We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B!”
Review of Derrymore House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glendalough Village
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Derrymore House
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great B&B!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was the nicest B&B we stayed in to date! The room was spacious and very clean. The breakfast was excellent. Great location - with a lovely view of lower lake. We felt really welcome by Penny and will make sure to be back for another unforgettable weekend in Glendalough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karolina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    19
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
64
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is an excellent B and B. We loved the room - spacious and well decorated. The breakfast that Penny provided would have fed an army - plentiful and delicious. We asked her whether she spent all her time cleaning as the whole house was spotless. The location is out of this world - just beautiful. We hope to return as we were so impressed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Russell435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Not only the location of this B&B is perfect (it's at the Glendalough lake), also the house is very nice with wooden and aesthetic furniture and a nice garden and a beautiful view from the rooms. The breakfast is also very good. Thanks to tripadvisor we found this B&B. :-) We'll come back again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Glendalough was one of our favorite places during our trip around Ireland. The Derrymore house has a warm, cozy, log cabin feel. The location is perfect, adjacent to the top of the lower lake, and a short walk to the visitors center, where most of the hiking trails start. It was great to be able to leave the car at the house and walk over, instead of dealing with the morning traffic getting into the main parking lot.

We stayed in a triple room (though there were only two of us), which was actually two adjoining rooms, so there was a LOT of space. The room was on the top floor overlooking the lake. Amazing view!

Penny was such an attentive host. Everything we needed was provided. And the breakfast was delicious.

There didn't seem to be a lot of pubs around unless you take the car out, so not much to do at night, but that was fine for us since it was our last night in Ireland before a morning flight. I definitely recommend staying here if you're a nature lover and looking for a quiet, cozy night.

Room Tip: A triple room is actually two adjoining rooms--one with a double bed and the other with a single bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank squirrelsheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Spent our first night in Ireland at this charming B&B. After 2 flights, little sleep, and the first time driving in Ireland, it was perfect for rest, relaxation, and the opportunity to enjoy the natural beauty of this part of Ireland. The view of the lower lake and Wicklow mountains is outstanding. Penny provided tea & delicious fresh scones upon our arrival. The breakfast the next morning was fabulous and the dining room was cozy and light. We especially liked not feeling like we were intruding on the family -- the rooms and dining room have their own entrance away from the family's living quarters. We were made to feel very welcome and the entire experience launched our 8 days in Ireland in the best possible manner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The view of the lower lake at Glendalough is superb, the accommodations are very comfortable, the breakfast was delicious, and the whole experience was great! The boardwalk that runs from the lower lake to the upper lake is at your doorstep... what a serene and peaceful place. This was a great spot to stay!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GottagowhileIcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at this cosy, comfortable and perfectly located b&b overlooking the lower lake and less than 10 mins walk to the scenic upper lake. The surrounding area was peaceful and quiet and I spent hours just walking around the lakes. Penny's magnificent and delicious Irish breakfast was so substantial that it kept me going till dinner time. And Pat was very helpful when I had car trouble. So everything was simply perfect - location, comfort, hospitality and great service. What more can I say except ... I'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwenny_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendalough Village
0.0 mi away
Glendalough Hotel
Glendalough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glendalough Village
492 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hearn's Hotel
Hearn's Hotel
#6 of 6 in Clonmel
98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 6 in Clonmel
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Raheen House Hotel
Raheen House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Clonmel
105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fennessy's Hotel
Fennessy's Hotel
#4 of 6 in Clonmel
42 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derrymore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derrymore House

Property: Derrymore House
Address: Derrymore Lake Road, Glendalough Village RVY 44PO, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Vale of Glendalough > Glendalough Village
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Glendalough Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Derrymore House Vale Of Glendalough, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing