We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“review”
Review of Parkview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parkview Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We stayed the night before our function. There was another function on that night. We were placed above the function room and very quickly we asked to be moved as it was very noisy. the night porter was very quick and we were given another room no hastle and without any argument. We slept very comfortably in our new room.
Restruant was lovely, staff very attentive. Breakfast had loads to choose from.

Room Tip: ask not to be placed near the function room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 524 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2011

I didn't stay but stopped in for lunch and don't know why I bothered! It was far too warm, no ac and all windows firmly shut! Service at first was fast and friendly, that's where it stopped! Plenty of staff but no one to get another drink from! Some food was good but mine and another's was burnt.. We had desert with the gravy left over from dinner beside us! Poor, staff nice but no clue what they are supposed to be doing!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluesin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Friendly staff, great food and the rooms are luxurious, clean and modern (as is the entire hotel). We did not encounter any of the issues other reviewers seem to have had with staff. Free parking also. The hotel is a good base for anyone looking to explore Wicklow, just dont expect views of rolling hills etc from your window as you are more likely to be looking at a Dunnes Stores.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irish1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Stayed at this hotel with my partner mid week in February, Reception area and greeting very "relaxed" and somewhat informal but efficient none the less. Rooms very spacious, bright, balcony overlooking the park and the wonderful sound of a rushing river from the wicklow mountains throughout our stay. All important tea/coffee making facilities, toiletries and crisp, immaculate bed linen on an amazing kingsize bed made this three star hotel seem more like a luxury 4 star. Dinner on our 1st night was really great with a surprisingly extensive menu and great value in wine(12e per bottle).Staff were very helpful and friendly.Location,facilities and attractions in area very good.
Definitely going back to stay

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryCCCarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

the room was suitable, it was clean and the bed was comfortable and large. However, the water in the bath and shower was only tepid so that was quite disappointing. Also, my partner and myself ordered breakfast in bed on both mornings and on the first morning we received our breakfast with no beverages. Also when we arrived, i asked about the dinner voucher for sinnotts restaurant and was told that when we wanted to use it we could do so between 6pm and 10pm but when we came down on the Sunday night to use it we were told that the sinnotts was shut since 7pm!!!! so we had to eat in the bar and the food wasn't very nice, my partner had steak and could barely get his teeth through it it was so tough, i had duck with noodles and the noodles were severly overdone. i really just enjoyed the bed to be honest - the deal we got was 168 euro for two nights b&b and one dinner, reduced from almost 300 euro, would definitely not pay that for the stay. In relation to the staff, the check in staff were friendly and the one lady (forties/fifties) waiting tables in the bar was very pleasant, one younger girl in the bar was simply going through the motions and she didn't try to hide it! Overall, i was a bit disappointed with the experience.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MollyWillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

On the 31st of December i attended the parkview. My family and i were attending an after wedding in the parkview and were staying there. We arrived early with the attention of getting our dinner. We seated ourselves on arrival, we had to get our own menus. They were very short staffed with just one girl on . This was ridiculous as it was new years eve and it is expected tio be busy. We had to ask for the waitress to take our order, she said she'd be back she was busy. This was understandable but a bit rude the tone used. Another person asked the lady to take their order after us also, she hadn't got time and sent another server over, still leaving us waiting! W e eventually ordered but the waiting time exceeded 25mins! Our food arrived we got cod and steak. The steak was lovely put the plate was covered in grease, the cod as promised in the menu was meant to be covered in a crispy bear batter, instead it was pale and the batter was soaked and soft. Th chips were so greasy each time you touched them you had to wipe the grease off your hands. We sent the cod and chips back, at this stage rushing to have time to get ready for the wedding. The cod and chips came back, the chips were the exact same and coated in a mountain of salt which was not preferable to everyone. The cod wasn't much better but time was short so we made done. Having worked in the restaurant industry myself this was not what i was expecting from a four star hotel.The meal was not enjoyable at all , the redeeming factor was the kindness of a waitress who had just came into work as this was happening. I would recommend this hotel to stay in but not to eat.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Some of the staff were lovely, most were horrible. I am in a wheelchair, when I asked to use the disabled toilet, It was locked. I was an inconvenience to the staff because of my condition. When I did get to use the toilet,my wheelchair didn't fit. I had to get up from my wheelchair and struggle to use the toilet. Where is health and safety? Food wasn't great, no selection. When I did complained, the staff didn't care. It is as if they are just used to people complaining and have come used to working in a sub standard hovel. Avoid this place with all costs

Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
Thank Stephenmacmahon27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtown Mount Kennedy
3.5 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,056 reviews
1.4 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,090 reviews
6.9 mi away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
7.6 mi away
The Martello Hotel
18.7 mi away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview Hotel

Address: Parkview Hotel Main Street, Newtown Mount Kennedy Wicklow, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Newtown Mount Kennedy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newtown Mount Kennedy
Price Range: $65 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Parkview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkview Hotel Newtownmountkennedy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing