We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glendalough International Youth Hostel
Reviewed August 29, 2012

During our Wicklow Way hike, we stayed the 3rd night here. We had a large private room with bunk beds and a tidy bathroom. Breakfast is OK. It's a very friendly B&B with excellent service (luggage and dinner reservation) Kindly recommended (great quiet location).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rudi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 144 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had a private room and it was typical for a hostel with bunk beds and a tiny bathroom. We expected noise, but it was pretty quiet past about 10.30pm. We were given sheets for the beds and were glad we'd remembered to pack some soap for the handbasin. It's a very friendly place and has a superb location if you want to explore the ruins and go on some of the recommended walks up into the hills. Our only issue was with the shower, which was cold, weak and on a timer! That aside, we'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Private rooms are a must for slightly older travellers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londonlass7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Recently stayed here with our 2 kids (aged 3 and 5). What a beautiful setting. From the moment we arrived until we left the staff were lovely, very accommodating. Our room consisted of a set of bunk beds and 2 single beds with an en suite. The self catering kitchen and dinning room were spotless. We had continental breakfast which consisted of cereal, toast, fruit and orange juice. They also do a full Irish. We enjoyed relaxing in the lobby each evening reading books/playing games.There is a wide selection of DVD's that can be hired for €2 and watched in the tv room. A stones throw from Glendalough round tower and church, lovely to go for a walk in the evening when there is nobody about. With out a doubt, would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The hostel itself was clean and cozy but the lady at reception was not very nice at all. In spite of the fact that we had an arrangement to sleep together in one dorm she insisted on splitting us up. We had just completed a 12 hour walk along the Wicklow Way and were starving. Having been refused service in the nearby hotel (we were one minute late for 9 o'clock, when they stopped serving) we inquired was there any chance of a meal in the hostel but she told us no. Spotting a menu on the desk we asked a different girl who worked there about food and she told us straight away that was no problem. She cooked 3 nice pizzas for us in no time and we fairly gobbled them up!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CollierTheRobber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

As we were on an extended road trip, we wanted a stop outside Dublin to enjoy the countryside and not exhaust ourselves coping with the city traffic at the end of a long day. It was a good idea to stop around the Wicklow area because the Glendalough International Youth Hostel is a great stop. Cosy and comfortable with plenty of outdoors to explore, I couldn't recommend the place more. It's got an enclosed courtyard which connects the rooms to the kitchen that stays opens all day and night. The en-suite rooms are lovely and the kitchen is well equipped and comes with a hot and cold water dispenser that we savoured. We even bottled the cold water for the rest of our trip - it was simply delicious. (Considering that the night before we had to make do with dodgy looking from the Kerry mountains.)

As far as youth hostels go, this one is as good as they come.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ICDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Couldn't have asked for a nicer location.

Hostel was extremely clean, and clearly does not attract a rowdy crowd. The kitchen was large and easy to use, and I didn't have any trouble with people stealing my food. I was a little bit nervous about lighting the stove, which is propane and requires lighting a match to ignite it, but this is a pretty small qualm. I wish the local market was a touch closer, but it is certainly within walking distance.

As I said, the location was fantastic. The room I stayed in looked toward the upper lake, and had large windows that were easy to open for some fresh air. The nearest park entrance is a less than five minutes walk downhill. There are many small souvenir stands and shops here, as well as some food stands. There is also a restaurant in the hotel which is located right next to the park entrance that leads through the cemetery and the remains of the 7th century hermitage; I did not try it myself, but the prices appeared to be reasonable.

My only complaint, I suppose, is that the shower is a push-button shower, and the water stream lasts perhaps thirty seconds. Its inconvenient, but hardly outweighs all the positives.

A quick tip on the park itself: make sure you get a map. Also: if you want to hike the more difficult trails, but don't have much navigational experience... don't listen to what the map says about needing it! The harder trails are nearly completely boardwalked, so it is impossible to get lost. You also will be fine in sneakers, because of the aforementioned boardwalks. Just make sure that you have plenty of water.

Room Tip: If possible, try to get a room toward the back of the hostel, as the views here are unbeatable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damariscotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I hadn’t stayed in a youth hostel in a very long time so I was a bit afraid after booking this one, well it was a great success. Location second to none, right in the middle of the national park, where you can have walks in the middle of breathtaking surroundings. We booked a private room en suite, so it was really more like a hotel than a hostel, surly it is not luxurious, but for the price you pay it’s a real bargain. Handy that they provide bed linen and even one towel. I’m always very cold so I was afraid I could encounter that problem in our room, well I didn’t have to worry it was warm as toast!!!! They also have a self catering kitchen that has absolutely everything you can imagine you might need (and even more). Trish at reception is a real gem! So an amazing surprise, pity we couldn’t stay longer!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarisiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendalough Village
0.1 mi away
Glendalough Hotel
Glendalough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glendalough Village
563 reviews
0 mi away
Knockree Youth Hostel
Knockree Youth Hostel
#1 of 7 in Wicklow
108 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riversdale House
Riversdale House
#1 of 2 in Glendalough Village
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendalough International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendalough International Youth Hostel

Address: The Lodge, Glendalough Village, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Vale of Glendalough > Glendalough Village
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Glendalough Village
Price Range: $40 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Glendalough International Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Glendalough International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendalough International Youth Hostel Vale Of Glendalough, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing