We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a venue...”
Review of The Hungry Monk

The Hungry Monk
Ranked #3 of 34 Restaurants in Greystones
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $45
Cuisines: European, Irish, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Family run restaurant and bistro established in 1988. Great food and ambience with an emphasis on fresh, seasonal and local produce. Multi award winning establishment with a HUGE wine list, over 700 listings!!!!!!
County Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“what a venue...”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I was really suprise with the venue, food was ok, starter was burnt (2 startes ordered both burnt). main course was better. I would go back as atmosphere was nice.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BusyBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    102
    43
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spectacular food and service”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

While staying at the Ritz Carlton, Powerscourt, it is an easy cab ride to The Hungry Monk. I just returned from my 6th trip to Ireland (from the US). I love the Hungry Monk so much that I make it a point to eat there at least one time every trip. It is consistently the best meal I have while staying in Ireland. The staff are always attentive and friendly. The fish and vegetables are very fresh. The extensive wine list is superb and is reasonably priced. The ambiance and decor make this a cozy little hide out which I never want to leave. Somehow, they have managed to extend into a new addition without losing the cozy atmosphere. Bravo!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurie150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food with quirky monk picture”
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

My wife has gone here for years and they will never disappoint. Make sure to listen to the daily specials as these are usually very good value and superbly prepared. A fine wine list as well with some real gems to a good price.

Helpful?
Thank Kemalmbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“But, it could have been excellent !”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Went there recently.

Hadn't been in a good while.

Not sure about the "extra" bit that has been added. Has definitely affected the overall atmosphere.

Had what was called "Garlic Mushroom Salad", but which turned out to be Deep Fried Garlic Mushrooms, with a very small amount of watercress, as salad ! Hardly "Garlic Mushroom Salad" !!!

Then, I opted for the Scampi/prawns, which came in the SAME batter/breadcrumbs, as the mushrooms had ! They were nice, but if you put a mushroom and scampi down beside each other, you would be hard pressed to figure out which was which ! And, I ended up eating a lot of deep-fried stuff !!

Having said all of this, the wine was excellent, as was the service.

So, as I said above, it was good, but it could have been excellent !

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“From the moment you are greeted on your arrival to your departure the atmosphere and food is superb”
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

I really enjoyed my time at this excellent restaurant, I had a seafood starter which while the quantity was a little small, for the main course I chose the cod and it is a long time before did I have so fresh and tasty bit of fish.my partner had their homemade enormous burger. To finish I had a Gaelic coffee again served to perfection, as you sipped the hot whisky/ coffee through real cold thick cream.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hungry Monk also viewed

Greystones, County Wicklow
Greystones, County Wicklow
 
Greystones, County Wicklow
Wicklow, County Wicklow
 
Greystones, County Wicklow
Greystones, County Wicklow
 

Been to The Hungry Monk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing