We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting little village but not for me”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting little village but not for me”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Myself and husband stayed here revently for a two night get away. I was intetested in using the spa but most of the facilities were not availabe due to bad weather. We were delighted when we got 100 euro vouchures on arrival. I loved the idea of the hotel being right in the middle of a little village but found it difficult to sleep, not sure if it was the bed or it was just me. I would recommend this place if you just want a relaxing break only

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I-like-to-travel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    241
    107
    56
    44
See reviews for
144
533
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bettystown, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Brooklodge definitely hit the spot. Looking for a quiet night away and some R&R we were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is in the middle of no where, so don't be expecting a mad happening spot but to relax and unwind it is bang on the money.

The Strawberry Tree dinner was one of the nicest she'd had in a while, and she is fussy so that speaks volumes! Service was attentive and the food was gorgeous. Sure, you can't go wrong with a "chocolate plate"!

Hotel itself is kind of country house, without the pretentiousness and pomp, being warm and friendly instead - even the resident dogs who like an afternoon nap by reception. Room 56 certainly didn't disappoint, large and comfortable and everything you need. TV was a bit bizarre being controlled by a computer - couldn't hook up the iPOD but not sure if you were meant to anyway. Bath was seriously comfortable.

Overall, would definitely recommend and come back for another visit for a similar price when the hustle and bustle becomes too much. Thanks Brooklodge :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chopsmiaow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Lovely location, food & rooms. I had a couple of overnight stays at Macreddin Village and loved it every time. The food is just gorgeous and the ambiance in the place is lovely. The lounge area is very comfortable for relaxing with a bottle of wine and good chats.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnamw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here more in curiosity than expectation on Sunday last April 7th. Hidden away in County Wicklow,near Aughrim this is worth finding. Although the pool area was closed due to flood problems it did not spoil our stay,which was pure relaxing. It is a lovely hotel for hill walkers or golf or just been in the hearth of the country.The staff were all excellent. The food in La Taverna Armento was excellent . We will be back again in the next few weeks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place is like a little Irish village, they hold a farmers market once a month with all homemade food. The grounds have incredible scenery all around them. They have horse riding for those interested which is a great way to enjoy the views!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aisling M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Great wedding venue has own chapel and wedding area. A fairytail venue. Rooms spotless with welcome goodies you can purchase at their organic shop. Landscape perfect with brook, fishing golfing amenities. Staff great and very polite so helpful. food first class as was service. expensive hotel and miles from nearest town. if its the scenery and calm then its a must

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night on the 18th of March, it was pure bliss, so tranquil and relaxing. Our room was lovely and really quiet. We ate in the Italian restaurant and it was amazing, so gorgeous and all of the staff both in the hotel itself and the italian were all so lovely, really friendly.

We spent some time at the pool and it was fabulous there, we didn't get any treatments, but it was still extremely relaxing.

If you want some time away from everyday worries and stresses, this is it. I would highly recommend it and really want to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessbyrne13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macreddin Village
18.0 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
20.0 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
5.2 mi away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
17.3 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
9.4 mi away
Arklow Bay Hotel
Arklow Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Arklow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BrookLodge & Macreddin Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BrookLodge & Macreddin Village

Property: BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
Address: Macreddin Village, Near Aughrim | County Wicklow, Macreddin Village, Ireland (Formerly BrookLodge & Wells Spa)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Macreddin Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Macreddin Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BrookLodge & Macreddin Village 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Reasons you must visit BrookLodge Hotel & Macreddin Village: 1. We are a unique hotel in a unique village that offers guests an all-in-one opportunity to experience an Ireland that blends the best of old and new. Best Leinster Restaurant 2014, Culinary Hotel of the Year 2013, Hotel of the Year '09 & '10, and Business Hotel of the Year 2012. BrookLodge & Macreddin Village features an assortment of superb accommodation from classic country house style bedrooms through to state-of-the-art mezzanine suites.2. An extraordinary Organic & Wild food ethos means that Macreddin Village boasts the only certified Wild & Organic restaurant in Ireland - The Strawberry Tree. Another restaurant, a village cafe, a dining lounge, a country pub and an Organic bakery and smokehouse complete a matchless collection 3. An exceptional set of leisure facilities includes a fabulous Resort Spa, Macreddin Golf Course - designed by European Ryder Cup Captain, Paul McGinley, an equestrian centre, mapped walks and complimentary bicycles.4. Macreddin Village has a history dating back to the 5th Century, and is situated in a "Designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty", a remote Wicklow Valley, yet just an hour's drive from South Dublin. Surrounded by stunning countryside, our near neighbours include the world renowned beauty spot - Glendalough Monastic Settlement and Lakes, and The Wicklow Way - Ireland's premier mountain walking trail.5. Now is the time to avail of the lowest hotel rates in Western Europe, and visit Ireland, And nowhere offers a more rewarding and distinctive Irish experience than BrookLodge and Macreddin Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your BrookLodge & Macreddin Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooklodge & Wells Hotel Macreddin Village
Brooklodge And Wells Spa
Brooklodge Hotel
Brooklodge Wells Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village County Wicklow, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing