We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Bramble Rock

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laragh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bramble Rock
Ranked #1 of 12 Laragh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Great place”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in April 2013. A short walk to Laragh village. Clean spacious ensuite room with great shower. Fabulous breakfast with all tastes catered for and very friendly, helpful and accommodating hosts. highly recommended and would definitely stay again if Im returning to the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
111
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed in the Laurel room for one night the 22nd of february 2013. Everything was absolutely perfect ! The room is spacious and gorgeous and beds are really comfortable, Ann was also really friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was delicious. Furthermore, the B&B is really close to Glendalough (5 min driving).

Just one word: PERFECT.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariK07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Our stay in Bramble rock was our first night in Ireland and it wouldn't have been better. When we arrived Ann warmly welcomed us and sat with us in the garden offering us tea, coffee and biscuits. She suggested us what was worth a visit and the best path to choose for visiting the Wicklow mountains. Then we entered into our room and it was amazing. The rooms are all ensuite, new and very stylish and well furnished. The bed was very comfortable and the cleanness both in the room and above all in the bathroom was the highest we found. Breakfast was very good in a peaceful atmosphere. Thanks to Ann and Ger

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We really cannot say enough nice things about this Bed and Breakfast. We returned for a second visit and weren't disappointed. The breakfast was as pretty as a picture and as my husband is wheat intolerant, he was thrilled with Ger and Ann's coeliac friendly menu. I love the scenery of the surrounding area and the local walks are beautiful. The rooms are clean, modern and tastefully decorated and the heated towel rails in the bathrooms are such a nice touch. They cater very well for children and our girls were delighted to see the hen run in the garden and peep at Bruno the dog. I would highly recommend Bramble Rock to any type of traveler.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vikingbarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed in the Laurel room for two nights on a short trip to Ireland in October, 2012. Everything about this B&B was perfectly charming!
The room was beautiful, quiet, had an enormous bathroom, and a lovely view.
Breakfast was delicious, with farm fresh eggs from Ann and Ger's backyard chickens and delicious dressed-up versions of traditional Irish foods.
But the best thing about this B&B is the genuine joy the owners clearly find in getting to know their guests and helping them to have a wonderful time during their stay. For example: Ann gave us great recommendations for hiking routes in Wicklow National Park and personally drove us to the restaurant for dinner on a rainy night.
I highly recommend staying at Bramble Rock for a quiet retreat in the Irish countryside.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Wonderful bed and breakfast! It's comfortable and clean. Ann and her husband are really kind. Great breakfast, and you can go walking to the village for dinner. Really well situated to explore the Glendalough Valley. Completly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Macarena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I (ages 80 & 70) arrived at Bramble Rock having flown for 16+ hours from San Diego, having driven a couple hours down narrow roads (on the 'other' side of the road) and were exhausted. We couldn't possibly have had a warmer welcome from Ann. The room was large, beautifully furnished and decorated, and very airy and light. The bathroom was new, modern with a great shower. We hit the very comfortable bed for several hours and revived enough to head out for dinner. Ann directed us to the Wicklow Heather where I had my old stand-by, a BLT, and my husband had the best seafood chowder he'd ever had. (See our review on the Wicklow Heather, best food we had in Ireland.) We were there for two nights as we explored amazing Glendalough (not to be missed). Ann's breakfast were wonderful, other guests were friendly. She helped us get in touch with relatives we'd never met before and made reservations at the Wicklow Heather for all of us for 'Sunday lunch', as it was Sunday and would be crowded. Ann welcomed us all back with a cup of tea. This was our 4th trip to Ireland, always staying in B&Bs and Bramble Rock was one of best we've ever stayed in, not only in the physical environment but also in the hospitality. We highly recommend it!!

Room Tip: Upstairs corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 258Donna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laragh
11.4 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
1.4 mi away
Glendalough Hotel
Glendalough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glendalough Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
10.5 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pinewood Lodge
Pinewood Lodge
#3 of 12 in Laragh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#4 of 12 in Laragh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bramble Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bramble Rock

Property: Bramble Rock
Address: Laragh East, Laragh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Vale of Glendalough > Laragh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Laragh
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bramble Rock is a family run B&B situated 350 metres from the centre of Laragh village up a quiet road past St John's Church. While staying at our home we hope that you relax and enjoy our hospitality and make the most of all that Laragh and Glendalough have to offer within walking distance. We have views over Trooperstown from two of the rooms and Derrybawn from another room. You can relax in our living room area and read any of the books we have available or just listen to the birds singing. All our rooms are en-suite and spacious. Two of them can accommodate a family. A good night's sleep is guaranteed in our comfortable beds. Each morning we invite you to choose from our tasty breakfast menu and enjoy home-cooked bread and local produce. We can also cater for special dietary requirements too. The Duffy family look forward to welcoming you to our home for what we hope will be the first of many visits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bramble Rock Laragh, Ireland - Vale Of Glendalough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing