We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”
Review of The Hungry Monk

The Hungry Monk
Ranked #4 of 34 Restaurants in Greystones
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $45
Cuisines: European, Irish, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Family run restaurant and bistro established in 1988. Great food and ambience with an emphasis on fresh, seasonal and local produce. Multi award winning establishment with a HUGE wine list, over 700 listings!!!!!!
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

was over for the weekend,superb food could not fault anything,highly recommend,good atmosphere and exceptional service with a warm welcome

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andybreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    102
    43
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Second visit, just gets better.”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Friendly and pofessional greeting on arrival. Varied menu and wine list. The meal and service were outstanding. We were a bit woriied when we saw the restaurant had been extended, but no need to have worried. First rate place to eat.If you go to Greystones the Hungry Monk is the place to eat 10/10

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank rodericwellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“nice place for the gathering”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were welcomed by two very chatty gentlemen and seated at our table. The service was excellent. The steak was excellent, cooked just as I ordered it, medium rare, the fries were crisp and lovely. We did not have room for desert. I really wanted to try their bailey's cheese cake. So I asked the waiter for a small taste. I was delighted when he presented me with a slice, on the house. It was very good indeed surprising what you can make room for when it is good.

I was told to make sure and visit the ladies because the music is great. The music is piped in monks & nuns chanting very pleasant. It was a lively and welcoming place a favourite place for my sister and her family and I certainly would return again for a gathering. Thanks

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank philomenap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hungrymonk054, Owner at The Hungry Monk, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Philomenap,
Many thanks for your very kind words in your review on Feb 11th. I will pass on your very positive comments to the rest of the team and on their behalf may I say that we look forward to serving you in the near future.
Kind Regards from the Keown Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great venue , super food”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have been invited to this restaurant several times, and always look forward to the warm friendly atmosphere there. There is also a new part opened recently which is lovely ,but blends in well with the old. The food is excellent and the staff are very helpful . There is an monk theme to the place which is quirky but nice. The ambiance is great for a family get together , or dinner with friends. The prices are fair and I would consider it good value. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jocarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hungrymonk054, Owner at The Hungry Monk, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hi Jocarty,
Just a word of sincere thanks for your very kind review of the Hungry Monk. We really appreciate you taking the time and effort to write about your experiences of the restaurant and we look forward to serving you in the near future. I will pass on your kind words to the rest of the team.Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Upstairs is a rip-off”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I visited a few weekends ago. The place was half-empty. It used to be fine-dining (and retains the prices), but steaks were served pub-style, with chips, a grilled mushroom, 2 onion-rings and a half tomato!! The sauce was vinegary and cold. Pesto mash was nice but unexciting. Starters were good. The bill was absolutely staggering...almost €300 for 4 people (two courses, 1 bottle of wine)!
I haven't been to the Bistro since the waitress served us the (expensive) wine to taste while she was on the phone!!
Avoid the place...Vinos or Three Q's much better.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JJJJ55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hungrymonk054, Owner at The Hungry Monk, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear JJJJ55,
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review yesterday of the restaurant. I and the Keown family were saddened to hear that you had a negative experience recently and may I offer our sincerest apologies on behalf of the team. I thank you for your positive comments re the starters. I am a little baffled re the cost of the bill for 2 courses as our average spend here would be nothing like that?? I would be delighted if you could contact me anytime to discuss at info@thehungrymonk.ie.
Kind Regards Patrick Keown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hungry Monk also viewed

Greystones, County Wicklow
Greystones, County Wicklow
 
Greystones, County Wicklow
Wicklow, County Wicklow
 

Been to The Hungry Monk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing