We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trooperstown Wood Lodge
Ranked #2 of 12 Laragh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We were looking for somewhere for our last night in Ireland and wished we had found this delightful place earlier. We were met with a warm welcome and showed to a lovely spacious annexe, beautifully equipped and fitted out. The little kitchenette had fridge, fresh milk, tea & biscuits etc. Wifi was excellent (nearly 10Mb). All very clean and a comfortable albeit a bit creaky. The gardens are spacious and well maintained. As mentioned elsewhere breakfast is in the village but this was not an issue and served until 1100. This was an absolute find and dog friendly. We are already planning a return visit for a longer stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    35
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
112
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Erica was amazing, so friendly, We were particularly impressed with the attention to detail, Irish literature in the reading room was very interesting, we loved the care and attention given by Erica. The restaurant was lovely, the shuttle service to the heather was much appreciated, great food, very romantic x

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usherpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Trooperstown Wood Lodge is an ideal base from which to explore the surrounding beauty of Wicklow. Situated outside the village of Laragh, the lodge is set back from the road amid an extensive and well-maintained garden, and affords fine views of the countryside. At the start of our recent four-night stay, my wife and I were the only occupants and were allowed to select our bedroom by the property’s manageress, a very welcoming, pleasant, and polite lady. We chose a room with en-suite facilities at the front of the house. The room was clean, tidy and well presented, but overly furnished, to the point of cluttering an otherwise spacious room – an observation that also could pertain to the rest of the property. Trooperstown is a big house, but the abundance of furniture and objet d’art can make it feel somewhat claustrophobic. But, that to one side, along with squeaky beds and loose sink taps, and the lodge provides a comfortable environment. Breakfast is taken at the nearby Wicklow Heather, a sister property in Laragh, where the food and service is to a good if not high standard. In addition, there is an efficient evening shuttle service between the lodge and the Wicklow Heather.

Would we return? Yes.

Worthy of particular praise is the manageress along with the local mechanic, Oliver. Soon after our overheating car limped into the lodge’s car park than the manageress had us in contact with Oliver, while trying to ply us with cups of tea to alleviate our stress. Between them, they could not have been more helpful in getting us back on the road. Thank you again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvD007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Where to start, greeted by a lovely Erica on arrival she could not have been more helpful. stayed in room 9 amazing room lots of space and comfort. bed a bit creeky is all. free chauffeur service to and from restaurant in village which was ran by same family and also lovely. cant recommend this place enough.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Niall F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, VA
Level Contributor
511 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

I loved this B&B! We were greeted by a bubbly, friendly lady. She admitted that she was not the owner, but was overseeing things while the owners were away. She was so nice and eager to help anyway she could.

There was tea, coffee and hot chocolate readily available, along with shortbread cookies. They were set out in a comfortable sitting room at one end of the hallway. At the other end was a small library, which was also very cozy.

The grounds were very nicely kept and we took a stroll around in the evening after dinner to see the flowers and enjoy the evening air.

Breakfast is served at Wicklow Heather, just down the road, which is a delicious restaurant owned by the same family. For dinner, they sent a car to pick us up and we enjoyed a nice dinner there too.

If I ever find myself in the area again, I'd be very happy to stay there again.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2014

A great place to stay for a party of people with friendly and accommodating staff, clean and comfortable accommodation and a shuttle bus service to the Wicklow Heather restaurant, which has quality food and outstanding service. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salterc125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Trooperstown Lodge in September of 2012. We were blown away with the hospitality of the owners. We loved that we were given privacy when we needed and they were always available to answer questions as well. Coffee was readily available even in the wee hours of the morning when we would leave for the day. I liked that the breakfast was off site because it gave us an incentive to start the day and get going. (It's too beautiful to stay inside, even if it is raining!)

A few things to know before you go, internet is available in the common rooms only, but it is very fast and we had no problems connecting, even for streaming such as Facetime with our family back home. Secondly, be prepared for breakfast off site, however, if you don't have time for a sit down breakfast they can usually arrange a light croissant or biscuit on your way out for the day. Just give them a day or two heads up. :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laragh
10.9 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
9.9 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
2.0 mi away
Glendalough Hotel
Glendalough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glendalough Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#4 of 12 in Laragh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pinewood Lodge
Pinewood Lodge
#3 of 12 in Laragh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trooperstown Wood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trooperstown Wood Lodge

Property: Trooperstown Wood Lodge
Address: Trooperstown | Co Wicklow, Laragh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Vale of Glendalough > Laragh
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Laragh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high in the spectacular Wicklow mountains among bed and breakfast guesthouses in Glendalough, Trooperstown Wood Lodge offers high quality affordable luxury guesthouse accommodation for up to 20 visitors at budget pleasing rates all year round.Idealistically situated just outside the picturesque village of Laragh, only minutes from Glendalough National Park and our acclaimed olde world restaurant The Wicklow Heather, Trooperstown Wood Lodge provides the perfect Bed and Breakfast Guesthouse accommodation location for tourists, people in need of a short country break, corporate and private functions and events.The Kenny family and their team are knowledgeable and very helpful hosts advising guests of everything they need to know about Glendalough and the surrounding area. Why not begin your visit with a browse through one of the guide books with a coffee in the lounge?Open all year round, we welcome visitors, tourists, children, out of towners in need of rest and recuperation and guests who come from every corner of the world to discover and experience the historical, cultural, spiritual and rich natural beauty of Glendalough and the Wicklow Way, and all the Wicklow Mountains have to offer every age group, interest and activity.The bedrooms which include some on the ground floor with easy access from the parking area, all have mountain or woodland views and are attractively decorated in a pleasingly simple style with thoughtfully finished en suite bathrooms and excellent power showers.All bedrooms have TV , DVD player. Broad band and tea and coffee making facilities are available in the lounge, an iron is available upon request and washing machines are available for laundry again upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Trooperstown Wood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trooperstown Wood Lodge Laragh, Ireland - Vale Of Glendalough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing