We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 50th birthday celebration”
Review of Ballyknocken House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ballyknocken House
Ranked #1 of 1 Glenealy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Well what an amazing place to stay,beautiful surroundings,beautiful food,beautiful staff and beautiful house, very different from anything I have ever experienced.We were a party of 13 and nothing was a problem, they even put us in (grandma's) old kitchen and put a spread on to die for surrounded by the old features including the beautiful fireplace which was the original hub of the house. Food was first class with a touch of Ballyknocken class. If anyone is thinking of going my advise would be THINK no more just book it, I have no negatives at all to say about Ballyknocken House, so If you want something different this is it..
I would like to say a big thank you to all the staff (Amy) who was fantastic from the first booking date in July right through to October 19th Patty for the lovely welcome Sarah for the amazing service and unfortunately I can't remember the other two girls names:-( But most of all to Catherine for taking time to pop in and wish me a happy birthday and then presented me with her lovely book "The weekend Chef" signed with a birthday wish in it, that to me was so nice considering she had the launch of her new book the next morning.. (much appreciated Catherine) Now I have a thorn in my side as we never left a tip for the girls, please forgive us but we have decided we will be back and we will look after that matter... Thank you for the best birthday ever.. Ballyknocken nobody will come near what you have there.. Thank you again..

Rebecca Bell and her family all 13 of us..

Room Tip: I'd recommend the first room at the top of the stairs it overlooks the front garden and is big a...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallyknockenHCS, Owner at Ballyknocken House, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Rebecca

Thank you so much for your comment! It was an absolute pleasure having you and your wonderful family stay with us.
We are thrilled you chose to celebrate your birthday here and greatly appreciate your feedback.

Until the next time :)

Best Wishes

Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
There are newer reviews for Ballyknocken House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 157 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed in Ballyknocken for one night on a visit to the "Garden of Ireland". On arrival the house looks appealing and is in a rural setting but well signposted. We were met and shown to our room which was facing the side of the house with views of the rural landscape. The room had everything that we required and was old style with a free standing bath. We were then invited to the Drawing Room for tea and lemon cake. This was a welcome treat after the drive and the lemon cake was divine! Catherine Fulvio also popped in and said hello - welcomed us and was very pleasant. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - this is a quiet house with only a few rooms so for those wanting a night life this is probably not the place to go.Breakfast was enjoyable and again served by pleasant, friendly staff. All in all an enjoyable, relaxing stay in a tranquil setting.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancisLongford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallyknockenHCS, Owner at Ballyknocken House, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear FrancisLongford

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience of Ballyknocken.
It was a pleasure to meet you. We would de delighted to welcome you back again!

Warms Wishes
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have just returned from a weekend break in Ballyknocken with my Sister. What a wonderful experience it was! As other reviews have pointed out, if you are looking for Wi-fi, Spa treatments and blaring (boring) nightlife then perhaps a stay elsewhere would be more suited. If you are looking for a warm welcome, a comfortable stay in a lovingly renovated Victorian farmhouse and (plenty!) of home cooked food then this is your place. It is perfectly situated to explore the wonderful 'Garden of Ireland', and is so very beautiful and peaceful. We were shown to our room and then invited to enjoy tea and cake in the drawing room. Breakfast the next day was extensive and so tasty that we couldn't even manage lunch that day - we had eaten too much delicious food in the morning! After a day exploring we enjoyed a wonderful 4 course dinner, and (despite previous reviewers complaints) really enjoyed the cosiness of dining in a smaller room, we were able to meet and converse with our fellow diners which made for a very sociable affair. The next day we took part in a cookery class, which was so much fun and very accessible for cooks of all levels. The teachers (including the lovely Catherine herself) were more than happy to knowledgeably answer questions and impart tips along the way, and get stuck right in with preparing and cooking the meals. I really can't recommend the place enough, and we are already planning our return trip - thank you so much to everyone at Ballyknocken!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kinkajoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallyknockenHCS, Owner at Ballyknocken House, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Kinkajoo

We were delighted to have you and your sister stay with us.
I'm glad you enjoyed your weekend in Ballyknocken, we are very lucky to be surrounded by such beauty. Thank you for your kind comments we are so pleased you enjoyed our food and your cookery experience.

We look forward to welcoming you again!

Best Wishes

Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying in Ballyknocken House.
We arrived Friday afternoon and having showed us to our beautiful room Amy offered us tea/coffee and yummy lemon cake in the drawing room.
This room is filled with some great antique furniture and has a very welcoming feel to it.
We later enjoyed dinner having first had a glass of complimentary sherry in the drawing room as an aperitif and also meeting some of the other diners.

Dinner was excellent, rather a well cooked homely meal than a formal affair.
Catherine came to each table and spoke with everyone and made us most welcome.

We were booked in for 11.30 cookery course the following morning but beforehand the breakfast offered was of a very high standard with home-made granola, muesli on offer along with great scones and breads,cheeses and preserves and that was just the buffet- there was also hot food to savour.

our class" Recipes for the weekend chef" made up of 22 people was given by both Catherine and Ella and was great fun but also very informative.
They gave useful tips, were very down to earth and the few hours just went by so quickly.
Our group of 22 was made up of some really lovely people.

I would highly recommend Ballyknocken House , Catherine Fulvio and her team were so pleasant and friendly.

We look forward to returning.

Mary and Paul, Dublin

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallyknockenHCS, Owner at Ballyknocken House, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Mary

Thank you very much for you kind words and comments.
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and would recommend Ballyknocken House and Cookery School.
We look forward to yourself and Paul returning.

Kind Regards
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Go to Ballyknocken for the beautifully maintained Victorian farmhouse. Go for the comfortable room and sparkling bathroom. Go for the friendly and competent staff (thank you Amy), the perfect location for exploring Wicklow and the peace of the immediate surroundings. Go for the wonderful breakfast with melt in the mouth scones with orange butter and tasty jams - and the best French toast ever. Try to go for dinner on Friday or Saturday for a perfect break in one of Ireland's little gems. Whatever you do, go there. We hope to return and maybe learn how to make those scones!

Room Tip: Our room was No, 1 and it was perfect.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robswall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallyknockenHCS, Owner at Ballyknocken House, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Robswall

Thank you for your wonderful comment!
Its great to get such nice feedback about Ballyknocken. We would love to have you back to show you how to make our scones.

Best Wishes

Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed there for in April for Saturday night until sunday afternoon. - See Michelle H review. It was a great experience.
My highlights were:
- the staff were so friendly and obliging - cooks, Catherine Fulvio and Madelaine
- I needed to bring prepared meals and was facilitated with this
- we weren't rushed out of our room the next morning
- plenty of hot water for our showers
- original, old house with lovely old furniture
- comfortable bed
- great way to bond with other hens over the cookery class as we just had to 'work' together
I'd have no hesitation in recommending this weekend venue.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thosedancingdays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallyknockenHCS, Owner at Ballyknocken House, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear thosedancingdays

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate all feedback. I will be sure to pass your compliments to the entire team here & in particular to those that you have mentioned by name.

We do hope that you will visit us in the near future & we will look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards

Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I had booked this shortbreak back in December as a quiet getaway for my wife and I. It has been a few years since we have had the oportunity of being away together without our children and we were looking forward to it greatly. I had a look at Trip Advisor on the Thursday before heading down on the Friday. Some of the older reviews which were quite negative gave me some concern but on we went.

We arrived at about 4pm when we were greeted by Amy who was welcoming and helpful. She showed us our very nice room and invited us to come down to the drawing room for coffee and cake when we were ready. Ballyknocken had a party of 14 coming for dinner that evening and as we had been informed of this in advance we had made a reservation in Hunter's Hotel for dinner. Amy organised our Taxi so we had a nice meal there.

On Saturday morning we had a champagne breakfast in our room which was lovely. By 11 we were ready to tackle the "Cnock" the hill/mountain that backs on to Ballyknowken. We walked out through th back garden and off we went up and up an up. We were blessed with the weather and walked in warm sunshine while the rest of the Country was being pelted with showers. We had requested a picnic to be packed and hungry again we sat on a rocky outcrop overlooking the farmland and sea beyond whie we ate what was easily the best picnic I've ever had. Delicious chicken salad sanwiches, very tasty hot soup, cheese, fruit, a sneaky glass of wine each, tea, coffee and cake. It's great to eat very good food in beautiful surroundings when you are hungry after a good walk. Thankfully the picnic bag was lighter on our descent.

The late afternoon was spent relaxing before the next gastronimic event which was the set dinner at Ballyknocken. The guests asembled in the drawing room/lounge at 7.15 for a glass of dry sherry to get the tastebuds in gear and a chat to compare our days events. Several of the other guests had enjoyed the cookery classes hosted by Catherine and what sounded like a very nice lunch afterwards. We might consider this as an option for next time. We were called to dinner and were treated to a superb meal, good wine and coffee. Catherine came out of the kitchen when the coffee was served and had a chat at each table. She really seems to love what she and her friendly staff are doing in Ballyknocken and it shows. We even managed a nightcap with some fellow guests in the lounge afterwards.

Yet more good food at breakfast on Sunday followed by settling the bill and off we went.

It was a total switch off and our batteries were well recharged. I'm very confused about the negative reviews and having considered them again I suppose those people may have been looking for something different. If you are seeking a thermal spa, lively bar, wi fi in every room and all the other offerings of the big and sometimes bland hotels of the Ireland of today Ballyknocken is not for you. We were looking for a genuine welcome, comfortable surroundings, top class real food and time to relax and unwind in beautiful surroundings and I believe Ballyknocken delievered this in spades. We hope to return.

Room Tip: We liked or room, room 8 I think.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen7Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallyknockenHCS, Owner at Ballyknocken House, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Stephen

Thank you so, so much for your very lovely comment.
It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and we would very much enjoy having you come back to cook with us the next time.
I’m so glad your enjoyed the food during your stay and the weather stayed good for your picnic.
You really have got what were all about!

Kindest regards
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenealy
8.4 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,072 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
11.5 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
517 reviews
10.3 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,029 reviews
10.7 mi away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyknocken House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyknocken House

Address: Glenealy, Ashford | Co. Wicklow, Ireland, Glenealy, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Glenealy
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glenealy
Price Range: $129 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballyknocken House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballyknocken House & Cookery School is scenically located on a 350 acre farm only a short drive from Dublin City Centre in County Wicklow, Ireland This charming four-star Victorian farmhouse boasts seven beautifully appointed rooms, all with period features in a picturesque setting on extensive grounds. This family-run operation has many amenities to offer both on-site and in the surrounding area and is home to award-winning Food Writer & TV Chef, Catherine Fulvio.Set up by Catherine’s mum, Mary, Ballyknocken house offers short and weekly walking packages, taking in the lovely Carrick forest and Mountain, just behind Ballyknocken and of course, the magnificent Wicklow Way Ballyknocken House prides itself on using the finest and freshest local produce. Ballyknocken House is the perfect getaway – whether for a romantic retreat, family vacation or foodie adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ballyknocken House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyknocken House Hotel Glenealy
Ballyknocken House Ireland/Glenealy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing