We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We found a gem”
Review of Parkview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parkview Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2011

This hotel is rated 3* but I'd put it nearer a 4*. It doesn't have leisure facilities which doesn't bother me as I never use them. The staff were very friendly and efficient. The room was beautiful and the food in both the bar and the restaurant very good. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N_IrelandFranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 538 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2011

We visit this hotel for food when passing through Newtownmountkennedy every two or three months. Staff have always been friendly and accommodating. Atmosphere is relaxed and food has been plentiful and well presented. Prices are reasonable too.
Judging by the number of people having meals at different times, it seems I'm not alone in thinking this place really is a gem for food!
I've never stayed in the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesleyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Very comfortable hotel room with lovely soft quilts & fluffy pillows. Great black-out curtains spanning the wall, so you won't be woken by the early morning sun light! Had a fabulous lunch there & breakfast was perfect, all served on hot plate. A great place to stay overnight, not sure if you could spend a few days there as not much to do. Great rates, will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We stayed the night before our function. There was another function on that night. We were placed above the function room and very quickly we asked to be moved as it was very noisy. the night porter was very quick and we were given another room no hastle and without any argument. We slept very comfortably in our new room.
Restruant was lovely, staff very attentive. Breakfast had loads to choose from.

Room Tip: ask not to be placed near the function room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

I didn't stay but stopped in for lunch and don't know why I bothered! It was far too warm, no ac and all windows firmly shut! Service at first was fast and friendly, that's where it stopped! Plenty of staff but no one to get another drink from! Some food was good but mine and another's was burnt.. We had desert with the gravy left over from dinner beside us! Poor, staff nice but no clue what they are supposed to be doing!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluesin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Friendly staff, great food and the rooms are luxurious, clean and modern (as is the entire hotel). We did not encounter any of the issues other reviewers seem to have had with staff. Free parking also. The hotel is a good base for anyone looking to explore Wicklow, just dont expect views of rolling hills etc from your window as you are more likely to be looking at a Dunnes Stores.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irish1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Stayed at this hotel with my partner mid week in February, Reception area and greeting very "relaxed" and somewhat informal but efficient none the less. Rooms very spacious, bright, balcony overlooking the park and the wonderful sound of a rushing river from the wicklow mountains throughout our stay. All important tea/coffee making facilities, toiletries and crisp, immaculate bed linen on an amazing kingsize bed made this three star hotel seem more like a luxury 4 star. Dinner on our 1st night was really great with a surprisingly extensive menu and great value in wine(12e per bottle).Staff were very helpful and friendly.Location,facilities and attractions in area very good.
Definitely going back to stay

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryCCCarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtown Mount Kennedy
3.5 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,085 reviews
1.4 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,165 reviews
18.7 mi away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Martello Hotel
7.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
6.6 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview Hotel

Address: Parkview Hotel Main Street, Newtown Mount Kennedy Wicklow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Newtown Mount Kennedy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newtown Mount Kennedy
Price Range: $60 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Parkview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkview Hotel Newtownmountkennedy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing