We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SOOOO Relaxing, Great Hotel.”
Review of Glenview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glenview Hotel
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I stayed at the Glenview last weekend 18/1/14 for a bit of "me" time, from the minute I walked in to the moment I walked out of the hotel, I loved it. First at reception, Sanita, couldn't have been more helpful, I had carvery lunch in the bar, service and food was excellent, my room had a lovely view (glen view).
I had a massage at the Haven from Syliva that was second to none, she really knows what she's doing. After my massage I decided to relax in The Malton Lounge and read the paper by the fire, what a beautiful relaxing room, when I decided to have a beer, I didn't have to move a duty manager served me. Dinner, I opted for the bar and I have to say on the recommendation of the bright a bubbly barman I had the Tandoori chicken, served on nan bread with mango chutney, it was to die for. Music in the bar drew in a crowd and put the finishing touches to a very relaxing day. The next day, breakfast in the restaurant was excellent also made even better by the exceptional view, a swim, a sauna and a walk through their "woodland Walk" brought my stay, sadly to a close. Everything was perfect, I can't wait to return. Thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: Room to the front of the hotel
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Ellen,

Many thanks for your excellent review of your recent visit to the Glenview Hotel. I am delighted to read you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us. I have passed on your compliments to all staff concerned. They are thrilled with the special mention.

We all look forward to welcoming you back for some more “Me” time soon. You deserve it!!

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,048)
There are newer reviews for Glenview Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

608 - 614 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

My husband and i stayed here for two nights last wekend.As it was a treat for my birthday, we booked the penthouse suite.We were more than impressed with everything.Not only did we have our own sitting room with huge fireplace and gas fire, but we had a separate dining room too.The en suite bathroom had twin sinks, large shower and a jacuzzi bath.There were two separate a/c controls so you could have the temperature exactly as you wanted in the different areas of the suite. We ate in the bar on the Friday night and in the restaurant on the Saturday night. Both were very good. The grounds are lovely to stroll around or you can go further if you like walking. It was a very cold weekend but every part of the hotel was warm and cosy. We will definitely be returning, highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: highly recommend the penthouse, views fabulous!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magsbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review. We were so pleased to read that you were very impressed by everything and that you found your accommodation to be spacious & comfortable. We are also glad to hear that you had a very enjoyable dining experience in our Conservatory Bar and also in our Woodlands Restaurant.

We really appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you and your husband back to the Glenview Hotel in the future

Kind regards

Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

stayed here with friends last weekend, we were disappointed with the service even though it was not busy,we found staff did not interact with customers,(apart from one young man on saturday evening shift ) we were left waiting at bar while staff carried out menial tasks ,we also asked would it be possible to watch Sky Sports on one of the tv's in the bar and were told that the hotel did not have the facility to show two seperate tv channels at one time, also tables were not being cleared efficiently which was even more evident at breakfast where a queue formed because of this.Sabine seemed to be handling and resolving all of the issues alone. Stunning location, great food, rooms spotless , but needs more efficiency!..... , the resident cat was a big hit!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank patrick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

I was so disappointed to read your comment on the service. We get many compliments regarding the team so I can assure you this is not our usual standard. I would like to sincerely apologise for the fall down in service you received.

I am delighted to hear you were very happy with the food and your accommodation. I really appreciate your feedback. All comments good or bad help us to improve our service to our customers. Please contact me on the details below if you wish to discuss any aspects of your stay further.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Glenview Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Tel: 00 353 1 2783399

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed there with the family, we had a great time, the pool was warm & clean
the whole hotel was very clean and bright.
The breakfast was 10/10 hot and tasty
after breakfast we took a walk at the front of hotel ... great time with little bridges etc ... well worth the walk !!
The only comment is that.... the hallway from the main hotel to the pool it cold and there's a stairway which is 40 - 60 foot high bring warm clothes for after the pool as the kids would freezing and a no no for pushchairs ...
Also ask for a room at the front of the hotel ( great view) this didn't worry us, as we were there less than 24 hours !!

Room Tip: book a room for the front of the hotel - to see the view of the glen !!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shaugj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us.

I am delighted to hear you had the opportunity to avail of our leisure facilities and also took an enjoyable walk around our gardens. I have noted your comment regarding the heating on the stairway to the pool. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. In relation to your comment regarding access to the Leisure Centre. Please note there is a slope at the main entrance to the Leisure Centre for our guests with pushchairs.

Many thanks again for your very helpful feedback. We look forward to welcoming you all back to the Glenview Hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Had lovely over night stay with my husband this week
Facilities very good
Room was very clean and comfortable
We ate in bar as restaurant was not open
This was a very pleasant experience ,enda was very helpful , lovely food & wine
Breakfast was excellent , Sabine was very pleasant
Hope to return.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank DublinMog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very nice review of your recent visit to the Glenview Hotel. I have passed your kind comments to Sabine and Enda. They are both thrilled with the special mention.

We all look forward to welcoming you and your husband to the Glenview again soon.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Rooms are a little tired,?paint work chipped in bathroom. Food for dinner was good for the wedding. Breakfast average. If you had a room with a view it would be great. Drink prices a little expensive. Canapés and champagne on arrival for wedding we're lovely, and nice and warm in room

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeathCo_Meath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

I appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay in the Glenview Hotel. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the Canapes, Champagne and Food at the Wedding. I will pass on your compliments to the Chef.

All comments whether good or bad help us improve our service to our guests.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Glenview Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

we stayed with a party of nine, four adults and five children, and we really enjoyed our stay, the pool area was lovely and clean, food good, rooms clean but the nicest part was how welcome we were made by barman/waiter eamonn the hotel is lucky to have such a nice member of staff, and he was so kind to the children thanks eamonn

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for posting a review on your recent visit to the Glenview Hotel.

We were delighted to read you and your party had a very enjoyable stay with us. I have passed on your kind comment to Eamon. He is thrilled with the special mention.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you all back to the Glenview Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Of The Downs
4.0 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,071 reviews
15.2 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
517 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Martello Hotel
3.7 mi away
Summerhill House Hotel
Summerhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Enniskerry
621 reviews
3.3 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenview Hotel

Address: Delgany, Glen Of The Downs, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Glen Of The Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glen Of The Downs
Price Range: $96 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club is a 4 star Luxury Hotel in County Wicklow set on over 30 acres of woodland walks, beautiful gardens and located in the heart of The Garden of Ireland.The Glenview Hotel is located at Junction 9 Glen o' the Downs on the N11.Situated just off the M50 motorway, The Glenview Hotel is only 25 miles driving distance from Dublin City Centre and 30 miles from Dublin Airport.The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club Wicklow, nestled in the stunning and breathtaking surroundings of The Glen of The Downs and overlooking the Wicklow Mountains is the perfect destination for leisure breaks, activity breaks, meetings, events and weddings in Wicklow. The Glenview Hotel is situated in the scenic garden of Ireland and is the ideal location for your break within a 10 minute drive of Powerscourt House & Gardens in Enniskerry and some of Wicklow’s finest golf courses.The Glenview Hotel in Wicklow offers excellent service in elegant surroundings which makes it a comfortable setting whether it is for business or leisure.Where style and grace meet country hospitality.Glenview Hotel Wicklow features;• 70 deluxe bedrooms including the penthouse suite • Excellent conference, meeting and banqueting facilities• Woodlands Restaurant and Conservatory Bistro and Bar • Extensive Leisure Club with outdoor hot tub. • The Haven Beauty Treatment Suites • Scenic woodland walk & gardens • Complimentary Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel• The Glenview Hotel is a great location, just off the M50 on exit 9 off the N11, south of Bray in County Wicklow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Glenview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenview Hotel Glen Of The Downs, County Wicklow, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing