We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence once again”
Review of Glenview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glenview Hotel
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Upon many stays at the Glenview hotel my partner and I cannot seem to seek fault!
From the moment you enter the building you are welcomed by warm and friendly receptionists who are always full of smiles.
We enjoyed a leisurely stroll in the exquisite gardens of the hotel before dining in the conservatory bistro where the staff are exceptional. We were looked after throughout our entire time by a polite young waitress, Kate, who was attentive and very helpful, among other staff, with my partners diet requirements.
The restaurant staff also deserve a pat on the back as our breakfast was to die for. All in all I would, as always, recommend the Glenview hotel for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaime-Kirton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review of the Glenview Hotel. We are delighted to read that on each visit we have lived up to your expectations.

I have passed on your lovely compliments to the team. Katie is thrilled with the special mention. I am so glad also to read you enjoyed your dining experience in our Woodlands Restaurant.

We all look forward to you returning to us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,048)
There are newer reviews for Glenview Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

690 - 696 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here recently and we were really disappointed with everything. The service was bad and the food was awful. We waited a long time for our food and when it arrived it was cold and really tasted like left overs from a few days ago. The hotel decor is in need of upgrading, in some of the rooms the carpets smell of alcohol. The gardens could do with some care and to be honest our stay was far from relaxing as there were noisy kids running around the whole time we were there - especially in the pool area that seemed to be always packed with local, noisy kids and the pool was not very clean. Location is nothing special, view of green areas and a garden that could do with some care...very close to a busy motorway so traffic can be heard from some parts of the hotel. There are much nicer placers to stay in the area for about the same price. Would not recommend staying here even if it was free!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennie1980_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Jennie from New York

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Glenview Hotel.

Both the management and staff are very disappointed to learn of your experience on trip advisor without first giving us the opportunity to address any of the issues raised. We have thoroughly investigated this matter and we cannot find any trace of a couple who have stayed with us from New York. We have had many corporate guests from the states however no couples?

I must say I am truly shocked by your comments . We are a family friendly hotel with a fantastic, professional team that take a personal pride in the hotel and it's guests experiences. Our gardens are always perfectly manicured and we pride ourselves at having extremely high standards of cleanliness throughout the hotel and therefore I disagree with your comments. I have never responded in this fashion to a trip advisor comment in the past, but I feel very strongly that I must respond in this case.

I would be most grateful if you would contact me on the details below to discuss your experience further.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Tel: 00 353 1 2873399

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Last week I had to pick a colleague up very early from the airport for a meeting. It was in the Kilmacanogue area so I thought that I would bring him to the Glenview Hotel for breakfasr. The restaurant is on the first floor wihich gives you a lovely view out over the Glen -of the-Downs. The sun was shining the food was great, staff very friendly. It was a great start to the day! My colleague was very impressed and said it was a great choice!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Murray12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent visit to the Glenview Hotel. I am so happy to hear you and your friend had a very enjoyable breakfast in our Woodland Restaurant.

The view of the Glen is indeed magnificent. We are blessed with our location and spectacular views throughout the different seasons.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenview Hotel very soon.

Kind Regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on the 15th and 16th of June. The location is beautiful with a stunning view of the Glenn of the Downs, our package included 2 nights B&B with one dinner and chocolates in our room on arrival.
We stayed in room 214 located at the front of the hotel on the first floor The room was clean,small but adequate.
Staff were extremely helpful and courteous. Food was excellent...breakfast was self service whilst dinner was served by young and helpful staff. The location of the dining room was idyllic as it was on the first floor with a view down the valley.
There is a leisure centre attached to the hotel, it too was an extremely good facility with pool,steam room,sauna and jacuzzi, here again staff were friendly and helpful.
The hotel have a courtesy bus however we were informed that it is not operational at the weekends..this we found unusual as the hotel was busy.
The carpet on the corridor first floor in our opinion would need a steam clean as it looked stained.
Very enjoyable and good value stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel with a view down the glen
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your very informative review. We are so glad to read you enjoyed many aspects of your stay including your accommodation, your dining experience in our Woodlands Restaurant and the value you received. Your comments regarding the helpful courteous staff are very much appreciated.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenview Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was my first time visiting this part of the country, & I found this hotel very handy & within easy reach of all the main attractions in the county. The staff are excellent in the attention they give , not only to my wife & I, but everyone we spoke to as well. The food was top - notch also. Both dinner & breakfast ! ( these are the only meals we can comment on ,as we were out at lunch - time each day).
I must mention the gardens - they are beautifully laid out, with plenty of seats in shady, secluded spots, & very pleasant walks to pass the evenings.
I can safely recommend this hotel, to all types of traveller, from businessman to leisure - taker, families to solo walkers, & all in - betweeners, you could not ask for a better place to stay. WE GIVE THIS LOCATION 12 / 10.

Room Tip: All the rooms were excellent according to comments we got from other guests
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northender67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post an excellent review of your recent visit to the Glenview Hotel. We are delighted to read you had a very enjoyable stay with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenview Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I almost could not fault my stay at the Glenview. Food was amazing, the building was impressive and clean, got served a great pint of smithwicks :-) and above all the staff were polite and attentive.

If I had one minor, and I mean very minor recommendation to them would be to improve the atmosphere\layout of the bar on the bottom floor. I got the sense I was in a airport bar\lounge and that it didn't fit well with the rest of the hotel. My girlfriend felt the same but overall we both were impressed with our stay.

Again I stress this is very minor and probably a personal thing more so than anything.

Superb place which I have already recommended to many!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your excellent review of your recent visit to the Glenview Hotel. We truly appreciate your feedback and many thanks also for your recommendation.

We were so glad to read that you and your partner were very impressed with you stay and we look forward to welcoming you both back to the Glenview in the near future.
Kind Regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I am a member of Walking Club - 42 stayed at the Hotel June 2013.
Food - With a group booking the food was on a reduced menu.
While reduced, the quality of the food was superb.
On one evening one member did not want either of the choice of 2 meals from the fixed menu. When the matter was raised, without question the staff produced an alternative to her satisfaction.
Staff - They could, honestly, not do enough for us, if you asked any member of staff for something they went straight to it. There are other stories of their excellent service, but would take too long, all the staff were friendly and professional.
Hotel - Has all the facilities. Great value to stay at with 4 star treatment
Excellent grounds and gardens.

Room Tip: All the rooms were lovely, like all hotels some slightly better than others for various reasons, be...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write an excellent review of your recent visit to the Glenview Hotel. Your compliments regarding the friendliness and professionalism of our team are very much appreciated.

We are so happy to read you enjoyed many aspects of your stay and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenview Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Of The Downs
4.0 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,072 reviews
15.2 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
517 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Martello Hotel
3.7 mi away
Summerhill House Hotel
Summerhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Enniskerry
621 reviews
3.3 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenview Hotel

Address: Delgany, Glen Of The Downs, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Glen Of The Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glen Of The Downs
Price Range: $96 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club is a 4 star Luxury Hotel in County Wicklow set on over 30 acres of woodland walks, beautiful gardens and located in the heart of The Garden of Ireland.The Glenview Hotel is located at Junction 9 Glen o' the Downs on the N11.Situated just off the M50 motorway, The Glenview Hotel is only 25 miles driving distance from Dublin City Centre and 30 miles from Dublin Airport.The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club Wicklow, nestled in the stunning and breathtaking surroundings of The Glen of The Downs and overlooking the Wicklow Mountains is the perfect destination for leisure breaks, activity breaks, meetings, events and weddings in Wicklow. The Glenview Hotel is situated in the scenic garden of Ireland and is the ideal location for your break within a 10 minute drive of Powerscourt House & Gardens in Enniskerry and some of Wicklow’s finest golf courses.The Glenview Hotel in Wicklow offers excellent service in elegant surroundings which makes it a comfortable setting whether it is for business or leisure.Where style and grace meet country hospitality.Glenview Hotel Wicklow features;• 70 deluxe bedrooms including the penthouse suite • Excellent conference, meeting and banqueting facilities• Woodlands Restaurant and Conservatory Bistro and Bar • Extensive Leisure Club with outdoor hot tub. • The Haven Beauty Treatment Suites • Scenic woodland walk & gardens • Complimentary Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel• The Glenview Hotel is a great location, just off the M50 on exit 9 off the N11, south of Bray in County Wicklow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Glenview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenview Hotel Glen Of The Downs, County Wicklow, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing