We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lynhams Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lynhams Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Laragh B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend stayed on a Living social two day break at this hotel and i can honestly say it was one of the best hotels we have stayed in(if not the best). We stayed for 2 nights fom 16th- 18th Sept. From the moment we arrived till our departure we were treated with the utmost courtesy by reception staff , Dining staff and Bar staff. The food was delicious both for dinner and breakfast. we stayed in a double room which was big and spotless, the bathroom was immacculate(sorry i didnt take a photo. AS it was mid sept and a bit chilly in mornings and evenings we turned on radiators in room and in seconds it was boiling(a nice touch as in some hotels we have found radiators to be on timers) A fantastic stay and we will be back.

Room Tip: none as i would say all rooms are as good as one we stayed in
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiamC209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    57
    24
    7
    9
See reviews for
22
83
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with a deal voucher in early September. The room was clean and spacious. The bar was nice and we ate on in the restaurant on the second night. It's typical Irish food well prepared and presented. (We had the beef and Guinness stew and the special burger). The staff were very nice.

Where our experience was made special was from two incidents of great customer service in particular: On the second day we came back from a looong walk and after we had forgotten to take our prepacked lunch with us. The girl at reception was kind enough to prepare it for us there and then. On the last day we missed our bus and Ciara, who works there, got us out of a serious jam by giving us a lift into Bray. Thanks you so much xx.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnG1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Enjoyed a pleasant stay here recently. Room was a large charming and very comfortable place, service was friendly and helpful, food was fine but could do with more choices on the menu. It was an ideal spot for hiking with glendalough and the Wicklow gap nearby, all in all a nice place to stay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oja64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon France
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Staying in a Laragh B&B, our hostess adviced us Lynhams Jake's bar for our dinner, and we really enjoyed the welcome, the service and the tasty food.
The prices are very reasonable and the choice on the menu is quite wide.
The friendly staff added to our wellbeing in this very pleasant village pub, and when we asked one dessert with two spoons because we had had enough, but still fancied the "death by chocolate" dessert, the waitress did it with a smile !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SylvieKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed in Lynhams last night. Rooms were amazing. Very spacious and comfortable! Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was delicious! Views from bedroom stunning. You could not fault any aspect of this beautiful hotel.Would highly recommend Lynhams. Cant wait to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We came out of the blue to Ireland and found the Lynham's of Laragh from one of those online deal things. We couldn't believe our luck. It's situated along a river and the room was just fabulous. We had a few beers in the downstairs pub and nothing seemed out of the ordinary. The staff were kind and courteous.

On our second night. we had dinner in the downstairs dining room. The service was OK but we had to wait a long time for them to clear the table. Not the end of the world. The food was fantastic. As my legally-married partner went to use the bathroom to wash his hands, one of the patrons said, "Poof." We were both so surprised that even my partner was unsure that he actually said it, but it set up such a bad mood. First, my partner could have easily kicked his butt, and second, were they seriously saying something so silly in this day and age in a country that frankly needed every tourist dollar, Euro or kroner they can get? Still, my partner does not say things lightly, and seeing how annoyed I was, tried to play it off. We're gay. Does anyone really still care?

We left shortly after and didn't return, my partner pleading that he might have heard it wrong and me ready to go the distance for such stupidity. 20 years ago it seemed normal. Now it was just harassment. We didn't return to the bar not for fear of our safety (again, my partner could have knocked him over with one blow, but hmm, we just don't do that in the 21st century), but mostly because it was just a stupid waste of time to argue with idiots.

I'm not sure how it reflects on the place, which we so thoroughly enjoyed, but after a really wonderful stay in Ireland, it set a seriously bad taste in our mouth and set the tone for our departure from Ireland. We will be hesitant to return to the whole country now. It's just sad that in this day and age that anyone still cares what people do in their private hotel rooms or lives.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aquaskaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed in Lynham's of Laragh for a Friday and Saturday night. I had always wanted to stay in this hotel as I often pass in on the way to Glendalough. Our stay did not disappoint. The hotel is very charming and old-style but very well maintained with some really nice stain-glass features in the some of the main doors. The double room we had was very big, quiet and with a nice view of the river behind. Everything was very clean and comfortable. Maybe the only improvement would be to change from sheets and blankets to duvets as this would make for a more comfortable sleep. Staff were lovely and the food and atmosphere in Jake's Bar excellent.Generally there is a very relaxed atmosphere in the hotel and I would highly recommend it both in itself and of course in it's gorgeous location only a mile or so from Glendalough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laragh
0.0 mi away
Glendalough Hotel
Glendalough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glendalough Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
4.4 mi away
Raheen House Hotel
Raheen House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Clonmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 6 in Clonmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
74.8 mi away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#4 of 12 in Laragh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hanora's Cottage
Hanora's Cottage
#1 of 1 in Ballymacarbry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
5.2 mi away
Glasha Farmhouse
Glasha Farmhouse
#1 of 10 in Waterford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynhams Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynhams Hotel

Property: Lynhams Hotel
Address: Glendalough, Laragh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Vale of Glendalough > Laragh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Laragh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Lynhams Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lynhams Hotel Laragh, Ireland - Vale Of Glendalough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing