We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My wife's favorite place to stay”
Review of Riversdale House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riversdale House
Certificate of Excellence
bveshpsu
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My wife's favorite place to stay”
Reviewed September 20, 2009

Incredibly clean. The view from our room was out to the creek, with the Wicklow mountains in the distance. There is a walking trail adjacent to the house that brings you right to the ruins at Glendalough. The breakfast room was sunny, cozy, and had great views. The room was spacious. Free internet access. Our hosts were extremely friendly and helpful. Honestly, the ONLY complaint I could think of would be the huge rocks in the driveway - just be cautious going down and you'll be ok. We wish we had stayed there more than one night, it was that great. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bveshpsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    34
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
108
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2009

I found this B&B on the Wicklow Way website. it is spotlessly clean, couldn't be more comfortable and in the most amazing location - the views from the B&B itself are amazing and it's within a short walk of the Glendalough Visitors' Centre as well as the Wicklow Way--it could not be more convenient for either. Breakfasts are excellent and served in a conservatory overlooking the river (which you get across by stepping stones to walk to the visitors' centre). Internet access downtown and extremely accommodating hosts who are helpful regarding advice (we walked to the Wicklow Heather for food both evenings--a free bus will take you back and forth as it's a 2km walk). Great value for money for the area and what you get--one of the best places I've stayed anywhere for the price in recent years and I plan to go back--

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suecamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2009

We stayed only one night but wish we could have stayed longer. Our room was airy and comfortable with a spectacular view of the river and mountains. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. And our early morning walk to the ruins across the river, accompanied by some ewes and their lambs, was lovely. We ate dinner at Lynham’s in Laragh, a short distance away, which turned out to be absolutely the best restaurant and pub of our entire trip (and we ate in some great places along the way).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Medb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2009

We stumbled into the Riversdale House when visiting Glendalough last month. Just followed the sign along the highway and ended up in a beautiful B&B in an incredible setting. Hordes of tourists invade Kevin's Kitchen, Kevin's Way and the gorgeous Glendalough in the Wicklow Mountains. Who would think it possible to find accomodations in the middle of the action, right along the river? But that is where Riversdale is located. Check in was efficient, the room was extremely comfortable, spotless and had an incredible view. We walked across the river on the huge bolders, strolled on Kevin's Way to a restaurant, had dinner, looked around Kevin's Kitchen, checked out the ancient graveyard, then returned on The Way under huge Scotch pines, crossed back over where the light shines and spent a blissful night. Brilliant! Grand!
A perfect evening!
We ate in the gorgeous breakfast area, tastefully outfitted, and the food was very good, very high quality. In fact, everything there is good. Check out their tasteful greeting cards. After almost three weeks driving around Ireland, we did not stay in another B&B that matched Riversdale's level. A real find!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nurseintheair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2009

I was disappointed in my stay at Riversdale House. This was our last night before we headed back to the states and we had a bad nights sleep. I felt the bed was itchy, not sure if it was bed mites or something, so we wound up sleeping on-top of the bed cover. The hosts were very nice, however, one should know they have a toddler that is very active and vocal. Certainly not the most relaxing or romantic atmosphere.

On the positive, the location was in close walking distance to the visitors center to begin our hikes. We thought crossing the river by stepping stones was fun, and the room was spacious and clean. The bathroom was also very clean.

The breakfast was okay, too.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janechris23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mug2, Owner at Riversdale House, responded to this review, June 3, 2009
Dear Chris & Jane,

Due to the positive reviews we have had over the last couple of years from our many guests , we were very surprised to read your recent review.

Regarding the poor nights sleep you had, can we assure you that all bedding is washed on a daily basis and all rooms are checked after they have been serviced.

Concerning our 3 year old son Aaron, he is certainly an active and some times vocal little fellow, however he is in bed at 7.30 pm and sleeps all night until 7.30 am. We do try and keep the noise to a minimum, but hey he is 3 years old and the B&B is our family home as well as a small business.

I have stayed at many establishments which are much more expensive then our prices and have been worken up in the early hours by other guests returning to their rooms

We do welcome your comments and wish you had informed us of your concerns during you stay.

Please remember we are living in our family home and will continue to welcome all future guests and will endeavour to provide the highest standard of customer satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2009

This was our first B&B in Ireland, and we were very satisfied. We flew in to Dublin and headed straight down to Glendalough in County Wicklow. Which brings me to the first point - as someone else here mentioned, it's not in Bray. It's much closer to Glendalough, Laragh, and the southern end of the Wicklow Mountains national park. Use the B&B's web site for exact directions, because while it is near those towns, it's still a bit off the beaten path. The Glendalough area is beautiful, so it's a great way to start your trip.

The house itself is right on a river, and the view of the hills and river from the dining room is gorgeous. The B&B is pretty new (only 6 years old) so everything is very clean and modern. Showers were good with strong water pressure. Breakfast in the morning was yummy. Plus, there are sheep grazing in the fields both immediately behind and to the right of the B&B - our kids loved that. They also liked walking around near the river.

Just a couple of minor issues - first, while they do have a trampoline in the back yard, don't get your kids excited about the prospect of using it, because the owner told us it's reserved for their own kids (ages 10 and 2). Second, the owners are English, not Irish. Maybe it's a total stereotype, but we felt a certain English reserve there, rather than a full-scale Irish warm welcome. But hey - we were there for the scenery anyway, so it was no big deal!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pghdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mug2, OWNER at Riversdale House, responded to this review, May 14, 2009
Dear sir/Madam
We thank you for your kind comments and are delighted that you had a wounderfu stay at our B&B. I would like to clarify the following points
Due to insurance policy we are not permitted to allow our guests to use our trampoline as it is for personel use only.

My wife is indeed English who has lived here for the last eight years. I am the third genaration Conway that has lived on the site of the B&B and am very much Irish.

With regard to the referance of Bray this is part of our postal address.

Once again we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2009

The B&B is smaller than we expected and a little hard to find (the sign is small), but the location on the river is beautiful, the room was clean and tidy, the shower had excellent water pressure (by Irish standards), and breakfast was customized to our liking by the friendly hostess. We were left nearly completely alone by our hosts, which suits us, and enjoyed the comfortable bed on our first night in Ireland. Be warned, the Gap of Wicklow can get very windy sometimes -- be prepared for a loud night of wind in the fall!

  • Liked — The location was gorgeous
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshlawless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendalough Village
12.0 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,044 reviews
12.4 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,036 reviews
16.3 mi away
The Martello Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,020 reviews
10.8 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
508 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glendalough International Youth Hostel
Glendalough International Youth ...
#1 of 1 in Glendalough Village
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riversdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riversdale House

Property: Riversdale House
Address: Wicklow Gap Road, Glendalough Village, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Vale of Glendalough > Glendalough Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Glendalough Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riversdale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riversdale House Vale Of Glendalough, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing