We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip this place”
Review of Tudor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tudor Lodge
Ranked #4 of 12 Laragh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2008

A big part of the B&B experience is the hospitality of the owners. I didn't experience a great deal of it here. Although the rooms were a nice size and the property was pretty, this property is run more like inexpensive hotel than a B&B. The owners (especially the hostess) seem uncomfortable interacting with the guests.

The only time I saw the hostess was when she checked us in and when she was shuffling through the breakfast room, to her personal quarters, without stopping or saying a word to any of her guests while they ate their breakfast. The host was more friendly and if you happened to bump into him in the hallway he'd offer some ideas on what to see and do.

We booked almost 2 months in advance and yet were placed in a room facing the gravel parking lot . Our car stared at us inches from the window, while the rooms on the other side of the hallway with a view stood empty for days. The shower stopped working several times in the morning with no water coming out for 10 minutes or more.

Breakfast was advertised as "Full Irish" but no white or black pudding was found on the plate. Other than that it tasted fine and is included in the price.

They do have internet access, but the information we were given to connect was invalid (bad key).

A 2% additional charge was taken because we used our credit card (no other place we stayed did this).

There are plenty of nice places to stay in this area -- skip this one. It was by far our least favorite during our vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank votsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 171 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2008

I visited tudor lodge in April this year and I really enjoyed myself. The house itself is beautifully built in the tudor style. The owners are friendly and the rates are very competitive. The rooms are very spacious and very clean. There is a wonderful amount to see and do in laragh with it being a stone throw away from glendalough tower and the two kakes. Breakfast was very good with a wide variety to eat. Overall I had a brilliant stay here and will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sinz_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2008

Great location; great gardens, nice room. We stayed two nights, first one was fine but on the second night the creeking from people walking around in a room overhead was UNBELIEVEABLE. The people above where not walking excessively but the buildings sound proofing is faulty. I brought this up with the manager (very highly strung) the next morning and found him extremely unhelpful, he asserted that there was nothing he could do, blamed overweight guests upstairs (unreasonably, as far as I'm concerned) said nothing could be done about the building. If there is genuinely nothing Tudor Lodge can do about the soundproofing (my builder husband says there is), I suggest that they stop renting out these rooms at they are UNSUITABLE for guests. The manager repeatedly said there was nothing he could do, When I suggested he take 20 euros off our 200 bill for lack of sleep, he told me the story of someone else who'd asked for a reduction cause he couldn't work the shower - implying that I was just complaining to get money off, adding insult to injury. Believe me I wasn't. If the owners would like to contact me to discuss any of this, please check out my details in the visitor book on todays date, 15th June 08. Thankyou, Room 2.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank boohooyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2008

We really liked the quiet setting and rustic feel fo this property. The hostess was very nice. They had a "menu" in the room which consisted of food and a few selections of beer. However, when I asked for a beer, they did not have any. There were also "No Smoking" signs throught the house, but the house smelled clearly of smoke to me (I believe the hostess smokes in her living area). The backyard area was large and very beautiful with seating right on the river. Very quiet and relaxing overall with nice big rooms, esp. compared to other B&Bs!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lknj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2008

we have stayed a couple of days at this place and we are loocking forward to come back soon. We think that the B&B is wonderful and the owners have made everything it was in their hands to be helpful and nice. The rooms are very clean and huge, very confortable and quiet. Nice rustic fornitures. The breakfast was lovely. We highly recommend this place to everybody at any time. Very nice people and very nice place!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank anaotaduy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2007

We had stayed in this guesthouse a few years back and had a good experience. Unfortunately, the same cannot be said for our experience last weekend. The property is under new management since the last time we stayed and we arrived to discover that they had lost our booking !
We made the booking over a month in advance, gave credit card details, contact details etc. We drove for over an hour in heavy rain to get there only to have to turn the car and go back home !
The management weren't at all apologetic, couldn't explain how it had happened, just said that it must have been a mistake ! They rang a number of other Guesthouses in the area, most of which were fully booked. The only place they could find us was over 2 miles away in the middle of nowhere, so we decided to pass. We had deliberately booked this particular guesthouse because it was within walking distance to a restaurant, pub etc.
So, needless to say, we had a very bad experience and would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Young-Dubliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2007

We stayed at the Tudor Lodge for 2 nights while touring Glendalough. The rooms were huge and comfortable with a rustic feel. The bathroom was a bit cramped but fine. The shower was great! Breakfast was good and included in the price. The garden and deck over the river in the back are very nice. Unfortunately it was too cold and rainy to enjoy. The location was good as long as you have a car. It is right up the road from the Lynhams Inn on the way to Rathdrum so it's not down in the tourist traffic jam on the Glendalough road. Road was narrow with no walking path so we never tried to walk into town even though the distance was short. I was expecting more of a family run B&B. Instead this is more of a family owned lodge without the same personal touch -- but all in all a comfortable place to stay.

We ate dinner at the Wicklow Heather Restaurant which was a short drive away and it was good. There are no ATMs in Laragh. The closest one is 13 km away in Rathdrum.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThriftyVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laragh
1.2 mi away
Glendalough Hotel
Glendalough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glendalough Village
553 reviews
11.0 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,117 reviews
11.9 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Arklow Bay Hotel
Arklow Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Arklow
713 reviews
1.1 mi away
Trooperstown Wood Lodge
74.6 mi away
Lynhams Hotel
Lynhams Hotel
#6 of 12 in Laragh
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Lodge

Address: Glendalough, Laragh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Vale of Glendalough > Laragh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Laragh
Price Range: $105 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tudor Lodge Bed and Breakfast is located in Ireland's beautiful Wicklow Valley in historic Glendalough. It is the perfect choice for your next Irish Holiday. Tudor Lodge is only 1 hour outside Dublin, and as such it is an ideal centralised location for any visit to the East of Ireland. Tudor Lodge is nestled beside the Avonmore River and "Wicklow Way" and it is only 1km from the many attractions of the old monastic City of St. Kevin. The house is ideally situated to start your holiday taking in the local scenery, hill walks, wildlife, pubs, restaurants and much more. When you arrive we can make arrangements for local activities for you. We can make arrangements for Walking Tours, Nature Trails with experienced guides, Horse-riding, Restaurant reservations, Transport and more*. We will try our best to ensure that you experience everything that wonderful Glendalough has to offer. Far from being just a summer location Glendalough & Laragh have many all year round indoor activities, restaurants and pubs. The scenery changes spectacularly with each season and it has to be seen to be believed. The beautiful valleys are a great antidote to the strains and stress of everyday life. All guests are assured of our personal welcome and attention at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tudor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Hotel Laragh
Tudor Lodge Laragh, Ireland - Vale Of Glendalough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing