We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“winter break”
Review of Glendalough Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glendalough Hotel
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We went there for our anniversary as we were looking for something close to dublin with something to do. The hotel is average, staff were very friendly. We had a meal deal with the hotel, the diner was not really special. I would not recommend at all the goat tart starter as it was just a huge slice of goat cheese on a pre bought tart case. We had ordered breakfast brought to our room . Breakfast were very very dry.
A part from that the hotel stay were ok, We love the view of our room

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecile I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendaloughotel, Marketing & Business Development Manager at Glendalough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us to celebrate your very special occasion. We are most disappointed to receive your feedback, however it is upon this that we can improve our product and offering. On a more positive note, we are delighted that you found the staff friendly, and indeed, the view from most of our bedrooms is simply stunning.

We hope that you will pay us a return visit at some point in the future.

Kind regards,

Sinead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
There are newer reviews for Glendalough Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 542 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

We are a Dublin family who wanted somewhere close to Dublin but could enjoy the local trails and have some family time, we booked at short notice as I wanted the weather to line up. This hotel didnt disappoint, the location is superb and puts you at the starting point for the well marked trails in the area. The staff were great, friendly and helpful. We had our meals there and the food was good with nice touches like the homemade bread at dinner which was very tasty and the children's menu was good quality and flexible. We had no complaints about the room, it was clean and the bathroom was modern. As for value for money, I cant complain, we were (I assume) paying an off season price which was probably better value than some B&B's so for that I was happy. Being nearly "locals" its not somewhere I would choose to stay in high season but only because the area is drivable from Dublin.
For anyone coming from abroad, do your research about the area. While not knocking the area, its probably the "jewel in the crown" of Wicklow and it gets very busy over the summer with coach tours etc.There is also great vibe if sightseeing/hillwalking during the day and the hotel does a nice outdoor cafe during the summer but the area is a bit isolated and Laragh nearby is more of a crossroads so it wouldnt be my first choice as a "base" for a longer stay. Then again the location is fairly unique in Wicklow offering a week's worth of easy to serious hill walking, pleasant lake views without the need of driving anywhere so if that was your objective it would be spot on.

Room Tip: Our bed was Queen size which was fine for us but anyone over "6ft" might want to enquire a...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 951DublinFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendaloughotel, Marketing & Business Development Manager at Glendalough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review and comments on your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, from the staff, to the food and the general atmosphere and value for money. You are absolutely right, there is nowhere nicer in the world than Glendalough - especially when the weather bends to our liking, and perfect for all outdoor pursuits !

Thank you again, and we very much hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Sinead Doyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The setting for this hotel is beautiful. Absolutely perfect for seeing St Kevin's church and the lough. However, there is a real run down feeling about the rooms. The bar and bistro seemed very nice and welcoming.

The rooms were so disappointing. The carpets are worn through, the tiles are chipped, the bathroom hair dryer had its pipe ripped out and left dangling. I am shocked that the cleaning staff didn't report it and get it fixed before another guest was given that room. The funniest bit was having half a trouser press! There was literally no front to the trouser press at all. Not sure why it was left there. The TV was probably the one that St Kevin got rid of - all right, probably not quite that old but very old indeed. Its a long, long time since I stayed in a hotel that didn't have duvets and I had forgotten just how uncomfortable blankets are. This, together with a very uncomfortable mattress and hard flat pillows ensured that I did not get a good night's sleep.

To be honest, I think I paid at least 50% too much for this room. I spent a lot of time going through the booking sites to get the best price but it was too high for a hotel of this calibre. However, the site could not be bettered so you pays your money and takes your chance.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TamarTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendaloughotel, Marketing & Business Development Manager at Glendalough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. All feedback is important to us, particularly feedback that is not so positive as it is that that help us to improve our service or offering.
We are very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay, and we very much hope to have the opportunity to carry out works in the bedroom over the coming year which will improve our guests comfort.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Sinéad Doyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed here for NYE, beautiful location as its right next to Saint Kevin's Monastery.
Room wasnt great could do with a revamp,bit of a stale odour coming from bathroom.
Food was really good though and staff were very friendly would visit again in maybe a different room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendaloughotel, Marketing & Business Development Manager at Glendalough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review of your stay with us here at the Glendalough Hotel over New Year's Eve last year. We are very happy that you enjoyed your evening, your dinner and the atmosphere.

In relation to your comments on the accommodation, we are very conscious that we need to carry out refurbishment in our bedrooms, and hope to be able to complete phased works in the near future. Thank you again for posting your comments, and hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Sinead Doyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend decided to take the bus from Dublin to Glendalough one the days. We were told that we would have 4 hours before having to get the bus back to Dublin. When we arrived, the scenery was spectacular and the hotel was equally lovely. We had not packed a lunch so we thought we would grab a bite to eat at the main restaurant (selling basic food like soups, paninis and carverys). Little did we know that we would be waiting and wasting over a full hour waiting for food. For the first 20 minutes of being there, myself and my boyfriend were not even acknowledged by a waiter or waitress even though it was in one of the waitress's table areas. I have worked in restaurants before so I am very familiar with how to wait tables. This lady was not at all busy and continued to pass our table multiple times. We also noticed a few Americans shaking their heads in annoyance.

At last a waiter came over. He was very friendly and took our order swiftly and apologised for the wait-this is the only reason I have not chosen 'terrible' for the rating. However the next 40 minutes or more were just painful. We were convinced that the waiter didn't put our order through. When we eventually got our food, we were terribly disappointed. We had ordered the turkey with vegetables and the meat looked as though it had been under the heat lamp for the 40 minutes. Flavourless, over steamed vegetables. It was just a regular carvery except we had to wait over an hour to get it.

They were however, very quick to take the money off the table! It was a complete waste of an hour and we then only had less than 3 hours to walk around one of the wonderful places in Ireland.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Eva R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendaloughotel, Marketing & Business Development Manager at Glendalough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience here at the Glendalough Hotel. We are most disappointed to receive this feedback, however this is so valuable to us as this is what assists us in improving things. You certainly didn't have the experience that we like our guests to have. We do believe that since your visit, which from the date on the review says September, we have taken measures here at the hotel and commenced staff training in an effort to improve the overall dining experience here at The Glendalough Hotel.

We very much hope that you will visit us again in the future, as you correctly said, one of the most beautiful places in the country.

Kind Regards,

Sinéad Doyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

just had our wedding at glendalough on the 29th oct. cannot fault anything, managers where helpful, staff were absolutely efficient and friendly, food was delicious, venue was beautiful, all guests said the food and staff were fantastic and one of their best experiences, alan tom sineaad and Mario were willing to help in anyway, Mario on the 2nd night at dinner was brilliant, I have to say if you want a faultless wedding with staff willing to see to your every need, this is the place

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevin o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendaloughotel, Marketing & Business Development Manager at Glendalough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Kevin & Aine,
Thank you both so much for taking the time to review your wedding with us here last Tuesday. It really was a beautiful occasion, and thank you for choosing the Glendalough Hotel, and for letting us be part of your very special day.
We are all so delighted that you enjoyed every minute, and most of all that you were happy with the food and the service, both elements which were so important to you.
We look forward to welcoming both of you back very soon, and very often we hope !
Best regards,

Sinéad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We toured Glendalough and then went to eat at the outdoor grill of the hotel. The service was very very very slow. Cannot even remember if the food tasted good because of the very long wait for food and the excuse given that he was making the easy things first just didn't cut it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank cKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendaloughotel, Marketing & Business Development Manager at Glendalough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to review your visit to the Glendalough Hotel in August. This was the first summer that we tried to carry out the bbq outside throughout the season, as the weather was so lovely it was great to be in the position of offering a different dining experience to guests who didn't want to eat inside, but we are most disappointed, but happy to receive this feedback, as this will help us to improve in the future, and we sincerely apologise for that poor experience while with us.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future to recitify this, and thank you again for taking the time to post the review.

Kind regards,

Sinead Doyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendalough Village
11.7 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,071 reviews
12.2 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,048 reviews
6.8 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
9.1 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,029 reviews
16.1 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bray
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendalough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendalough Hotel

Address: Glendalough | Co. Wicklow, Glendalough Village, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Vale of Glendalough > Glendalough Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glendalough Village
Price Range: $152 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glendalough Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Glendalough Hotel in County Wicklow, we like to let the scenery do the talking, our team are here to offer a warm welcome and simple home comforts. The sites in Glendalough are at the heart of Irelands Ancient East with the 6th Century gateway to the Monastic site steps away from the hotel. The Colours and sounds of the valley of Glendalough change with every season and the Glendalough hotel is well placed for you to enjoy all that this Valley has to offer. The magical sounds and breath-taking scenes will transport you back to a quieter time of meditation and a closeness to nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Glendalough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendalough Village Hotel
Glendalough Hotel Vale Of Glendalough, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing