We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location by the lake”
Review of Derrymore House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glendalough Village
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Derrymore House
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location by the lake”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at this cosy, comfortable and perfectly located b&b overlooking the lower lake and less than 10 mins walk to the scenic upper lake. The surrounding area was peaceful and quiet and I spent hours just walking around the lakes. Penny's magnificent and delicious Irish breakfast was so substantial that it kept me going till dinner time. And Pat was very helpful when I had car trouble. So everything was simply perfect - location, comfort, hospitality and great service. What more can I say except ... I'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwenny_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    19
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
65
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Frank and Patricia would like to tell the world about this hidden gem called Derrymore House, we had a fabulous time and we were so well looked after by Penny.....the welcome, the room, and the following morning we had the breakfast of our lives in a room with a view to die for. Well done Penny and Family......we'll be back

Room Tip: Room 3 is beautiful, but again It's not about the rooms, it's the atmosphere and quality of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truro
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Fabulous welcome and hospitality from Penny and Pat. Really comfortable triple room with fabulous views of the lake and mountains. Breakfast to die for and nothing too much trouble for Penny. Clean spacious rooms with fresh towels. We were free to come and go as we wanted.
Lovely home-made cake with a cuppa on arrival. A great 'find' on the web-site and one we will definitely come back too. Thankyou to Penny and Pat for making us so welcome. We've never written a review before but felt they warranted it.

Room Tip: We had the triple room which comprises of one single bed and sofa in first room through to second ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Iowa, United States
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Greetings – We wanted to thank you for a very nice stay at your place on our recent trip to Ireland. Everything was above our expectations and we felt very welcome there. Thank you for the great breakfasts and personal attention. Yours was voted the best accomodation on our entire tour, "lovely & brillant"! Thanks again - Jim & Jill

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay and wish we could have lingered a few more days. What a beautiful and peacefull setting! The guest area has been artistically and tastefully set up for comfort and privacy; with many nice touches to connect the guests with the lush environment of historic Glendalough. The breakfasts were wholeome and delicious, with a variety to suit every appetite. We highly commend Pat and Penny for very competent B&B hosting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awhyte1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Head, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed for three nights back in May of 2012 and had a wonderful time. Penny couldn't have made us more welcome. The rooms were quite large and nicely decorated. We sat out in the observatory and watched the stars come out. The location was perfect for exploring the Monastic City or hiking around the area. Penny pointed us to some great places for dinner. Breakfast was excellant, best brown bread we had in Ireland! We would go back in a second.

Room Tip: As far as I could tell there were no bad rooms. The front room had a view of the lakes though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Great B&B and good location for visiting area sites. The room was very spacious and clean with nice view of lake and mountain. The bed was very comfortable. Nice sitting area out front. Very quiet at night. The breakfast was excellent and the owner very nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFuzzLakeCity_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendalough Village
0.0 mi away
Glendalough Hotel
Glendalough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glendalough Village
510 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 6 in Clonmel
402 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hearn's Hotel
Hearn's Hotel
#6 of 6 in Clonmel
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Raheen House Hotel
Raheen House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Clonmel
106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,013 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derrymore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derrymore House

Property: Derrymore House
Address: Derrymore Lake Road, Glendalough Village RVY 44PO, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Vale of Glendalough > Glendalough Village
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Glendalough Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Derrymore House Vale Of Glendalough, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing