We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms and staff, but.....”
Review of Tudor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tudor Lodge
Ranked #3 of 12 Laragh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice rooms and staff, but.....”
Reviewed November 17, 2006

Nice building and the location is close to Glendalough, great staff and breakfast, BUT... the web site shows a living room that was closed off to guests while we were there (it seems to now be the owners' private living room). This means you are forced to stay in your small room instead of enjoying the full lodge. This was a disappointment, especially when the web site featured it. The floor boards are a might squeaky and loud guests will keep you awake as the rooms do not appear to be soundproofed.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eirebuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    41
    11
    9
    11
See reviews for
41
76
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2006

House is pretty and in great location but management are a bit strange. They seem to be new to the whole hospitality thing. The house is not sound proof and on both nights I was woken up by the management at approximately 2.30am as they bounded away up stairs on the wooden floors. On the second night I was also woken up by the manager receiving a phone call at 4.30am!! He was quite abusive on the phone which was disturbing. After the two nights I was happy to say goodbye to the place.

  • Liked — it's location
  • Disliked — the management
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mrflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montesano, WA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2006

Our family room at Tudor Lodge was spacious. The home itself is quite beautiful, and the grounds are pretty. The home is set on a small river. There is a wonderful patio area by the river to sit and watch the river or read. There is also a decent size yard with a bench swing. Our kids enjoyed spending time outdoors. I would highly recommend this B&B mainly for the peaceful setting.

  • Liked — The Setting
  • Tips/Secrets — Take advantage of the grounds
  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MomAndAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2006

I have stayed here many times and have seen many owners come and go. The rooms are pretty, spotless, great power shower and v generous tea and coffee facilities. The house is not sound proofed however and you can hear everything that goes on at all hours of the day. The area is fabulous with fantastic views and walks. The owners however are still as stressed as the were back in November, the lady is extremly nice and helpful but constantly dashing around to do everything herself.
We will return many times in the future, service is excellant

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dreamer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2005

This place is as pretty as the photographs from their website, but the lodge has new owners. When we stayed there, they had only been there 1 week and were very stressed out, as you can imagine. We were asked to pay cash because they couldn't get their credit card machine to work. We were also on the bottom floor and the creaking from the wood floors above us was really really loud and because everything is stone/wood, even with earplugs you could hear the creaking and muffled talking of other guests! Breakfast was excellent, but I think it was only served from 8 to 9:30 and we had to leave at 7:30 to catch our plane in Dublin so we didn't get any breakfast on the second morning.
However, if you are looking for an affordable, clean and very pretty place with amazing showers, coffee and tea facilities in your room, lovely gardens, a good location as a base for touring Wicklow, this is a good place. We felt sorry for the woman as she seemed so overwhelmed. Once the new owners get into a routine, there may be some Irish Hospitality in the future.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Soprrrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laragh
1.2 mi away
Glendalough Hotel
Glendalough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glendalough Village
492 reviews
10.8 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
1,986 reviews
11.7 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pinewood Lodge
Pinewood Lodge
#4 of 12 in Laragh
142 reviews
1.9 mi away
Riversdale House
Riversdale House
#1 of 2 in Glendalough Village
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Lodge

Property: Tudor Lodge
Address: Glendalough, Laragh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Vale of Glendalough > Laragh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Laragh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tudor Lodge Bed and Breakfast is located in Ireland's beautiful Wicklow Valley in historic Glendalough. It is the perfect choice for your next Irish Holiday. Tudor Lodge is only 1 hour outside Dublin, and as such it is an ideal centralised location for any visit to the East of Ireland. Tudor Lodge is nestled beside the Avonmore River and "Wicklow Way" and it is only 1km from the many attractions of the old monastic City of St. Kevin. The house is ideally situated to start your holiday taking in the local scenery, hill walks, wildlife, pubs, restaurants and much more. When you arrive we can make arrangements for local activities for you. We can make arrangements for Walking Tours, Nature Trails with experienced guides, Horse-riding, Restaurant reservations, Transport and more*. We will try our best to ensure that you experience everything that wonderful Glendalough has to offer. Far from being just a summer location Glendalough & Laragh have many all year round indoor activities, restaurants and pubs. The scenery changes spectacularly with each season and it has to be seen to be believed. The beautiful valleys are a great antidote to the strains and stress of everyday life. All guests are assured of our personal welcome and attention at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Tudor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Hotel Laragh
Tudor Lodge Laragh, Ireland - Vale Of Glendalough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing