. It might get a bit boring for children, however there is a large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We got married in this hotel and can't give it enough credit. The staff were so helpful and accommodating. Lisa and her team really looked after us and gave us great value for money. The whole hotel has a lovely laid back feel to it and you always feel at home. Its a very modern hotel which is something I like so don't expect an old style. The location is good for exploring some of Wicklow which has beautiful countryside. Its not far from Dublin either. If you just want to chill out or you are planning a party or a wedding I would really recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xyz49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

stayed in hotel for valentines, room spotless but when we booked a suite we presumed it was going to be a bedroom and separate sitting area, our car got damaged in the carpark, Duty manager dealt with us he was helpful but of course cameras were not working in carpark,reception staff told us they would give us a call about cameras on our departure,but still no courtesy call.Meal in restaurant was average, Christy the barman was so friendly and welcoming, apart from this nothing to do in hotel, no music or atmosphere, will not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunny2576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Stayed in hotel for two nights B&B and Dinner, great food and service and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Atmosphere in hotel lovely and relaxed and overall enjoyed the stay and felt very relaxed after.
I would highly recommend this hotel.
P.S; There is very little to do in Newtownmountkennedy itself, but Druids Glen is nice for a walk and a few drinks and Powers court is only 15 minutes up the road which is definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: upgrade to get a Jacuzzi Bath!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kchIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Overall this hotel was great room was spacious and comfortable food was good and staff were friendlly and helpful everything was going well until we discovered there was a function on the Saturday night of our stay and our room was located directly above the function room. We arrived up from dinner to a quiet room settled into bed to watch TV then things kicked off the noise and vibrations was unbearable made trying to watch TV or sleep impossible. If we hadn't already being settled and in bed and it being our last night I would have asked to be moved. It was after 1am before the music stopped and things were all quiet. I fully understand that hotels also caterd for functions however maybe when allocating rooms to quest who are not part of this function maybe a little consideration would help ie not placing them in a room directly above the function room. So if you find yourself in one of these rooms check to make sure there is nothing on during your stay and if there is I'd suggest you asked to be moved to the other end of the Hotel. Such a shame as the hotel was great otherwise.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not directly above function room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beckers82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtown Mount Kennedy
1.4 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,019 reviews
3.5 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,016 reviews
18.7 mi away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Martello Hotel
7.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
6.6 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview Hotel

Property: Parkview Hotel
Address: Parkview Hotel Main Street, Newtown Mount Kennedy Wicklow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Newtown Mount Kennedy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newtown Mount Kennedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Parkview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkview Hotel Newtownmountkennedy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing