We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Gem in the Wicklow Hills”

The Wicklow Heather Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Laragh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $28
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Wicklow Heather Restaurant and is idyllically situated in the picturesque village of Laragh deep in the Wicklow Mountains, only minutes from the world renowned scenic and historic Glendalough, while the hustle and bustle of Dublin City is less than an hour away.A family run business, we will go the extra mile to ensure your time with us is enjoyable, whether you are joining us for breakfast, lunch or dinner, or staying in one of our luxurious guesthousesHomely comfortable surroundings with a friendly service are the order of the day at the Wicklow Heather Restaurant. Here the knowledgeable team offer you advice on the many local walks and trails. As a guest of the Wicklow Heather you can also avail of our free shuttle service to and from local bed and breakfasts, hotels and hostel.Please browse our site to find details of our service and how the helpful team at The Wicklow Heather can make your visit to Glendalough a unique and pleasurable experience. Should you require further assistance or to make a reservation, please contact us directly.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very good food and ambiance. Its a gem in the Wicklow countryside. Details such as the trinkets hanging on the ceiling and the medal on the restroom door make it a uniquely brilliant experience. I keep coming back to this restaurant.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Jimjamggggghhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,072)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 2,072 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I love this place but was blown away by the outstanding service by our waiter, a tall slim blond chap, I didn’t catch his name unfortunately but I think he was French. He was extremely professional and everything a waiter should be. Keep up the good work Monsieur :-) I also love that dogs are welcome on the patio area. Thank you

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shimick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After trekking through park of the Wicklow Way trail, it was a real delight to sit down to a beautiful multi-course meal here. We were kindly picked up and dropped off from our hostel which we really appreciated. The quality of the food and the plating made the evening very special.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pearheiress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020

We have been coming here for many years & have to say it's always worthwhile. The staff are always welcoming & friendly & service is excellent. The menus are quite extensive with a la carte & lunch menus available daily & we've always had a good meal, so keep coming back. Would definitely recommend a stop off her & we think it's the best in the area.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank C_and_H_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2020

After stumbling upon this place driving up to Glendalough, we thought this would be perfect for a bite to eat. The atmosphere was busy but pleasant and the staff found us seating straight away without a prior booking. Although the staff were friendly and the place was busy, we felt very pressured to order drinks and meals and were approached by multiple members of staff at different periods. The menu looked appetising so we ordered the soup and garlic mushrooms. The soup was adequate (very hard to get vegetable soup wrong) and the mushrooms were the strangest thing I’ve ever seen. I could only describe it as three large mushroom batter balls. They were incredibly bland and greasy!!! When the mains arrived (beef burger & chips and oriental chicken with salad) they both looked microwaved. The chicken was so dry and obviously pre-heated in a microwave. There was also grease dripping off the plate. The burger was nothing short of disgusting. Awful awful awful. Would have to say the worst meal I’ve had in Ireland. Very disappointing considering the reviews say otherwise. Maybe this was just a bad day for the chef. Would not recommend to anyone based on this visit.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Charli-loux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wicklow Heather Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Laragh, Vale of Glendalough
 
Laragh, Vale of Glendalough
 

Been to The Wicklow Heather Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing