We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Lynhams Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lynhams Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Laragh B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful two night stay here this week .
The rooms were lovely and spacious . The staff were fantastic , really helpful and friendly. The atmosphere In the bar was great with wonderful bar service. The food was yum and the location is perfect . Can't wait to go back , next time I'll stay an extra night

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 149 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2014

Well we and a couple of or friends went on a two night break ,absolutely faultless,on arrival we where asked what we would like in our packed lunch for the next day ,we gave or choices and the next day after breakfast we got them from the bar,we in joyed these down on the river that afternoon ,we where on motorbikes which where nice and safe down behind the hotel ,the staff are all lovely and nothing was any bother ,the food is lovely so we ate there on both nights ,you could not fault anything ,rooms lovely and clean and fantastic large beds ,with lovely linen sheets and pillows,we wil go back again as soon as we get a chance

Room Tip: The rooms at the back face the river and if you like the sound of the river you are elected
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davey115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed two nights, B&B in a "delux room" on a 'voucher deal'. We also dined one night in the bar/restaurant.
This is an old style Lodge/Inn located in the centre of the village of Laragh. It appears that a large part of it's business comes from the bar/bar food rather than the room sales. However, having said that our room was top class, The room décor & facilities were faultless. The only negatives being a squeaky floor & noisy generator in the background.
We used the hotel as our base while spending a few days walking & playing golf. It is ideally located for these activities and for visiting the Glendalough heritage site. The availability of a massage chair free of charge was a nice surprise after a days hiking/walking.
There is organised music most Friday & Sat nights and on occasion local musicians hold informal "sessions" in the bar. We had the pleasure of one such session during our stay.
We both had steaks the night we dined in the hotel bar. Medium rare, perfectly cooked with a nice selection of side to complement. A good wine list was available. The breakfast was a little disappointing but adequate. Staff did respond positively when asked for items not on display in the buffet.
If its choice you seek, there are a number of other dining options within easy walking distance from the hotel. Indeed, the hotel has a very nice coffee shop next door for snacks.
Reception staff were very friendly and helpful with any requests (e.g. luggage storage) we had. The staff in the bar/restaurant appear under pressure on the night in questions but we had no major complaints.
A very enjoyable & comfortable stay for the few days we spend.

Room Tip: We stayed in a "Delux room" to the front of the hotel on the first floor. The 'generat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrelandSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We didn't stay at this in but rather stopped by for lunch while in the Wicklow mountains. The carvery menu is very good. I had the beef Guiness stew and my husband had the pork and vegetables. This is a good stop.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank heatherbgale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Spent 2 nights there recently and we were so pleased with our choice. We checked in on a Sunday and to our surprise there were having music later on in the evening in the pub...fun & lively. Our room was 108 by the river which was so soothing to go to sleep by with the window open. It is at the end of the hall in the back of the hotel riverside. Food in the pub and the restaurant for breakfast was excellent. The staff was very welcoming, the hotel was clean & bright. The location of the hotel is in walking distance to Glendalough Park, fantastic walk. I would stay again at Lynhams!!

Room Tip: by the riverside , #108
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FloridaTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed two nights in this hotel. Staff could not have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Everyone was very friendly, great to have friendly staff on reception when you arrive after a long days driving. Room was large and clean, had view over river which was lovely. We had meal in the bar one nigh and the meal was very good, and we had the packed lunch deal the following day which was very tasty and great if you are going walking. We will definately good back here if staying in this area again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MFH17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Spent a relaxing few days at Lynhams where the warm friendly staff made us feel very welcome. The hotel is comfortable, clean and the food is delicious. The rooms are spacious with all you need. It is well situated for those who enjoy walking holidays with Glendalough National Park nearby where those from the enthusiastic walker to the simple stroller can find a route to follow.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerblack58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laragh hotels
74.6 mi away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#4 of 12 in Laragh
172 reviews
75.6 mi away
Trooperstown Wood Lodge
74.8 mi away
Pinewood Lodge
Pinewood Lodge
#3 of 12 in Laragh
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynhams Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynhams Hotel

Address: Glendalough, Laragh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Vale of Glendalough > Laragh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Laragh
Price Range: $134 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lynhams Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lynhams Hotel Laragh, Ireland - Vale Of Glendalough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing