We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

The Wicklow Heather Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Laragh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $29
Cuisines: Irish, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Wicklow Heather Restaurant and is idyllically situated in the picturesque village of Laragh deep in the Wicklow Mountains, only minutes from the world renowned scenic and historic Glendalough, while the hustle and bustle of Dublin City is less than an hour away.A family run business, we will go the extra mile to ensure your time with us is enjoyable, whether you are joining us for breakfast, lunch or dinner, or staying in one of our luxurious guesthousesHomely comfortable surroundings with a friendly service are the order of the day at the Wicklow Heather Restaurant. Here the knowledgeable team offer you advice on the many local walks and trails. As a guest of the Wicklow Heather you can also avail of our free shuttle service to and from local bed and breakfasts, hotels and hostel.Please browse our site to find details of our service and how the helpful team at The Wicklow Heather can make your visit to Glendalough a unique and pleasurable experience. Should you require further assistance or to make a reservation, please contact us directly.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Recently ate here for the 2nd time and it lived up to the memory of the 1st visit.

The pate starter was absolutely fantastic and the fillet steaks cooked to perfection. We had to send back the garlic potatoes that accompanied the steaks as the flavour was overpowering, leaving you tasting nothing but garlic (coming from 2 people who eat a lot of garlic!). There was no issue with this and the staff had some mashed potato out to us very quickly.

Nice touch with the complimentary Bailey's at the end of the meal.

Great service, friendly staff, excellent food, great location - will definitely be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank XshellyX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    997
    282
    51
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stopped here with 4 of us while touring Glendalough. What a great restaurant and staff! Lucky for us we happened upon it. We would recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OldLeos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Well worth a stop”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I take small groups to Ireland every year, and I make a point of including dinner here on every trip. They have a nice variety of starters, entrees and desserts, so everyone should have an easy time finding something they love. The waitstaff is friendly and attentive without "hovering." Service runs smoothly and food arrives in a timely manner. Their mushroom soup is the best I've found in Ireland!

For dessert, I highly recommend the banoffi pie or the hot chocolate profiteroles. Oh, wait, they also have wonderful creme brulee .... oh, and I mustn't forget to tell you about their delicious, warm apple, rhubarb & strawberry crumble with vanilla custard and ice cream. Do you see why it's worth a stop? The only problem is that it's hard to choose just one dessert....thank heavens some people are willing to share!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank suetvlnut2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
123 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Have been passing this restaurant for years thinking it was just a tea and cake cafe. What a surprise I got yesterday when finally entering the restaurant. The interior is really nice and homely and the food was just excellent. THe staff are very friendly and helpful. Had lamb and my wife had corned beef and both were eaten in with gusto as they tasted as good as any meal I have had in whenever. Really good portions and great taste. Am going back next week for the desert - had no room left yesterday.

All I can say is do not pass - go in and discover a real hidden gem

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donard, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful restaurant!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Having been very disappointed with a premises within two hundred meters of The Wicklow Heather my partner and I found it a truly delightful establishment, the friendly, professional staff, the ambiance, furnishings and most of all the really terrific food, perfectly cooked and presented. The four Paulo Tullio plaques on the wall say it all! Congratulations and thank you Wicklow Heather. We will be back!!

Alan

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alanaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wicklow Heather Restaurant also viewed

Laragh, Vale of Glendalough
Wicklow, County Wicklow
 
Laragh, Vale of Glendalough
 
Laragh, Vale of Glendalough
Rathdrum, County Wicklow
 

Been to The Wicklow Heather Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing