We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs up for our Annual Reunion”
Review of Glenview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glenview Hotel
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thumbs up for our Annual Reunion”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

we are 6 old school friends from various parts of the country. We meet once a year for an overnight and dinner in a hotel. We take turns in choosing the hotel and I think the Glenview met all our requirements. The rooms were spacious and clean, dinner was excellent and the service was top class. The staff were very friendly and acted promptly to our special requests. We had plenty of room to find a quiet corner for us to chat and catch up on the year's events The cost of our stay was very reasonable and of course the spectacular views from the hotel were enhanced by the excellent weather. Worth a visit even just to have lunch in a lovely setting,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LA_Girls2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit to the Glenview Hotel. We are delighted to read the Glenview met all your requirements.

I have passed your lovely compliments to the team - such positive affirmation provides great encouragement.

We all look forward to the opportunity to welcome you and your friends back to the Glenview hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    309
    167
    49
    39
See reviews for
337
389
17
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel has one of the most beautiful settings you could imagine but inside it is tired and lacks style. Our room was very large, comfortable and a view to die for but the carpet needed replaced and the room generally needed a make over. The restaurant doesn't open Sunday, Monday and Tuesday dinner is served in the bar, it is the bistro menu with some specials, all very average and typical pub grub. There was little or any atmosphere in the pub and the residents lounge was dowdy and uninviting. Breakfast was served in the dining room and was at best average.
However the staff in Glenview are excellent and do everything to make you welcome and relaxed.
Unfortunately I would not return but I think there is great potential for this to be a great hotel.

Room Tip: Room 304 has a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsy060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback. I am very sorry to read you were disappointed with your accommodation. We are currently rolling out a plan to upgrade facilities in our bedrooms and throughout the hotel. Your feedback is very valuable with the process.

Thank you also for your very nice compliments regarding the team. They are indeed excellent.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Glenview Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheathampstead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at the Glenview for two nights at the beginning of September for an extended family gathering. Great service throughout, good food, lovely room nothing seemed too much trouble for the staff. We would definitely stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank filaollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your excellent review. We are delighted to read that you and your extended family had a very enjoyable stay with us and that you intend returning to the Glenview in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenview hotel soon

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed in an executive room which had great views over the valley and a balcony off the bedroom. We could not fault the hotel in any way. Staff were very helpful ,pleasant and always went the extra mile to service our needs.We used the Woodland Restaurant on saturday night and had an excellent meal which was served by friendly helpful staff. There was a wedding on the same night and the service level was still very high. After the meal we went to the bar and enjoyed good music.On sunday we enjoyed the leisure centre and swimming pool.

Room Tip: Room 200 was great ,good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to read you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us. Your compliments regarding the helpful, pleasant staff are gratefully received. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenview Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very disappointed room was clean and functional but not deluxe. Was badly advised about restaurants, wanted a plain and simple meal. We were told on arrival there was an early evening menu in restaurant but in restaurant we were told we should have asked for this special menu. To be fair they did not charge for meal that was not eaten or replacement meal in bar but could have been avoided in reception as we could have taken dart into Dublin. Did not like restaurant at all so would not take breakfast in hotel but went to nearby coffee bar. Staff were very helpful but just didn't feel comfortAble in hotel. I think it just depends on what you are looking for!

Room Tip: Very basic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Glenview Hotel. I appreciate your kind compliments regarding the team. I am also pleased to hear when you advised my Manager that you were dissatisfied with your meal in the Restaurant that you were provided with a replacement meal and drinks in the Bar.

I am very disappointed to read that you did not like our Woodlands Restaurant and decided to have your breakfast in a nearby coffee bar. We will always do our best to accommodate our guests and would have been happy to offer you room service or alternatively you could have had breakfast in our Conservatory Bar.

Please contact me on the details below if you wish to discuss any other aspects of your stay further.

Kind Regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Tel: 01 2873399
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My mother and myself stayed overnight in the Glenview Hotel in the Glen of the Downs in Co. Wicklow last Wednesday night, 11th September. My mother, who is 80 years old, uses a wheelchair so her needs are quite specific. When we arrived we were asked if we needed any help and from that moment on we were surrounded by staff who were always eager to help us. Their friendliness and warmth was very reassuring to me as the carer for my mum and also for my mum who appreciated so much the help that they gave her. Our room was located on the ground floor, not far from the Reception Area. It was very comfortable. My mother had her breakfast delivered to her on request and I had my breakfast in the beautiful dining room on the first floor which had a beautiful and peaceful panoramic view of the Glen of the Downs. Afterwards we sat around in the comfortable sitting room area relaxing, drinking tea and eating delicious cake from the restaurant. As a family we had visited this hotel for special occasions when we were younger so it brought back really pleasant memories of times gone by. For my mother she was so happy to have had the opportunity to relive those pleasant memories. We left feeling extremely relaxed and happy that we had chosen this hotel. We live in Dublin but we both felt that we experienced a special moment in time that we both will not forget.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent visit to the Glenview Hotel. We are delighted to read you and your Mum had a very relaxing memorable overnight stay with us.

We all look forward to welcoming you both back to the Glenview Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Myself, my wife, my sister and her husband. We arrived at this wonderful warm welcoming hotel on the 12-9-2013. For 3 days.our time at the hotel was perfect. All the staff were so warm and polite. The rooms that we stayed in (2 doubles) in my opinion can't be faulted. They where cleaned daily to a high standard. Credit to the cleaners. All the staff where so friendly and helpful. The views where breathtaking. The friday and the saturday night. They had wedding receptions. The function rooms were presented lovely, we had a quick look in the afternoon. If your to visit this area of island. Then we would highly recommend this fantastic hotel. One day I'm sure that'll we will revisit. Thankyou to all the staff for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cubsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are very happy to hear that you all had a very enjoyable stay with us. It was our pleasure.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Glenview Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Of The Downs
4.0 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,019 reviews
3.5 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
503 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Martello Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Summerhill House Hotel
Summerhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Enniskerry
600 reviews
3.3 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
445 reviews
20.0 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenview Hotel

Property: Glenview Hotel
Address: Delgany, Glen Of The Downs, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Glen Of The Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glen Of The Downs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club is a 4 star Luxury Hotel in County Wicklow set on over 30 acres of woodland walks, beautiful gardens and located in the heart of The Garden of Ireland.The Glenview Hotel is located at Junction 9 Glen o' the Downs on the N11.Situated just off the M50 motorway, The Glenview Hotel is only 25 miles driving distance from Dublin City Centre and 30 miles from Dublin Airport.The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club Wicklow, nestled in the stunning and breathtaking surroundings of The Glen of The Downs and overlooking the Wicklow Mountains is the perfect destination for leisure breaks, activity breaks, meetings, events and weddings in Wicklow. The Glenview Hotel is situated in the scenic garden of Ireland and is the ideal location for your break within a 10 minute drive of Powerscourt House & Gardens in Enniskerry and some of Wicklow’s finest golf courses.The Glenview Hotel in Wicklow offers excellent service in elegant surroundings which makes it a comfortable setting whether it is for business or leisure.Where style and grace meet country hospitality.Glenview Hotel Wicklow features;• 70 deluxe bedrooms including the penthouse suite • Excellent conference, meeting and banqueting facilities• Woodlands Restaurant and Conservatory Bistro and Bar • Extensive Leisure Club with outdoor hot tub. • The Haven Beauty Treatment Suites • Scenic woodland walk & gardens • Complimentary Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel• The Glenview Hotel is a great location, just off the M50 on exit 9 off the N11, south of Bray in County Wicklow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HRS, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Glenview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenview Hotel Glen Of The Downs, County Wicklow, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing