We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid comfort”
Review of Glenview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glenview Hotel
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Solid comfort”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Returned to the Glenview for DH's 60th birthday treat. As usual, a relaxing and enjoyable stay with very helpful staff. We were welcomed back like old friends, and our room was clean and comfortably warm. Treated to drinks by the manager - thanks Brian! We had requested a front facing room and this is what we got. Lovely old furniture adds character and interest. Our package included one dinner which was delicious. Breakfast looking out over the valley (and everyone else travelling to work on the N11!) was very nice, altho we had to wait for some items. Fried eggs deserve special mention - just perfect! The mini croissants just out of the oven were well worth waiting for. The woodland walk is as demanding as you want it to be - you can have some climbing and steep areas, but if you want, you can just go on a shorter flatter walk, or for those not so active, just a few steps will take you to the gardens at the front of the hotel, with secluded areas and lots of seating. The pool area is outstanding - sitting in the outdoor hot tub at 8am on a frosty morning must be the height of luxury! Yes, the hotel is perhaps a bit dated, and in some places could do with a face lift, and certainly new tv's - but overall it is solid comfort and has a character missing in many soulless hotels elsewhere. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for front facing room if you like a view.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank happyholidays673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review. We are delighted to hear you had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay with us. Your continued custom is very much appreciated.

We all look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    309
    167
    49
    39
See reviews for
337
389
17
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed for one night getaway over the St Patrick's weekend. Even though the hotel was very busy everything was excellent. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable with great view. Dinner (part of package) in Woodlands Restaraunt - very interesting menu and super service. I would quibble about tea and coffee not being including in packages and being charged as extras. But that is the only thing I could fault in our entire stay. Unless you count the N11 dual carriageway nearby, but the surrounding and view are still beautiful and the hotel is far enough back from the road for noise not to be an issue. Breakfast was also perfect. Swimming Pool and Sauna up to expected standards. Wasn't particularly cheap but it was St Patrick's weekend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fachtna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your wonderful review. We all look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greystones, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Joined my family for lunch and a catch up in the Glenview restaurant on Patrick`s Day, The selection of food was first class, That coupled with the Friendly attentive service made our visit perfect, We started with golden fried tempura prawns, mixed seafood & confit salmon and good ole fashioned vegetable soup, all good !!. For the main they had a choice of two fresh fish specials, Herb encrusted fillet of Cod or oven baked fillet of salmon served with mixed tri color vegetables for paddy's day no less, which suited my brothers down to the ground, I ordered the roast leg of lamb, mouth watering stuff, served with mixed vegetables and thick gravy mmmm no complaints, for pudding we had poached pear in white wine with ice cream, home made rhubarb crumble and ice cream & Dark chocolate mousse, raspberry coulis and ice-cream ..heaven on all accounts, finished off the meal with coffees and admired the view of the woodlands from where we were sitting. A very pleasant day, Thank you

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Toxmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit to the Glenview Hotel. I am very pleased to read you and your family had a very enjoyable lunch in our Woodlands Restaurant.

Your compliments regarding our friendly attentive team are also very much appreciated.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenview in the future.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunboyne, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We recently stayed at the Glenview Hotel to celebrate our recent engagement. We arrived on Friday and from check in on our stay was very enjoyable. The girl at reception was very welcoming and our room 308 was spotless, very large and at a perfect temperature. We used the gym that night and found it very extensive and up to date with equipment. Friday night we went down and had a drink in the bar which had a good atmosphere and the Guinness was good. (which is important!!) . The next morning we had break fast in the restaurant. There was a good selection of fruit, cereals and pastries as well as the standard full irish. My only down fall would be the tea,coffee and toast took a very long time to come out so we were nearly finished our break fast by the time it was put on our table. Saturday we both had the spa treatments which we found very relaxing. The girl was very accommodating when my girlfriend asked to swap one of her treatments for a nail manicure. Saturday night we had dinner in the restaurant. The food was brilliant apart from my beef fillet being a little under cooked. I asked for medium and it came out rare but my plate was clean by the end so it can't have been so bad!! The restaurant staff were very helpful without being in your face. We again went to the bar that night and there was a man playing music on a guitar. He was very entertaining and had a good few people up dancing. We had break fast again the next morning before using the pool and out door jacuzzi which was a great end to a very enjoyable and relaxing weekend. All in all I would say the Glenview is a good place to stay and I would give it an 8 out of 10.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to read you had a very enjoyable and relaxing weekend and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenview soon.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed here recently for two nights and to be honest the only positive comments I can give are on the quality of the dinner in the Woodlands restaurant and the service provided by the evening staff. The dinners were of excellent quality and were well presented. Unfortunately I cannot be as positive about the quality of the breakfast or the overall appearance of the Hotel. It is in need of a painting on the outside and the room we had looked out onto the roof of a shed and a hedge. To recap I would only recommend this hotel for the quality of it's dinner menu and the professionalism of it's staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 506Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted to hear that you had a very enjoyable meal in the Woodlands Restaurant and your compliments regarding the team are also very much appreciated.

I am disappointed to read that you were not entirely satisfied with your breakfast experience and the overall appearance of the hotel. Your comments have been noted and should you wish to discuss your stay further please contact me the details below.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Tel: 01 2873399
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Booked at short notice over February midterm break. Service, value for money and facilities outstanding. Kids had great fun in the pool. There is a baby pool and a separate play area with water fountains, woggles etc provided by hotel to keep kids entertained for hours! Also supervised kids camp in evenings. Staff were very helpful and professional. I'm looking forward to my next visit at Easter!

Room Tip: 106 is large ground floor room for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear you had a perfect family break and we look forward to welcoming you back at Easter.

Kind regards

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Generations of Dubliners had Sunday Roast or a drink here in view of its stunning location.Always wanted to stay so spent a weekend there.It has a touch of the 60s,slightly frayed at the edges and a 60s style decor but that made it for me.Extremely helpful staff,Restaurant is very good(had a really lovely Tagine).Some of the rooms fittings need attending to but in a way its part of its comfortable charm.Spectacular walks nearby.Overall it may not be the Ritz but it has character in an age of sameness in hotels.

Room Tip: Try and get the view of the Glen
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T0ny1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review. We are very pleased to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Glenview Hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Of The Downs
4.0 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,019 reviews
3.5 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
503 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Martello Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Summerhill House Hotel
Summerhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Enniskerry
600 reviews
3.3 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
445 reviews
20.0 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenview Hotel

Property: Glenview Hotel
Address: Delgany, Glen Of The Downs, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Glen Of The Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glen Of The Downs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club is a 4 star Luxury Hotel in County Wicklow set on over 30 acres of woodland walks, beautiful gardens and located in the heart of The Garden of Ireland.The Glenview Hotel is located at Junction 9 Glen o' the Downs on the N11.Situated just off the M50 motorway, The Glenview Hotel is only 25 miles driving distance from Dublin City Centre and 30 miles from Dublin Airport.The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club Wicklow, nestled in the stunning and breathtaking surroundings of The Glen of The Downs and overlooking the Wicklow Mountains is the perfect destination for leisure breaks, activity breaks, meetings, events and weddings in Wicklow. The Glenview Hotel is situated in the scenic garden of Ireland and is the ideal location for your break within a 10 minute drive of Powerscourt House & Gardens in Enniskerry and some of Wicklow’s finest golf courses.The Glenview Hotel in Wicklow offers excellent service in elegant surroundings which makes it a comfortable setting whether it is for business or leisure.Where style and grace meet country hospitality.Glenview Hotel Wicklow features;• 70 deluxe bedrooms including the penthouse suite • Excellent conference, meeting and banqueting facilities• Woodlands Restaurant and Conservatory Bistro and Bar • Extensive Leisure Club with outdoor hot tub. • The Haven Beauty Treatment Suites • Scenic woodland walk & gardens • Complimentary Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel• The Glenview Hotel is a great location, just off the M50 on exit 9 off the N11, south of Bray in County Wicklow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HRS, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Glenview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenview Hotel Glen Of The Downs, County Wicklow, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing