We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely place”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

After staying in the druid’s glen I must say reception staff was very professional and more than help full
Staff in restaurant was lovely and also very well mannered
Floor staff at bar really nice as well
Bar person very ignorant I found and not at all engaging.
Music in bar was one man show but he was very good singer and enjoyed him
The location was breath taking and next time I would love to play on their beautiful golf course.
The evening meal was nice but I would not say the best I have eaten I am glad it was part of the deal because if it was not the, prices they were charging was way over what the food was worth.
Breakfast I must say was beautiful and I enjoyed it.
my wife really enjoyed the spa
The room we stayed in was very clean as was the hotel but I think it is boarding on been a little dated
Shower was not a power shower which you would expect in a 5* resort
Over all I must say I loved the hotel but if it had a few minor little twiks and it would take to another level

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Defter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicesadvisor, Guest Relations Manager at Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Defter,

Thank you for your excellent review of Druids Glen Resort. I appreciate your compliments regarding the standard of service that you received at our resort as well as the quality of our golf courses. We are in the process of a full bedroom refurbishment, a number of which are already complete.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Druids Glen very soon.

Kind regards,

Duncan McAlpin | Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,336
    441
    158
    63
    20
See reviews for
648
780
12
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed at Druids Glen in early July with my wife and 2 x boys aged 10 &12.
Stayed on the second floor in room 215, which was fabulous.
The room was very spacious, and clean, staff installed a dvd player for the boys and let them use the dvd library.
They then found the great games room, with air hockey, table football and arcade machine all free to use, wow the boys were well impressed.
The pool is great. Staff very helpful and food excellent especially in the restaurant, although bar food is also good, but dishes even though the same were not as good as the restaurant.
Over all excell resort hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicesadvisor, Guest Relations Manager at Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Brian C,

Thank you for posting your excellent review of Druids Glen Resort. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. You have described many of the amenities that makes Druids Glen such an attractive destination for a family holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back to Druids Glen very soon.

Kind regards,

Duncan McAlpin | Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Loved this hotel, it is in a beautiful area and has two golf clubs. We played in the one that is just up the road, everyone so nice. We had something to eat afterwards in the clubhouse,it was excellent. The hotel is very comfortable, bedrooms are very spacious and big bathrooms. The main restaurant is also very good, great food and excellent service. I would love to go back and highly recommend for a golf break or just a relaxing break.

Room Tip: they are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbarasweetman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicesadvisor, Guest Relations Manager at Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear barbarasweetman,

Thank you for posting your excellent review of Druids Glen Resort. I am very pleased that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us including your round of golf on the wonderful Druids Glen Golf Course. I appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Duncan McAlpin | Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Recently home after a four night stay with our three children. The hotel location is excellent for touring the beautiful Wicklow area. We had interconnecting rooms on the third floor which were perfect for the five of us. Found the reception, concierge & housekeeping staff to be superb - all queries were dealt with efficiently, & all with beaming smiles! Breakfast was excellent despite the large numbers at peak times. Our only negative was with the evening meal in the restaurant. We had two evening meals included in our package but opted not to have the second as we were so disappointed with the children's meals on the first evening. Choice was either spaghetti bolognese or chicken gougons, & both options had definitely been left sitting for far too long! Our eldest chose steak from the al la carte menu, & although this was perfectly cooked, the presentation, accompaniments, etc were just a bit too fussy for a young teenager. This type of children's buffet may be acceptable for very young children, but those eight & over will be disappointed. We would definitely return to Druid's Glen, but would eat our evening meal elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afamilyoffour1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicesadvisor, Guest Relations Manager at Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear familyoffive12345,

Thank you for posting your review of Druids Glen Resort. I appreciate your compliments of our front desk and housekeeping team. I am very pleased that you received such efficient and optimistic service. Thank you also for your feedback regarding your meal in Druids Braserie. I am sorry that you were not happy with the choice of meals available on the children's buffet. We will always do our best to accommodate any culinary and dietary requests that our guests have and we would have been happy to offer a number of alternatives from our children's menu to your family. I hope to welcome you back to Druids Glen in the near future and also hope that you choose to dine with us in Druids Braserie as our kitchen team take great pride in the standard and quality of food that they produce.

Kind regards,

Duncan McAlpin | Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Stated at this resort over the August bank holiday weekend. Room rate was good, but food and drink at the resort were a tad expensive. This was my third visit to the resort. I felt that the standard of service had dropped since my last visit approximately 5 years ago. The five star feel was lacking. Bar food menu is basic and pricy.

As I live approximately an hour from the resort I would consider visiting again for a last minute get away.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swordsdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicesadvisor, Guest Relations Manager at Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Swordsdude,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Druids Glen Resort. I am pleased to read that you had a relaxing experience at Druids Glen but I am also disappointed that you feel hat standards have dropped at our resort. since your previous visit. We aim to continually improve our product by offering great value and exceptional levels of service. Should you wish to discuss your stay any further please feel free to contact me directly. I hope to welcome you back to Druids Glen very soon.

Kind regards,

Duncan McAlpin | Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just back from Druids Glen. Recently fractured my ankle so had to holiday at home.
Our family of two adults & two teenagers 13 & 15., stayed in an executive suite, (very affordable) for three nights.
Great space, great idea. Kids had their own television, roll out beds, & toilet plus storage. Dividing doors allowed privacy.
Dined two nights at hotel on package-three course meal. Delicious food, absolutely faultless.

Pool was spotless . There were Bicycles for use, kids said wheels bit flat but had great cycle around hotel grounds. DVD players and lots of movies to watch in the evenings, all free to use in our rooms. Putting range was a great hit with the boys. €10 for 50 or 100 golf balls, cannot remember which. We also spent a super day at Clara Lara which is short drive from here.
But what makes this hotel is the staff. Each and everyone of them could not have been kinder or more helpful, with lots of knowledge of the Wicklow areas.

I have to say we were blown away by this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicesadvisor, Guest Relations Manager at Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Rosfly,

Thank you for your excellent review of Druids Glen Resort. Wicklow has a lot to offer in terms of scenic beauty and attractions for visitors. It is refreshing to read such wonderful compliments regarding holidaying in Ireland and particularly at Druids Glen. I will pass your compliments on to the team. I hope to welcome you and your family back to Druids Glen Resort very soon.

Kind regards,

Duncan McAlpin | Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I would say in our Ireland trip..stay at Druids Glen was one of the best...great place....nice rooms...great Golf course ...kids loved it...nice time for kids in the pool...I had a great time in Golf Course...and absolute value for money....2 days stay + golf game for about Euro 300 was absolute worth it...incl great Break Fast...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhijit13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicesadvisor, Guest Relations Manager at Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Abhijit13,

Thank you for posting your wonderful review of Druids Glen Resort. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Druids Glen very soon.

Kind regards,

Duncan McAlpin | Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.0 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,013 reviews
1.4 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
500 reviews
18.0 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Martello Hotel
6.6 mi away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
7.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort

Property: Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Address: Newcastle Road, Newtown Mount Kennedy, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Newtown Mount Kennedy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newtown Mount Kennedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our five-star hideaway and submerge yourself in the tranquility of Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort. Here nature and luxury meet to create a memorable escape. Nestled in 400 acres between the Wicklow Mountains and the Irish Sea, yet only thirty minutes from Dublin, Druids Glen provides a sanctuary from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Experience our authentic Irish hospitality, allow us to take care of you while you soak up our wonderful surroundings, settle into our pace of life and enjoy the warm, attentive service from our expert team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Druids Glen Hotel Newtownmountkennedy
Druids Glen Marriott Hotel Country
Newtownmountkennedy Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing