We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Lynhams Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laragh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lynhams Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Laragh B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed in Lynham's of Laragh for a Friday and Saturday night. I had always wanted to stay in this hotel as I often pass in on the way to Glendalough. Our stay did not disappoint. The hotel is very charming and old-style but very well maintained with some really nice stain-glass features in the some of the main doors. The double room we had was very big, quiet and with a nice view of the river behind. Everything was very clean and comfortable. Maybe the only improvement would be to change from sheets and blankets to duvets as this would make for a more comfortable sleep. Staff were lovely and the food and atmosphere in Jake's Bar excellent.Generally there is a very relaxed atmosphere in the hotel and I would highly recommend it both in itself and of course in it's gorgeous location only a mile or so from Glendalough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    57
    25
    7
    9
See reviews for
23
84
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Providence, New Jersey
Level Contributor
154 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stopped here on the Wild Wicklow bus tour so we didn't know what to expect. The food was served cafeteria style so we knew exactly what we were getting so I liked that. The portions were ample and the food was good. We had the outside porch to ourselves on a beautiful sunny day so all in all it was quite pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Det963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Arrived with a LivingSocial voucher that was a wedding gift. Felt more like a burden then a guest at arrivals. Room was clean though bed was to single beds pushed together. Had dinner of vegetarian lasagna which must have been found at the bottom of a freezer, covered in cheese an microwaved. Tasteless. Only good point was a very friendly staff (except on arrival)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTobin68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Came here on the way to Glendalough, but the doors at the front were locked with no indication of opening hours. Tried the Glendalough Hotel but the tables were dirty and no sign of the staff trying to clean them so went back to Lynhams. Passed by 2 of the bar staff and sat down, waiting for service when one of them came over to our party to inform us it was a carvery so we all had to get up and march over to the carvery. Evidently there was a staffing problem as our food wasn't cleared off when we got our coffees so it was a bit cramped on the table, but 2 of the staff were doing their best while the other 2 behind the bar couldn't have cared less.
Nice bar/carvery, just change the 2 bar staff for 2 more welcoming and customer friendly bar staff..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hochi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Booked restaurant for my daughters confirmation and both families stayed together that night at venue.......risky!! Worked out so well not least because of the fantastic food, service and friendliness of everyone at Lynhams. Thank you very much everybody for giving my Daughter such a special Confirmation weekend :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a room beside the river if you like to fall asleep to the sound of a gentle flow babbling ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AecDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kildare
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

After taking the time to bring my friends to laragh and show them the scene's of wicklow and have a taste of the well known lynhams the food was awful i had the ham and it was the stuff you buy in the suppermarket which they slice and the one of my friends was waiting on a lasange for at least 30mins and then we order the merigue to be told there us none left then one of the waiting staff came back with our money and ask us where on the menu we had seen it we showed him and he just rub it of the board and we didnt even say sorry well i wont be taken any of my friends or clients there again plus there prices are off the wall for just pub food

Room Tip: higher rooms dont have any noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bernieKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laragh007, Manager at Lynhams Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your recent lunch here with us in our bar. Our hams are supplied to us from a local butcher who specialises in pork and bacon products. With regards to the wait for your lasagne we are very sorry for the delay we had been exceptionally busy. As for us no longer having the meringue nest available, we prepare our food as freshly as possible and on occasion for exceptionally busy days we can run out. We have discussed these issues with our bar and kitchen team as part of our process of continuous improvement.

As for our bar staff being unapologetic we are very surprised. Our bar staff are very friendly and we have received many comments praising there friendliness.

Overall I hope that in time you may reconsider dining in our bar, and should you be returning to Laragh in the future I invite you to contact me personally to ensure that your next visit is a most enjoyable one.

Yours sincerely,

John Lynham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Pretty little country pub which has a friendly and cosy athmosphere. The staff are helpful and the food is nice, not usually a fan of carvery but on this occasion was very happy with the choices and the quality

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherK20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laragh
4.2 mi away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 6 in Clonmel
397 reviews
74.8 mi away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#3 of 12 in Laragh
160 reviews
74.7 mi away
Pinewood Lodge
Pinewood Lodge
#4 of 12 in Laragh
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hanora's Cottage
Hanora's Cottage
#1 of 1 in Ballymacarbry
234 reviews
75.6 mi away
Trooperstown Wood Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynhams Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynhams Hotel

Property: Lynhams Hotel
Address: Glendalough, Laragh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Vale of Glendalough > Laragh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Laragh
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Lynhams Hotel Laragh, Ireland - Vale Of Glendalough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing