We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful”
Review of Tudor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tudor Lodge
Ranked #4 of 12 Laragh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2007

We had stayed in this guesthouse a few years back and had a good experience. Unfortunately, the same cannot be said for our experience last weekend. The property is under new management since the last time we stayed and we arrived to discover that they had lost our booking !
We made the booking over a month in advance, gave credit card details, contact details etc. We drove for over an hour in heavy rain to get there only to have to turn the car and go back home !
The management weren't at all apologetic, couldn't explain how it had happened, just said that it must have been a mistake ! They rang a number of other Guesthouses in the area, most of which were fully booked. The only place they could find us was over 2 miles away in the middle of nowhere, so we decided to pass. We had deliberately booked this particular guesthouse because it was within walking distance to a restaurant, pub etc.
So, needless to say, we had a very bad experience and would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Young-Dubliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 172 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2007

We stayed at the Tudor Lodge for 2 nights while touring Glendalough. The rooms were huge and comfortable with a rustic feel. The bathroom was a bit cramped but fine. The shower was great! Breakfast was good and included in the price. The garden and deck over the river in the back are very nice. Unfortunately it was too cold and rainy to enjoy. The location was good as long as you have a car. It is right up the road from the Lynhams Inn on the way to Rathdrum so it's not down in the tourist traffic jam on the Glendalough road. Road was narrow with no walking path so we never tried to walk into town even though the distance was short. I was expecting more of a family run B&B. Instead this is more of a family owned lodge without the same personal touch -- but all in all a comfortable place to stay.

We ate dinner at the Wicklow Heather Restaurant which was a short drive away and it was good. There are no ATMs in Laragh. The closest one is 13 km away in Rathdrum.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThriftyVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2007

The Tudor Lodge was a clean lodge with spacious rooms and wonderful customer service!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dannysdadSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2007

For anyone visiting the Wicklow Mountains, and particularly the old monastic city of St. Kevin's, my wife and I strongly recommend the Tudor Lodge. We arrived in Laragh, Glendalough looking for a place to stay close to the monastic ruins yet reasonably priced. After pricing the two hotels in close proximity to the monastary, we came upon the Lodge. It is in a beautiful location right around the corner from the monastary, the rooms are large and beautifully maintained, and the best part is that it cost us less than half of what the hotels were charging; and since it is a B&B, breakfast was also included.

We had a picnic next to the river which runs behind the lodge (B&B), and the owner could not have been more courteous and helpful to us.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rufus133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2007

Its a lovely house with some very nice features. We stayed in room number 7 and found it very quiet. However, we did feel that €90 for a double room was a bit excessive for a B&B. Breakfast was nice, with the little buffet on offer as well as a cooked breakfast. The advertised sitting room wasn't open to guests which was disappointing. If they lowered their prices we would consider staying there again.

Stayed: March 2007
Thank MeathCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2006

Nice building and the location is close to Glendalough, great staff and breakfast, BUT... the web site shows a living room that was closed off to guests while we were there (it seems to now be the owners' private living room). This means you are forced to stay in your small room instead of enjoying the full lodge. This was a disappointment, especially when the web site featured it. The floor boards are a might squeaky and loud guests will keep you awake as the rooms do not appear to be soundproofed.

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eirebuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2006

House is pretty and in great location but management are a bit strange. They seem to be new to the whole hospitality thing. The house is not sound proof and on both nights I was woken up by the management at approximately 2.30am as they bounded away up stairs on the wooden floors. On the second night I was also woken up by the manager receiving a phone call at 4.30am!! He was quite abusive on the phone which was disturbing. After the two nights I was happy to say goodbye to the place.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mrflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laragh
1.2 mi away
Glendalough Hotel
Glendalough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glendalough Village
563 reviews
8.7 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,061 reviews
74.6 mi away
Lynhams Hotel
Lynhams Hotel
#6 of 12 in Laragh
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pinewood Lodge
Pinewood Lodge
#3 of 12 in Laragh
151 reviews
2 mi away
Riversdale House
Riversdale House
#1 of 2 in Glendalough Village
186 reviews
1.1 mi away
Trooperstown Wood Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Lodge

Address: Glendalough, Laragh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Vale of Glendalough > Laragh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Laragh
Price Range: $111 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tudor Lodge Bed and Breakfast is located in Ireland's beautiful Wicklow Valley in historic Glendalough. It is the perfect choice for your next Irish Holiday. Tudor Lodge is only 1 hour outside Dublin, and as such it is an ideal centralised location for any visit to the East of Ireland. Tudor Lodge is nestled beside the Avonmore River and "Wicklow Way" and it is only 1km from the many attractions of the old monastic City of St. Kevin. The house is ideally situated to start your holiday taking in the local scenery, hill walks, wildlife, pubs, restaurants and much more. When you arrive we can make arrangements for local activities for you. We can make arrangements for Walking Tours, Nature Trails with experienced guides, Horse-riding, Restaurant reservations, Transport and more*. We will try our best to ensure that you experience everything that wonderful Glendalough has to offer. Far from being just a summer location Glendalough & Laragh have many all year round indoor activities, restaurants and pubs. The scenery changes spectacularly with each season and it has to be seen to be believed. The beautiful valleys are a great antidote to the strains and stress of everyday life. All guests are assured of our personal welcome and attention at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tudor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Hotel Laragh
Tudor Lodge Laragh, Ireland - Vale Of Glendalough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing