We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A happy place to stay!”
Review of Glenview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glenview Hotel
Wexford Ireland.
1 review
“A happy place to stay!”
Reviewed June 25, 2009

From the moment we arrived this felt like a happy house. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times in every department. We felt very much "at home" there. It would be very difficult to single out any particular member of staff as better than the others, but the young French barman was great! Our room was clean and comfortable and was expertly serviced during our stay. The location is convenient to Dublin city without the usual drawbacks of a city centre hotel. The gardens, complete with babbling brook, are pleasant to relax in and like the Hotel itself overlook the Glen O' the Downs. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flytog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    317
    169
    52
    39
See reviews for
341
406
17
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2009

It's so easy to get there, you are not too long on the m50.It's so easy to spot from the road up high on the hill.Beautiful garden at the front and walk trail. The rooms are lovely, very big in size even if you have children with you.There is nothing nicer than waking up in the morning to a view like that.
If there was anything i would change it would be to get a bigger lift.
Also to vary the bar menu a little.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonnerdenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

Stayed here for a night for the bank holiday weekend. Great location with lovely views. The rooms and foyer need a bit of morernisation. The room was very large but quite bare with 1 horrible painting and an old telly left on a scratched table.
As part of the deal we had an evening meal which was gorgeous, nice view from the restaurant too. The meal made up for the other short-comings.
Leisure centre was of a good standard which helps it keep its 4* rating.

To be honest, i think this hotel just about scrapes its rating although its not the most expensive of 4 * hotels either!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mossalop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2009

The only complaint I have is that the bed was very hard. I did not get any sleep because of it. For people who like a very firm mattress this is a good place to stay. It is a nice hotel. We had a great view from our room and the grounds are very nice.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co.Antrim N. Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2009

Our 39th anniversary was celebrated in style in the Glenview Hotel and because of the occasion we were give a beautiful room with 2 single beds and a king size one. There were 2 big armchairs, a sofa and tables. The room overlooked the gardens at the front of the hotel and had tea/coffee making facilities and an iron and ironing board. When we arrived in the room we found a card from the hotel wishing us a happy anniversary and we appreciated this gesture.

Although the bedroom was terrific, the bathroom was not as good. It was small and very, very dark and the toiletries were those small bottles which are fiddly and hard to manage. Could someone tell me why so many hotels use shower curtains instead of screens over the bath? The bathroom really let this hotel down.

The restaurant served very tasty food and the service was impeccable but we thought it was just a little over the top e.g. the waiter kept coming over to replenish our wine and water glasses even when it wasn't necessary. Granted there were not too many people in the restaurant and perhaps they wanted to keep busy. The bar food was very ordinary and we thought it was expensive.

Breakfast was served in the main restaurant and the views were wonderful, due in no small part to the beautiful weather. The selection was good with plenty of fresh fruit, cereals, yogurts and juices. The cooked food was self service from heated containers which seems to be the norm now and this was only adequate. However there was plenty of everything and staff were helpful and friendly.

We availed of the good leisure facilities but wished that more information about this had been available to guests in the information in the bedroom eg did we need money for the locker? ( no we didn't ), are towels provided? ( yes they are ) did we need to wear a swimming cap? ( yes we did )

However any negative comments are of a minor nature and these problems could be easily solved if management takes them on board. We had a lovely few days in a great setting and left feeling suitably refreshed and able to look forward to dealing with two lively little grandsons!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grannny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2008

Went for a weekend break for my anniversary with my boyfriend. Chose it for its convenience from Dublin and great views, well apart from the N11! For a 4 star hotel I was a bit disappointed with the room, no Satellite TV for example. You only had about 8 channels and even at that the picture quality was bad on some. We had a room at the back of the hotel so missed out on the view :( We ate in the bar on the first night as we arrived late, had a lovely steak and duck, well worth it all. Booked into the restaurant for the second night but was very disappointed. €100 for the bill. Wine €20, food €80. Food not worth it, boyfriend had soup and didn't finish it, for main course had beef and it turned out to be the tiniest slices with us having to share the vegetables and potatoes! Dessert was a meringue, the best part of it to say the least.

Views saved the day for the hotel, restaurant and some services a letdown. Didn't have time to check out the leisure centre

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Restaurant
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sloping_fungus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossmaglen
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2008

I stayed at the Glenview on a weekend Supervalu deal. It was such a nice stay from the warm efficent check in to great service and food at the bar and especially their restaurant ( very high standard, also had a pianist playing) to one of the best gyms and pool areas I have been in and very clean to the lovely big bedrooms. If your after comfortable and a relaxed stay this is the place. The bar has live music on Fri and Sat nights or if you just want to read there is a beatiful reading/library room with a roaring fire to read the complimentary papers. There is a lovely woodland walk at the hotel and you are only a short drive to Greystones and Bray. At the right price this is the place to go. I will be back.

  • Liked — The pool and gym
  • Disliked — Room maybe too hot!!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CrossmaglenDiddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Of The Downs
4.0 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,043 reviews
3.5 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
508 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Martello Hotel
3.3 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
450 reviews
3.7 mi away
Summerhill House Hotel
Summerhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Enniskerry
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenview Hotel

Property: Glenview Hotel
Address: Delgany, Glen Of The Downs, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Glen Of The Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glen Of The Downs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club is a 4 star Luxury Hotel in County Wicklow set on over 30 acres of woodland walks, beautiful gardens and located in the heart of The Garden of Ireland.The Glenview Hotel is located at Junction 9 Glen o' the Downs on the N11.Situated just off the M50 motorway, The Glenview Hotel is only 25 miles driving distance from Dublin City Centre and 30 miles from Dublin Airport.The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club Wicklow, nestled in the stunning and breathtaking surroundings of The Glen of The Downs and overlooking the Wicklow Mountains is the perfect destination for leisure breaks, activity breaks, meetings, events and weddings in Wicklow. The Glenview Hotel is situated in the scenic garden of Ireland and is the ideal location for your break within a 10 minute drive of Powerscourt House & Gardens in Enniskerry and some of Wicklow’s finest golf courses.The Glenview Hotel in Wicklow offers excellent service in elegant surroundings which makes it a comfortable setting whether it is for business or leisure.Where style and grace meet country hospitality.Glenview Hotel Wicklow features;• 70 deluxe bedrooms including the penthouse suite • Excellent conference, meeting and banqueting facilities• Woodlands Restaurant and Conservatory Bistro and Bar • Extensive Leisure Club with outdoor hot tub. • The Haven Beauty Treatment Suites • Scenic woodland walk & gardens • Complimentary Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel• The Glenview Hotel is a great location, just off the M50 on exit 9 off the N11, south of Bray in County Wicklow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Glenview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenview Hotel Glen Of The Downs, County Wicklow, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing