We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay”
Review of Ballyknocken House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ballyknocken House
Ranked #1 of 1 Glenealy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Myself and my husband stayed here in October 2012 and all I can say is wow it was a great place to stay, I cannot fault one thing the staff were really nice and Catherine came around to each table at dinner to chat to everyone...
The dinner was amazing really exceeded our expectations and also the breakfast was amazing.I didn't do a cookery course this time but will be back in the near future to do one...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flaminred111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 162 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

We went directly Ballyknocken at the start of our 3 weeks in Ireland and Northern Ireland. It proved to be the best of our stops in the whole trip. It was a surprise for my wife who was previously a long distance fan of our host Catherine and her TV series. The Friday night dinner cooked by Catherine and her staff was wonderful (Sorrel soup - yum yum!). Catherine was very gracious and generous with her time. Her staff were welcoming and very helpful. In particular Sharon on the front desk was terrific. Breakfasts were hearty and good with lovely fresh bread and drop scones (lovely sauce). The Wicklow country side and scenery was wonderful. Our triple room was comfortable with a nice view of the pretty front garden. I loved wandering the vegetable and herb gardens. After traveling the UK and Europe I can honestly say that these two days were a highlight and good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We spent a Friday night at Ballyknocken House and had a superb time experiencing the hospitality and culinary delights of Catherine Fulvio and her team. A welcome cup of tea and cake upon arrival set us up for a most memorable evening of food, wine and great service. For the non-Irish reading this, Catherine is a well known Irish TV chef with a number of cookery books to her name. She also runs cooking classes on site as part of the package with a very strong family theme running through her approach - her smiling happy kids feature everywhere.

The surrounding countryside is a delight so if walking/hiking is your thing, it's all there. We would unreservedly recommend a visit and sample the delights of Catherine's enthusiasm and passion for good food.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We are just back from a weekend in Ballyknocken House sep 2012 .To anyone thinking of heading to Ballyknocken House for either a weekend break +/- a cooking experience you will not be dissapointed. Catherine and all her staff are outstanding and so professional,the food was fantastic and the accomadition was great we had 2 rooms booked but were housed in a two bedroomed appartment which was just great had loads of space this was our first trip and without a shadow of a doubt will not be our last
thanks to everyone who made our weekend

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dicey_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed here in early July and would definitely not stay there again. The front of house service was dreadful had to go find somebody to check us in when we arrived whom we found after knocking on the kitchen door and the same when we left and we saw this happening with other guests as well. Our room was so disappointing decor wise dull and drab and very badly laid out definitely not worth the money. As our room faced the back of the house we were awoken both mornings very early with deliveries and staff arriving in cars and slamming doors. Breakfast was just ok and on the second morning my husbands fried egg was half raw. It seems Catherine is putting all her energies into the cookery school and has taken her eye off the ball in the guesthouse.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clovergirl885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Meself and my boyfriend visited Ballyknocken House last year and had a fab time. We were not there to attend the cookery classes but just an overnight treat. We arrived in the afternoon and were greeted by a lovely lady who I think was from Cape Town. We were shown into the drawing room where we were treated to amazing lemon cake and tea. Our room was old wordly, nothing decadent but clean and full of character. We went for a drive around the area and visited Avondale and Avondale House for some beautiful walks. We had booked dinner as part of our stay and were 'wowed' completely. However before dinner you are invited to the drawing room for sherry if you so desire! We did for the pure fun of it - lovely way to meet the other guests have a pre-dinner chat and drink. Dinner is set so you have no choice in what your are eating. All the tables in the dining area were full and from those we spoke to, all had thoroughly enjoyed their meal. We had a stroll afterwards in the cookery school gardens. Breakfast the next morning was an absolute treat, from the homemade orange butter to the mouthwatering scones. All locally produced produce inclding some fantastic cheeses and meats. On our departure we had a lovley send off from the same lady who greeted us the day before. We headed into Ashford then for a very enjoyable couple of hours in Mount Usher gardens and surrounding shops. All in all we had a great time in Ballyknocken - very quiet, relaxed environment with amazing food to enjoy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie13_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Just enjoyed a hen night at Ballyknocken Cookery School which was definitely a nite to remember. Gorgeous food and grea company. We did a cookery class with the girls headed up by Catherine herself, what a great entertainer and then we went on to enjoy what we had cooked and hung out in the house for the evening. Very comfortable and friendly couldn't fault it . Breakfast the next morning was great and had a lovely walk in the hills behind the house before hitting the road. Will be back and for longer next time. Thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maire K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ballyknocken House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyknocken House

Address: Glenealy, Ashford | Co. Wicklow, Ireland, Glenealy, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Glenealy
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glenealy
Price Range: $108 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballyknocken House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballyknocken House & Cookery School is scenically located on a 350 acre farm only a short drive from Dublin City Centre in County Wicklow, Ireland This charming four-star Victorian farmhouse boasts seven beautifully appointed rooms, all with period features in a picturesque setting on extensive grounds. This family-run operation has many amenities to offer both on-site and in the surrounding area and is home to award-winning Food Writer & TV Chef, Catherine Fulvio.Set up by Catherine’s mum, Mary, Ballyknocken house offers short and weekly walking packages, taking in the lovely Carrick forest and Mountain, just behind Ballyknocken and of course, the magnificent Wicklow Way Ballyknocken House prides itself on using the finest and freshest local produce. Ballyknocken House is the perfect getaway – whether for a romantic retreat, family vacation or foodie adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ballyknocken House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyknocken House Hotel Glenealy
Ballyknocken House Ireland/Glenealy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing